Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mags from berkshire

Wedding venue

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Room facilities
Location: Zoo and visit Winchester
Stayed 2 nights for a family wedding. Food was very good. Room rate quite pricy for what you get. No aircon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by norman from southampton

Very nice hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Nice big breakfast
Cons: None
Location: Very close to our destination
Staff were great very quiet hotel in a lovely setting
2 out of 5
by FamilyOfFour from UK

Very poor. Booked 3 nights and left after 1.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Very little - see main review
Cons: Staff could be open and honest when swapping guests to a smaller room than reserved. Restaurant could employ more and capable staff.
Location: I wouldn't recommend going there so recommend the best thing to do nearby to be find a different hotel
This is the only hotel I have ever checked out of before the end of my booked stay. Having booked a family room, we were allocated (about 45 minutes after arriving and over an hour after check-in time) a twin room into which an extra folding bed had been shoe-horned. Reception did not admit to this switch, and it was only when we challenged the nature of the room at reception that they owned-up to this swap. The room literally had 4 inches between the beds, and (given that the hotel claims that its family rooms are for a family of four including 2 children of up to 12 years) there is no way my 8 year old could have slept on the folding bed - it was touch and go for the 5 year old. The restaurant, as well as giving out wrong advice in the in-room guide as to hours that children can be admitted, apparently rates an executive chef - but he seems to be working the kitchen alone as the starters felt slow to arrive and we had a wait of over an hour between plates being cleared from our starter and the main courses being brought. Although the starters had been very good, the mains were disappointing. We didn't dare stop for pudding. The only redeeming feature of the hotel was that the pool was a good size for children who can't swim brilliantly, although the changing rooms weren't particularly clean, the only shower is publicly poolside (so that you have to dress without showering properly and then re-shower in the room) and the pool quickly gets overcrowded. Now out of space
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to zoo

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe a little more selection on menu
Location: Beautifull country location close to zoo
Stayed for weekend, close to zoo, room was lovely and clean and staff were all very friendly and extremely hard working, in fact some of them didn't seem to go home, we had breakfast in room and it was above standard for small extra fee. Food in restaurant was great We would definitely recommend to friends and go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Bedford

Fabulous hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere was wonderful and fitting ambience within the woods. Feeling that you were close to nature.
Cons: The bed sheets could have been made rather than just placed on the mattress. Needed to be tucked in. More milk.
Location: Marwell zoo
As it was half term I expected it to be busy and noisy but our short stay was excellent. Superb staff, fabulous food and still had time to use the pool and sauna.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marwell Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Quality of food and service provided.
Cons: The rooms are in need of refurbishment. My bath had a permanently dripping shower head and the wash basin was cracked.
Marwell is a strange eccentric hotel that is is trying to be an African experience in the Hampshire Countryside. It doesn't work. The well heated rooms are connected to the main block by long freezing corridors, going from one extreme temperature to another cannot be healthy. The room was comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very helpful but the place feels very dated.
1 out of 5
by Martin from London

A disgrace. Go elsewhere.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: It's only attraction is it is opposite Marwell Zoo but that is no where near enough.
I have stayed here with my children between 10-12 times over as many years. It has completely changed. It calls itself a family hotel but the restaurant was closed to the children. It was filthy. I will never stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Bournemouth

Very nice hotel. Right next to the Zoo

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The sauna could work and the button to make the jacuzzi needs sorting out as could not use jacuzzi for second time.
Location: Only about 15 minutes from motorway so very convenient and Marwell Zoo is right next door. Winchester is only about a 20 minute drive away also.
Had a wonderful stay. Very relaxing and room and beds were very warm and comfortable. All the staff were helpful and friendly. It is the second time I had stayed there and would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the zoo

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: The whole hotel needs better management and staff
Location: We choose it for the location next to the zoo
Room nice but unable to use swimming pool and spa, very disappointing, restaurant nice but no bread with the over priced soup and plate dirty, no steak knife and venison dish cold but nice. Overpriced drinks and no tea infusions available let alone advertised, breakfast ok but large cob web by the side of table unpleasant and tea, coffee and milk jug very dirty was not impressed at all. Staff need to all dress smartly. The reception staff were not helpful and did not seem to know there job very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014