Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leics. UK

Marriott failure to meet its' Marketing blurbs

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The Staff should read Marriott's mission statement & Act accordingly & ensure Standards are acceptable
Location: Large Range mainly Nautical. Marine Musuems, HMS Victory, Mary Rose etc.
Marriott state:- "you can be guaranteed a memorable stay enriched with true Marriott Hospitality You do not expect when having a BUFFET breakfast to have everything swept away from table if you go to buffet after having a cereal to get eggs & bacon etc.; in an executive room to get a stingy choice of tea bags e.g. 1 Mint tea; only 2 Tissues in Bathroom; completely useless door Safety Chain & somewhat dismissive attitude on check out when making a comment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire.

Nice hotel, short drive to portsmouth town.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Comfy clean rooms. Wonderful breakfasts!.
Cons: Preserves for breakfast in individual pots please!!
Location: A ten minute drive to Portsmouth, we didn't use any of the pubs in the surrounding areas so we cannot comment on these.
Clean comfy rooms, excellent room cleanliness, bathrooms a little bit tired, but acceptable. Excellent facilities in the breakfast room a good selection of food, maybe they need to change the spooning of jam, marmalade and preserves from a jar to individual sealed pots. Bar facilities good, staff attentiveness and helpfulness very good. A modern very well managed hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Weekend trip

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and comfort of room
Cons: The spa could be a bit larger for the size of hotel
Location: Gunwharf shopping and dining
Great hotel unfortunately could not get to use spa to busy with lots of kids as it is school holiday time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

No ambience and rooms a bit tired

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The size and comfort of the beds.
Cons: As noted above
Location: Nothing within comfortable walking distance so everything was a car or taxi ride but we knew that.
Resaurant menu looked ok but we didn't eat there because the resaurant looked and smelt like the cafeteria of a leisure centre. We were given a disabled room without being told - no big deal but we would rather a normal room and feel they should have told us. Definately not a four star experince
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff Wales

A long weekend.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Location: Ideal location for exploring Portsmouth and the surrounding area .
An enjoyable long weekend at the Marriot Hotel Portsmouth . The location although being somewhat "out of town " was no problem .Hotel reception staff directed us to the "Park and Ride "facility some 10mins away .Buses were frequent ,operating on a hop -on hop off basis to shopping complex at the GunWharf which is ideal for exploring the Victorian Naval visitors centre The hotel is typical of a branded hotel chain ,comfortable ,clean ,with friendly efficient staff ,and having all the usual on-site facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Needed a hotel near lee on solent due to friends

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: First impressions
Cons: Breakfast . Toast should be served at the same time
Location: Portsmouth Marriott . Ideal for visiting our friends
It was a pleasing experience . Would use again next time in the portsmouth area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Very comfortable stay, visiting Portsmouth.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The beds are very comfortable and the King size is just that - a King size. Bathrooms very clean and the room and hotel in general very clean.
Cons: The pool is under the same roof area as the restaurant/bar. This is the only criticism as we didn't want to hear the children's shrieks in the pool.
Location: Portsmouth is great for a weekend! Lots to see and do and the Wharfside Quay is a great area for restaurants, shopping, etc.
The hotel was in a good location as we did not want to be right in the city of Portsmouth, but not too far away either. The staff always friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. You come to expect a certain standard with the Marriott and it did not fail to deliver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by richard from holland

execelent

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DanDaniels

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com