Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jefffrom Wokingham/Basingstoke

Great hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay. I was at the hotel as it was close to where my works Christmas party was being held so was handy. The staff were helpful and very polite. The only downside was I paid nearly £60 and didn't get a breakfast included in the price other than that I enjoyed my stay. Will and have recommended to friends and family.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marie-Antoinette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southampton

Great value hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Lovely comfy stay at the red lion, everything clean and very warm, would defiantly stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sally

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom gloucester

Handy for the theatre

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The price
Location: The location is good for the shops and the Anvil theatre.
Had a good night in hotel. Stayed here several times now. They had a wedding celebration in hotel but we were on the 3rd floor so no problem there. We did hear a lot of people shouting out in the street as it was a Friday night and there are a few bars in the vicinity, but the hotel did warn us about this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Sat night stay

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: location, free parking, good powerful shower. Nice and clean room and toilet. room was warm and quiet.
Location: Festival place next door. Plenty of shops and eating places nearby.
The free parking and convenient location was an attraction. I booked over internet day before and checking in was easy. The room was good size double and I found it to be clean and surprisingly quiet for a Sat night. I got good night sleep and a great shower in the morning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vfrom Ireland

Grotty hotel from the 1970's

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location and rooms were tidy with tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and iron. However everything about this hotel is old fashioned - it needs a total refurbishment to bring it into the 21st century, or at the very least, a really thorough cleaning. Grubby carpets, scuffed walls, grey towels, dingy bathroom, dirty shower curtain and poor shower pressure, and an uninviting reception area with no seating. The staff were unfriendly and the bucket chairs in the bar should be thrown out as the springs were gone. The room phone could only dial reception. We did not eat in the hotel based on the general standard of cleanliness. Would not recommend this hotel.