Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom gloucester

Handy for the theatre

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The price
Location: The location is good for the shops and the Anvil theatre.
Had a good night in hotel. Stayed here several times now. They had a wedding celebration in hotel but we were on the 3rd floor so no problem there. We did hear a lot of people shouting out in the street as it was a Friday night and there are a few bars in the vicinity, but the hotel did warn us about this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Sat night stay

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: location, free parking, good powerful shower. Nice and clean room and toilet. room was warm and quiet.
Location: Festival place next door. Plenty of shops and eating places nearby.
The free parking and convenient location was an attraction. I booked over internet day before and checking in was easy. The room was good size double and I found it to be clean and surprisingly quiet for a Sat night. I got good night sleep and a great shower in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA USA

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Great location, nice staff
Cons: The front desk staff knowing the way to the airports, by train, taxi or bus, costs and times. Cafe staff listening to a coffee request.
Location: Spent time with family, so nothing to add.
The Red Lion is comfortable and basic. The room and it's amenities were great. Nothing fancy, but if that is what you are looking for it is just great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Ireland

Value for money and convenient hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: It was great value for money. Clean rooms and staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Some paint needed here and there. Reception area in particular looks very down-at-heel
Location: Very close to shopping mall and train station on foot
Booked this hotel as it was a convenient place to stay while visiting my daughter. Room was small but very comfortable and very clean. Overall, though, the place needs a bit of TLC and modernizing- It's a long time since I've seen rooms opened with an actual key! It all looks a bit tired and jaded. Reception in particular could do with updating ( starting with a coat of paint!) and though the staff were lovely and very helpful, they would look better in some sort of uniform( a nice blouse or coloured waistcoat?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom the Netherlands

Close to the main road to London

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed just for the night. We liked it that the hotel was very close to restaurants, shops and even a complete mall.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

Needs a refurb.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms all need a total makeover, especially the bathrooms.
"Superior" room- quite tired but ok size, bathroom small and grubby, toilet crammed in the corner. TV worked ok in the evening, the next morning the picture and sound was sticking as the cable servive struggled to cope.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom ashbourne

Tired but comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Comfortable hotel but in need of improvement. Hotel corridors were especially in need of upgrading and refurbishment. A room service tray was left outside a room early evening and was still there in the morning at 10am. More attention by staff needed. Also whilst having a drink in the bar in the evening the staff were setting tables in readiness for breakfast the following morning. Made me wonder if the sugar bowl was safe to use!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TV1from Lancashire

Fantastic Service

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed whilst working away from home for 7 nights. I found that the rooms were comfy and the staff very pleasant. Especially the one son hotel reception and the the two mature ladies who served breakfast, they were extremely accommodating and are an asset to your establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brisbane

Convenient

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Easy walking distance to train and car rental pick up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com