Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pembrokeshire

Quiet country hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The quiet setting. Although the stay was just for my husband and I, there were plastic plates and beakers available for any children having breakfast.
Cons: Mattress was a little hard for me
Location: In heart of the countryside but also close to Southampton and Portsmouth
Arrived after 7pm and reception staff welcoming and very quick to sign in. Room and ensuite were a good size. Breakfast was very good and staff very accommodating for my special diet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in nice setting

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Nice location. Nice rooms
Cons: The choice of drinks (beer) in the bar and the training and experience of the staff needs to be improved for a hotel of this standing.
Location: Close to Portsmouth ferry port
This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel and have to say that I was dissappointed this time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday present

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Situation, friendliness of staff.
Cons: Lighting/paving between the hotel and main road. A nice little pub up the road would have been frequented if we had been able to walk there and back.
Location: Bishops Waltham 3 miles away. Nice little village shops, pubs and Palace ruins. Wickham with nice antique shops and some good walks.
I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my son and his partner. Despite this being a big golfing hotel, and neither of them being interested in the sport, they found the area quiet, comfortable and relaxing, and within easy driving distance of myself and the places we had chosen to visit. They also had a full body massage at the spa, which was greatly enjoyed. However, on trying to buy a swimsuit to use the pool, my son's partner was disappointed and so left the hotel earlier than she had hoped to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable
Cons: They could provide free wifi More staff in bar to speed up service
I've stayed at better for the price, however the hotel was clean, comfortable, the food in restaurant was very good, although the service in the bar was very slow. The drinks were on the high side and with very little mobile reception in the area the wifi prices were expensive. But generally nothing I could complain about.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff very disappointing!!!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: leaving!
Cons: Everything
Location: Local Zoo near by
No clear guide lines towards dress attire for the restaurant, brought a drink then they told my partner that he was not suitability dressed therefore needed to go back to the room to change. He had smart trousers,shoes and a high necked jumper! The staff required a shirt or something with collar! but allowed a guy with shorts,sandals and a polar-necked shirt!!!! CRAZY!!!! Also trays from Room service were left out side door all day!!! Have stayed here many times before but the place has gone right down hill. seems like no one cares what people think any more its just all about the money being spent!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr. Nelly from Lewes

smelly carpet, bit run down

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
expected more from a Marriott. they are much better in USA. was advised beforehand not to eat in hotel and warned again in sauna. Spa facilities and gym were good, massages seriously over-priced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce staff

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: clean and up to a 4star standard
Good stay and good service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GV-Bunny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bit Hit and Miss

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This time around it was OK, not great. the room I was allocated was more like a 3 star room with peeling paint and black mouldy stuff around the bath. The bath itself looked as though it had been used to clean something very dirty as there was a grey stain in the bottom of it the size of a dinner plate ( Room 261)To be honest I felt as though because I had prepaid and it had not cost me the full rack rate I was given a second rate room.Bed as always was comfortable. I have staid in Premier Inns as good which is shocking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by N

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com