Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Fionafew from Wales

Good location, fair-ish price, decent enough place

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a brief stopover to enable us to see family. Location was perfect, so we could eat out and meet up, then head back without having to drive. Bed was comfy enough - although we had to ask for extra pillows, shower was fine, usual drinks options with plastic milk but barman was able to offer a jug of fresh milk - so we were very happy. Room was clean enough. Only downside was that our room overlooked the entrance to the hotel, so smoke wafted up when the window was open whenever guests popped out for a ciggy! Shame, as it was so mild, we needed it open all the time - maybe a fan would have helped. Would definitely use again if we were in the area and needed a stopover. Our price didn't include breakfast, but as there are loads of nearby places to eat, we chose elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Keith from Hereford, UK

Expensive pokey room

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Double room had a four foot wide very uncomfortable bed, and not surprisingly only one set of towels was provided on both days - Clearly the cleaning staff thought it was only suitable for one person!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jwbertrand from Basingstoke

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you have to attend an event in central Basingstoke and need an overnight stay without the cost of a cab fare, this is the hotel for you. The Red Lion Hotel is walkable from Festival Place and is right on top of Basingstoke's Top of Town where there are a number of pubs and bars. The service was okay although it was unclear initially where to find reception. The room was clean and the bed was good although the decor was dated. Checking out the day after was straightforward and quick.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay

Posted Aug 19, 2013
The hotel was fine for the price. Nothing exciting, but does a job
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Red Lion Hotel, Basingstoke

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everyone at the hotel and restaurant were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The cleanliness was not. The shower curtain was either moldy or filthy at the bottom edge. the hotel Internet was not working most of the time I was there, and there was no air conditioning. They gave me a fan to use, and I had to clean very thick layer of dust from front a back grills as well as both sides of the three blades. The neighborhood was very noisy, i.e. very loud parties until three a.m. and fights in the street outside my window. The rates are fairly reasonable, and the location is across the street from the main shopping area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, if you get a good room, and for once my stay was not blighted by a wedding or birthday party going on in the hotel. Sadly, the hotel is situated in the midst of Basingstoke's bar and club street and, due to an issue with the double glazing in the room, I was kept awake until 3am thanks to the noise of local drunken yobs and club music etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chocolate MonkeyFingers from North

Average and stifling hot

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is slightly better than average to be fair. Free parking in town centre location is good point, handy for pubs and food. My room was in the older part to the front of the building overlooking the Thai restaurant and suffered a bit from noisy late night drinkers below til 12.30am 'ish. Plus it was sooo hot and no air conditioning or fans available. Couldnt sleep due to heat and noise. Room ok, single mattress felt like it had been used a billion times. Came back from meal with business colleague to find reception staff mopping up blood in the foyer as a drunken fool had fallen over and smacked his head. Had to step round it all, not pleasant. Southerners can't handle their drink.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Alan from Glasgow, Scotland

Perfect location

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: It's location is hard to beat and the staff were excellent
Cons: No air conditioning
Location: Best in Basingstoke
Pleasant enough stay but on the hottest weekend of the year the room was stiflingly hot and difficult to sleep in as no air conditioning......a cool air fan would have been nice! Overall though perfect place at top of town and minutes from all the shopping, restaurants, pubs, clubs and lovely parks. 10 minutes from bus & train stations. Would have been a 4 but for the overly hot room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beds large comfy, good location

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room clean and large