Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

Lovely listed building centrally located

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, so central easy to get around from
Cons: Maybe two packets of buscuits on the tea tray!! Small gripe :-)
Location: Southsea and Portsmouth shopping, museums, historic dockyard, gunwharf quays - so much to do.
A fantastic stay, excellent room with balcony overlooking Southsea common and the sea. Very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ideal for exploring Southsea and Portsmouth.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Tiny room. Litter on floor.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
The smallest hotel room I have ever been in. Litter on the floor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Used To Love This Place

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Love the building, the interior of the lobby and it's domed ceiling.
Cons: Almost everything! The Staff need to learn how to smile and talk to customers. The rooms need decorated and CLEANED!
Location: Great location, but because of it's good location, it thinks it can get away with being a pretty useless hotel for an expensive price.
Every visit to Southsea, I was always happy to book the Queens and have some great memories from over the years, but it really has gone down the pan lately. The new manager has done nothing to improve the place, but simply made it a far more corporate and less accommodating environement. My stay prior to this was very disappointing, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt this time but wish we hadn't. The awfully miserable receptionist who checked us in told us we were too early and check in wasn't till 3. It was around 2.15 and perhaps a nicer response would have been to apologise and check how house keeping was doing. Her miserable attitude was a real dampener on arrival. Despite guaranteeing the room by card and paying the room rate on arrival by card, they still insisted on taking another £100 bond on the card which is just not acceptable when the room is paid and the card details are already on file. On top of this, they now charge you £5 to park there as a guest. It is free during the day but over night, they have added this new charge. Awful to think for the last decade it has been free! On checking into our twin room we were immediately disappointed. The smell of drains filled the room and the decor left a lot to be desired. The TV was so old that it still only had 4 working channels on it. For £91 a room a night, I can not believe the audacity to charge so much. We would have had a more pleasant and comfortable stay over the road in the Premier Inn.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, occasions of excellence but..

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Ordered the Deluxe room, was large but no sofa or comfortable chairs. Towels under windows was a surprise. Location was great, views great and the cod main course was excellent, and the wine with dinner offer good. But no wireless and nothing the staff seemed able to do! Disappointing given the specific promise it was included. Overall not worth the premium price, I'd stay at the Holiday Inn Gunn Warf next time around half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gabrielfrom Warrington

Good Hotel at a good rate

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good Hotel at a good rate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by rossfrom plymouth

Old School Hotel with lots of charm

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at this hotel was generally very good. The rooms were very small and the TV's are definately in need of updating but apart from that i have no complaints at all. The hotel was warm and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Robertfrom London

Broken Internet, room with no thermostat

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Internet didn't work while I stayed there. No advanced warning and no substitution for the service. I have to use my internet allowance from my mobile provider the whole time. My room key was disabled early in the morning on my check-out day. Couldn't enter my room after breakfast until speaking to the front desk. Breakfast was okay overall; the sausage was excellent. The room has no thermostat and can be really warm sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

Great hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: It was 'genteel'.
Location: Great for Gunwharf
Very good reception staff: polite and efficient. Bar is friendly and the bar meals were great. Room fab with views towards the Isle of Wight. Very windy night, so quite noisy but warm and cosy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

:-)

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Great room but why do they always, always, always cheap out on the hotel pillows in the UK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We couldn't get booked in to our normal b&b as there was a Christmas Festival the weekend we stayed, so we treated ourselves to this hotel and were glad we did. The décor is wonderful and very grand, with beautiful chandeliers and ornate features. It felt like we were staying in very opulent surroundings, and yet the prices were very reasonable. We booked an evening meal as it was easier than finding somewhere, and the food was excellent. The service was very good, and we found all the staff polite and helpful. The breakfast was also excellent, with a good choice on the buffet table. My only disappointment was that the fruit was a bowl of whole fruit, not prepared for ease of serving, but there was more than enough choice of other items ie cereal, pastries etc. The view from our windows was lovely, as we could watch the ferries and other boats passing, and they looked a picture at night all lit up. If you want a stay somewhere with a bit of glamour, I would very much recommend this hotel.