Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old English grandeur

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Ambiance, food and the staff!
Cons: Insulate the ceilings and replace the carpet.
Location: Extremely peaceful setting, but 10 minutes from Winchester!
We loved staying here, our room was comfortable and the bathroom outstanding. The carpet was possibly in need of a good clean, but otherwise I could not fault the room. My only criticism was that our room was on the middle floor and we could hear talking in the dining room at night (we were directly above it) and then to make matters worse, we could hear the guest in the room above: every footfall, often causing the light fitting in our room to rattle and then being woken up at 5am with heaving items being dropped! Having said this, I would stay again, but I would ask to be on the top floor! The food is outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from Basingstoke

Lovely country hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Me and my girlfriend had a great time the hotel is amazing and the grounds are beautiful. The staff were friendly and very helpful, furthermore its a five minute drive from Winchester city centre which has a wide selection of very high standard restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Teddington

Fabulous weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The bedrooms, the public rooms, the staff, the grounds Lovely
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Lovely park like grounds Close to Old Winchester
It was a Wedding Reception and we decided to stay the night. Everything was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting the Kids

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: What a beautiful country setting. Absolutely charming. We delayed our departure to see the Falconry Demonstration on Sunday. We loved it!
Cons: Our son is a Vegan and his girlfriend is a vegetarian. We ate in the bar anteroom. The Vegan salad was a disgrace-not a salad but an embellishment .
Location: One Day- Southhampton football then Brighton. Two Day- Bath then Stonehenge
We had spent the last week in London after arriving from Toronto. Our son has been living in Epsom with his girlfriend who is attending The University of Creative Arts for her Masters in Fashion Retailing. He has just graduated from Biz school in Canada and is on his GAP year. When he was meeting with his peers in London he was hired by an advertising firm . We decided to take the kids out for the weekend. We headed to Brighton in the morning , watched the football match in Southhampton in the afternoon and headed to Lainston in the evening. Our room , the Hydrangea , was fantastic! Cottage charm, old beams , beautiful view , lots of space with all the amenities. The kids had the same type of room at the end of the Hall. They loved it. We wanted to spoil them and they were spoiled! Your hotel was by far the highlite of our two weeks in England. So much more than we had anticipated! The Kitchen is definitely not set up to handle Vegan or Vegetarian requests and the staff were annoyed . Our service was slow and their attitude was selfserving. We were accommodating the kids by not dressing up and not attending the non vegetarian dining room . It was their weekend. We are totally annoyed by their choices but hopefully it is a faze . Your hotel is wonderful ! We loved it! We will return with our friends and neighbours. We highly recommend it . But we have to adapt to the new generation and their needs . And this is good. Custom requests means profits !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ag from wales

Impeccable

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Service as it should be. Food outstanding. Great place to relax.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Jersey

Stay over at Lainstone House

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: The traditional aspect and the ambience/look of the room
Cons: The comfort of the bed and the variety and quantity of food served in the restaurant
A beautiful setting with attentive and pleasant staff. The room (Cherry) was beautifully appointed with a lovely ensuite bathroom and a nice seating area. Unfortunately the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and nothing like as good as the Premier Inn one we had slept in the night before. Despite being a fairly old building the hotel was very quiet with no creaking floor boards or banging doors. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant and having eaten in a number of very fine dining establishment globally including La Gavroche in London and Longueville Manor/Bohemia in Jersey, I was hoping for a lot more in terms of quantity and quality than I got, especially for the price charged. The menu was limited but the portion size quite frankly ridiculous - thank goodness for the bread. Wines were of good quality but again quite over the top price wise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a birthday treat

Posted Aug 19, 2013
We stayed here for my wife's birthday. A perfect choice. I couldn't really fault it. The room was excellent and the dinner was superb. A great place for a treat. Saving up for the next one..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lara from Sheffield, UK

Luxurious but noisy.

Posted Jan 1, 2013
Pros: Amazing bathroom.
Cons: The noise.
Location: Beautiful grounds.
The hotel was luxurious but unfortunately our room was next to the breakfast room, so after a late night at a wedding we were woken at half 6 by staff setting the room up, and then the guests began arriving at 8. This made for a poor sleep and a very tired drive home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a weekend getaway for two

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Staff were extremely welcoming, attentive and helpful. Could not thank them enough. Room was lovely and relaxing - good blend of old and new - and all creature comforts catered for. Bar and Lounge also very cosy and comfortable with unusual and tasteful decor. Afternoon tea was fine - a little disappointing - chilly sandwiches, rather dry/bland scones, dry stollen bread. Cannot comment on dinner as we had an engagement in Winchester and we did not have breakfast - this being the other disappointment in that for the price we paid for the room one would have expected at least a continental breakfast to be included. A charge of £15-£20 for breakfast seemed a little steep. However taking into account the service, setting, ambience and added unexpected birds of prey displays plus the closeness to Winchester, it was overall one of the best overnight stays my husband and I have experienced and we would definitely return.