Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Bromwich

Great hotel for overnight stay before ferry

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect for the ferry terminals in Southampton
Cons: Would be nice if breakfast was included in the price.
Location: We only used the hotel overnight so didn't explore the local vicinity
Stayed for one night before an early morning ferry crossing from Southampton. Really comfortable beds, quiet location with excellent restaurant facilities. Only downside is that wi-fi is via the cloud rather than available on site which necessitated a rather elongated registration process. Easy enough once registered.Staff were all great. Breakfast is extra but you get a reduced price if you book it the night before.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Average all over

Posted May 29, 2015
The hotel itself is pleasant enough and the rooms are nice - however the walls are paper thin - I could hear everything happening in the next room - TV, general chat etc - thankfully they went to bed early. Room service food was just about average - they add on an extortionate 5 pounds 'tray charge' for bringing it to the room! This hotel is 4 star but acts like its 5 star - wouldn't go back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordhire

Our stay

Posted May 26, 2015
Hotel nice , staff could been more helpful, nice rooms , few hairs found in bath n bed covers, n 2 beds pushed together , as a couple we expected a double bed , so not very comfy 2 singles pushed together, as I booked a double bed room , facilities not that great for hotel spa, no zacuzi , n kids in a steam room, kids aren't ment to be in a steam room, not as relaxing break as I hoped for s.stonebank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Lovely hotel in quiet location

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Was very clean and in a lovely, quiet location. The decor was lovely and tasteful. Breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Food and drinks are expensive and could be cheaper. Shower screen could be longer/curtain instead to stop water going on bathroom floor.
Location: On a golf course. In a quiet location, about 20 minutes drive from centre of Southampton. Great place to stay before travel on a ship/for airport.
I would stay here again. We stayed in a deluxe room which was on the ground floor, with a view of the golf course. Very quiet. Both liked the room as soon as we saw it. Very tastefully done. Would look even better if the pictures were more brightly coloured. Liked the Scottish touches due to Macdonald's being a Scottish company such as Tartan blankets on beds and good quality Arran Lavender smellies. Pleased that there was an iron and ironing board in the room as usally in hotels you have to ask at Reception to borrow them. Also there was a fridge which is often missing. They provided good quality bottled water and the towelling bathrobes were thick and soft. You could even smell lavender on them which was a lovely finishing touch. The food and drinks are rather pricey and they would probably sell more if they put the prices down or did ocassional special offers. The communal areas are very tasteful. Scottish music in the breakfast room sometimes would have been lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Like the atmosphere in and around the hotels. We liked the sweet potato stir fry.. A must try dish which goes well with any drinks.
Cons: Yes of course the beddings. We stayed in room 220.
Location: It's a peaceful place with lots of trees and birdies. Nearby places to visit are Marvell Zoo, itchen valley, manor farm etc....
We had a very good stay but only problem was with the bed. The bed was not good. Rest everything was fantastic. Staffs were very good and friendly. We had spa treatment and kudos to spa staffs as well. Breakfast was good even though we have to pay extra £5 per tray for room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place to relax

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place to relax
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen from Essex

Great stay

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was excellent. The only downside was that as it was a weekend it was extremely busy. It would have benefitted from more staff in the restaurant at breakfast time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Simon from Hampshire

Great stay

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night for a friends wedding, service was great & staff very helpful
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Portsmouth

No sheets

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Joel is good however, went for an early morning walk. Came back to the room and the bed had been stripped. I had not even checked out. Wasn't the best experience I have had there.