Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland, CA USA

Very comfortable

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Great location, nice staff
Cons: The front desk staff knowing the way to the airports, by train, taxi or bus, costs and times. Cafe staff listening to a coffee request.
Location: Spent time with family, so nothing to add.
The Red Lion is comfortable and basic. The room and it's amenities were great. Nothing fancy, but if that is what you are looking for it is just great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Ireland

Value for money and convenient hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: It was great value for money. Clean rooms and staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: Some paint needed here and there. Reception area in particular looks very down-at-heel
Location: Very close to shopping mall and train station on foot
Booked this hotel as it was a convenient place to stay while visiting my daughter. Room was small but very comfortable and very clean. Overall, though, the place needs a bit of TLC and modernizing- It's a long time since I've seen rooms opened with an actual key! It all looks a bit tired and jaded. Reception in particular could do with updating ( starting with a coat of paint!) and though the staff were lovely and very helpful, they would look better in some sort of uniform( a nice blouse or coloured waistcoat?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom the Netherlands

Close to the main road to London

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed just for the night. We liked it that the hotel was very close to restaurants, shops and even a complete mall.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

Needs a refurb.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms all need a total makeover, especially the bathrooms.
"Superior" room- quite tired but ok size, bathroom small and grubby, toilet crammed in the corner. TV worked ok in the evening, the next morning the picture and sound was sticking as the cable servive struggled to cope.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom ashbourne

Tired but comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Comfortable hotel but in need of improvement. Hotel corridors were especially in need of upgrading and refurbishment. A room service tray was left outside a room early evening and was still there in the morning at 10am. More attention by staff needed. Also whilst having a drink in the bar in the evening the staff were setting tables in readiness for breakfast the following morning. Made me wonder if the sugar bowl was safe to use!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brisbane

Convenient

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Easy walking distance to train and car rental pick up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris Gfrom Notts

Town Center location

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is value for money in a town center location, it is OK and the breakfast is fine and beds good to sleep on. The rooms are a little small and good do with a little updating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marcfrom Reading

Return Visitors

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We are return visitors to the Red Lion and again are very happy with our stay. The town center location is ideal for our needs and we received a warm welcome again. The room was clean and comfy and although the hotel is town center based there was no noise overnight, even with the window open due to the hot weather.