Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Southsea.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Close to Sea, Shops and Bus stop to Portsmouth. Good food. Also Parking permit included in the price. (NB £30 cash refundable deposit)
Cons: Room decor could be improved. Lager should be served cold.
Location: Although in Southsea, it's also handy to visit Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth and the Historic Dockyard.
Check in was ok. The room was a good size with a double bed, settee, flat screen TV and tea and coffee making. However,the decor is a little tired and the TV although adequate had seen better days.The bed was comfortable and bed linen was good. There was a very pleasant, light and airy en suite bathroom with bath and shower and plentiful hot water at all times. Towels were changed daily. The full english breakfast was first class, and there were fruit juices and cereals but although croissants were on the menu there were none on either of the days we were there.. We ate in the restaurant the first night of our stay and the meal was excellent and we received a 20 % reduction off the cost of our meal as hotel residents. Only downside was that the lager wasn't chilled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from montana us

Posted May 10, 2014
Staff was helpful explaining our misunderstanding on the bill. We forgot that we would pay upon arriving rather than through expedia. He took 1.5 hrs on the phone with expedia to reassure us. Breakfast was great and room was very quiet. Walking distance to Southsea pubs and DDay museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Watford

Good standard

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, politeness of staff
Location: Within a 2 minute walk to good selection of local shops, coffee houses, bars and resaurants. The seafront was nearby along with the main attractions
Excellent location near seafront and local attractions.The place was nice and clean with friendly helpful staff. Nice bar in the hotel to sit and have have a drink. Excellent choice at breakfast and meals/snacks were available in the bar in the evening. Parking is easy if you purchase a refundable parking permit on your arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Em from London

Really pleasant and lovely stay

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: The staff- very approachable and nothing was too much effort
Cons: A few tiny things with the room e.g. the tv makes a high pitched sound contineously if you have if on
Location: gunwarf, shops, pubs, bars, coastline
we stayed there for one night and had a very warm welcome. the room was good a size. A few niggley issues with the room but nothing to distract us from what was a very welcoming and accomodating stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good stay however...

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Avoid room 4 due a comedy shower under the staircase. Unless you are an Umpa Lumpa or a member of the Ant Hill Mob you'll find the shower in the en suite 'completely ridiculous' as it is situated under the staircase for the next level up. Can't fault the temperature of the water but an utterly mental experience first thing in the morning. I was going to point this out on departure but there wasn't anyone there to ask whether you had a good night's sleep or if everything was ok with your room. The guy on reception, who could only be described as a gruesome combination between Denis Waterman and Michelle Salgado, MUST have known I would find this extremely difficult with my 'not particularly tall height of 6ft 1ins'. Very strange indeed.. it wasn't as if the place was fully booked or anywhere near half full! Good beds, clean place, good food (had dinner and breakfast), hospitable people just avoid room 4 unless all their rooms have 'comedy showers'?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Diego

Just a walk from the shore

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
the place was very comfortable, the food was great. Loved how close it was from the shore so I could go for walks and I would definitely recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Terry from Tuxford

Dissatisfied

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Following my booking for one night I telephoned the hotel and booked the night before as we'll. On arrival this had not been booked. They did find us room but it was small and cramped. The bathroom was tiny and we could not use the bath/shower as it was in a stairwell and we could not get in it! They also charged us £10/night more than Hotels.com. When I complained they gave us a £10 reduction on meal. We would not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tom from Danville, CA

Spacious, nice, friendly

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room spacious and recently redone. Friendly, helpful owners. Great breakfast made to order, not just a continental. Easy walk to downtown and pubs. Walkable to train station with a rollerbag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Oregon

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Cons: Beck in time
We enjoyed out stay the only thing I can mention is that check in time was very Late -5:00 pm and check out was at 10:00 am