Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Comfortable, cosy and friendly

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Cons: Look into why orders to room where not delivered.
Location: Near Winchester city which is beautiful - cathedral and other historic sites. The grounds around the hotel are beaurtiful for a long country walk.
The service of the staff was excellent. Reception were very helpful, friendly and charming. We had afternoon tea which as excellent and then dined there one evening. The room was clean and beautifully presented and very comfortable. My only fault that one afternoon we ordered drinks which half an hour later did not arrive, and when we asked for the cheese platter after dinner to be sent to our room, it didn't arrive either. On both occasions we advised reception and they apologised and ensured it did not appear on the bill, but we would have preferred to have had the drinks and cheese!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devon

A great hotel kept in the condition you would want

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Service and attention to detail
Location: Well placed for Winchester a easy to reach the New Forest and South Downs.
Staff were welcoming and very helpful which made our stay very special. Well worth a visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgia

Great place

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Most everything although there was no air conditioning. We were comfortable though.
Location: We were near the town of Winchester- not walking distance. We could take a taxi into town.
We had a good experience. The restaurant food was quite good as was the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by K8W42from London

Beautiful house and grounds

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay which could not be faulted for comfort, service and room. Would like to have stayed longer and tried many of the amenities on offer. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileenfrom Kent

Beautiful Hotel and excellent service

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Lovely little touches like the branded rubber duck in the bathroom and the 'Do Not Disturb' soft toy owl.
Location: Just outside Winchester and a short drive to the new Forest
The room was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable. We had a suite with 4 poster bed. The bathroom was huge with walk in shower and large bath. We dined at the hotel on the Saturday night. We opted for the 8 course tasting menu with wines. This was a bit on the pricey side but the menu looked promising. Although we both enjoyed the meal some of the courses were a little 'strange' and ill conceived. We didn't come away with the wow feeling we expected. We would definitely stay here again, but next time we would order off the la a carte menu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jefffrom Roanoke va

Excellent manor house 5 star

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wow great hotel highly recommend in the countryside out of the city great to relax befor joining a cruise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff, fabulous ensuite, superb breakfasts.
Cons: In our room there wasn't a mirror over the desk, as the TV is placed there. This makes it difficult to get ready to dry your hair or apply make up.
We stayed overnight as we were attending a friends wedding at the Hotel. We have stayed several times before and as always the staff were helpful and the hotel is beautifully situated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sallyfrom Uk

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 6, 2014
On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a suite. It was beautiful and spotless. The staff were great and the uniforms were green tweed! The only downside which is not the hotels fault, I personally found the evening food a bit fussy, so we ate off the bar menu instead. What we did order was fab. We will definitely be returning.