Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton on tees

Lovely hotel on doorstep for marwell zoo

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Excellent hotel staff couldn't be more friendly. The corridors are fully glass windows looking outside where you see squirrels and birds. It was a lovely experience. The hotel is close to Winchester where I would recommend a visit to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Clean and nice breakfast
We booked this place as it was very close to Peppa Pig land at Paultons Park. Very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kettering

Decent hotel with ambitions to have more AA stars

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Stayed for business, the hotel is fairly unusual made up of several blocks of rooms interconnected with glass sided walkways and surrounded by woodland. The restaurant was aiming high but didn't quite make it with the fancy stuff. Should have stuck to the bar menu. Rooms were nice but starting to feel slightly worn around the edges. Sky in all the rooms was nice as was the free WiFi and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to zoo

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Friendly staff, hotel clean, food delicious. Will certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mags from berkshire

Wedding venue

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Room facilities
Location: Zoo and visit Winchester
Stayed 2 nights for a family wedding. Food was very good. Room rate quite pricy for what you get. No aircon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by norman from southampton

Very nice hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Nice big breakfast
Cons: None
Location: Very close to our destination
Staff were great very quiet hotel in a lovely setting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Charlotte from Essex

Good location; good food; old-fashioned bathrooms.

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for one night recently on a pit-stop, and were impressed overall. Firstly, I must say the shower was the single worst shower I have ever used in my life! The bathrooms are very old fashioned, so this is probably why. The type of shower you have to run around in to get a sprinkle of water. Not fun for long hair. Apart from that, the hotel was perfectly adequate. Nothing spectacular, but that was to be expected. This would be ideal if visiting the zoo with a family as the rooms are very large and it is just a stone's throw away from the wildlife park (which is a great trip in itself). The breakfast in the morning was lovely, and the waiters and host were very friendly. Same can't be said about the young lady who checked us in the afternoon before – seemed quite snooty. We didn't use the swimming pool but did look at it and it was clean and a good size. Overall, not a bad stay, but would probably look elsewhere if we were to stay in the same area again – if only to have a better shower in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob Griff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Overnight Zoo Visit

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We regularly use the Marwell Hotel for whenever we are visiting Marwell Zoo. For me and my wife it is ideal as it saves us getting up early to drive the hour and half journey in the morning so we stay at the hotel, can sleep in longer and then get there before the queues start forming. The food at the hotel is lovely but a little expensive and the hotel is quite relaxing but what we found this time that brings our rating down, is that our room was very warm when sleeping as the towel rail in the bathroom was constantly on and the heat generated from that made sleeping uncomfortable.
2 out of 5
by FamilyOfFour from UK

Very poor. Booked 3 nights and left after 1.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Very little - see main review
Cons: Staff could be open and honest when swapping guests to a smaller room than reserved. Restaurant could employ more and capable staff.
Location: I wouldn't recommend going there so recommend the best thing to do nearby to be find a different hotel
This is the only hotel I have ever checked out of before the end of my booked stay. Having booked a family room, we were allocated (about 45 minutes after arriving and over an hour after check-in time) a twin room into which an extra folding bed had been shoe-horned. Reception did not admit to this switch, and it was only when we challenged the nature of the room at reception that they owned-up to this swap. The room literally had 4 inches between the beds, and (given that the hotel claims that its family rooms are for a family of four including 2 children of up to 12 years) there is no way my 8 year old could have slept on the folding bed - it was touch and go for the 5 year old. The restaurant, as well as giving out wrong advice in the in-room guide as to hours that children can be admitted, apparently rates an executive chef - but he seems to be working the kitchen alone as the starters felt slow to arrive and we had a wait of over an hour between plates being cleared from our starter and the main courses being brought. Although the starters had been very good, the mains were disappointing. We didn't dare stop for pudding. The only redeeming feature of the hotel was that the pool was a good size for children who can't swim brilliantly, although the changing rooms weren't particularly clean, the only shower is publicly poolside (so that you have to dress without showering properly and then re-shower in the room) and the pool quickly gets overcrowded. Now out of space