Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful Hotel - Staff Needs Work

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel, gorgeous grounds and spacious rooms.
Cons: Staff and Service!
Location: Far out of town, so be prepared for an expensive taxi ride to get to any of the town sites.
This is a beautiful old English Country House that has been made into a hotel. We stayed in the Olive suite and it was beautiful and spacious with great amenities. The settings on the grounds were beautiful and well kept. However the staff (other than housekeeping) needs work. We arrived at 2pm which was an hour ahead of check-in time so we did not expect our room to be ready. The said not to worry to wait in the lounge and they were sure it would be ready before 3. By 3:30, no one had come to get us and I went back to the desk and they said it had been ready. No apologies offer of a drink or anything. In the meantime we had gone into the bar and the bar manager walked past us six times with no greeting or offer to serve us. It was obvious given that we were not part of one of their groups staying there, we weren't that interesting. Room service had a card to fill out for breakfast that had no pricing on it. We thought our breakfast was included and when we checked out were presented with a bill for 45 pounds for a small in room breakfast. Finally, if you use the telephone to call any of the staff be prepared for a long period of ringing before they answer, if they answer at all. We were transferred to room service three times and no one ever picked up. Beautiful house - gorgeous location - staff needs work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Comfortable, cosy and friendly

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Cons: Look into why orders to room where not delivered.
Location: Near Winchester city which is beautiful - cathedral and other historic sites. The grounds around the hotel are beaurtiful for a long country walk.
The service of the staff was excellent. Reception were very helpful, friendly and charming. We had afternoon tea which as excellent and then dined there one evening. The room was clean and beautifully presented and very comfortable. My only fault that one afternoon we ordered drinks which half an hour later did not arrive, and when we asked for the cheese platter after dinner to be sent to our room, it didn't arrive either. On both occasions we advised reception and they apologised and ensured it did not appear on the bill, but we would have preferred to have had the drinks and cheese!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emmafrom Ashford

Stunning

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was beautiful and the service they couldn't do enough for us. It's was our 40th wedding ann and we definitely recommend it. Emma from Ashford Surrey x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Clacton-on-sea ESSEX

An enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Most enjoyable stay the staff were very friendly.Our first impression of the room was stunning,but we thought the room smelled of stale smoke!!we were in Deflt. The avenue restaurant was of very low standard we didn't enjoy the food at all but the staff were splendid. the drinks were good but a bit over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joskfrom Essex

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Thought it was going to be fusty and dusty. My partner booked this and the hotel is not the usual ones we go for. But loved it.Proper country house hotel and sweet staff. Would have liked to stay longer. Though a country house it has proper mod cons too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devon

A great hotel kept in the condition you would want

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Service and attention to detail
Location: Well placed for Winchester a easy to reach the New Forest and South Downs.
Staff were welcoming and very helpful which made our stay very special. Well worth a visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarahfrom Qian

Nice hotel but could be better

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for a family weekend. The hotel room is beautiful, spacious, clean and confortable. We asked for a side bed for our 3 yr old. The side bed was so flimsy and wobbly, and the kid end up in our bed. And they charged £27 for the bed! The hotel sets in a stunning countryside scenic spot, great for a relaxing holiday. The hotel staff is friendly, and willing to help out. We stayed with some other friend families with young children, and we were given a complimentary private dining room for dinner. The dinner service is very slow, we waited for about 1.5 hrs for the starter to be served. The food is bit disappointing, not the kind of standard we would expect for the price charged. Overall, I'd say it's a lovely hotel, but they could do better to improve customer experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nederland

Bijzondere accommodatie, alleen erg kleine kamer

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Erg mooi hotel, personeel vriendelijk, kamer mooi, maar heel erg klein, badkamer top
Cons: te hoge prijs voor te kleine kamer, waarbij raam nauwelijks open kan en er geen airco is
Eén nacht verbleven in Lainston house, een erg mooi hotel op een erg mooie locatie, vriendelijk personeel. Maar ik zou er niet snel opnieuw verblijven. Want ook al hadden we slechts een standaardkamer geboekt, bij zo'n hotel en hoge prijs past niet een piepkleine kamer. De badkamer was wel weer ruim en mooi. Maar er was geen airco in de kamer en het raam kon nauwelijks open wat samen met de kleine kamer geen comfortabel gevoel gaf.