Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jason from m

Wonderful getaway

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Lovely location, remote and secluded but such a beautiful building. Staff are very accommodating. Highly recommend this as a retreat to relax and unwind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from London

Beautiful hotel in the forest

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The setting of this hotel is spectacular and the rooms are clean and well-sized. The spa is good although the indoor pool is very small and there are only two loungers. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The wireless was unfortunately temperamental and often dropped out which was annoying. The standard of breakfast was also variable. Overall I really enjoyed our stay and would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted May 13, 2014
A thoroughly enjoyable stay at a beautiful hotel. Definitely make time to enjoy the hotel grounds and surrounding area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place but poorly executed and expensive

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location and heritage
Cons: Signs that actually tell you were you need to go rather than the names of things that you don't know. Prices of everything. Breakfast. Staff.
Location: We went cycling and walking through the forest which was beautiful.
This hotel has the wow factor with regards to its location, heritage and gardens however unfortunately this is where the positives ended. After finding the place we actually had trouble locating the main entrance and reception, when we turned to the right and went through three or so rooms to find someone to ask it turned out we were standing at reception (a posh desk in another random room). There were a lot of signs but none that actually told you were to go or if you were allowed to go in that direction, as a result we didn't even get to see the indoor pool or gym because we couldn't find them. There was a wedding on and so there were little to no staff available to ask either. We sat in the "lounge" at 10:30-11 ish and no one was around to take any of our orders for tea we just sat there, so we left and drove into town instead. Our room was larger than usual but for a room call skyhawk you wouldn't imagine it to be on the ground floor, plus the view was of a traffic cone and road works barrier whilst all being over looked by the outdoor pool, not worth the £380 price-tag in my opinion. We went out to dinner as the prices would total £100+ if you wanted wine. The cost of an hour massage was £90, and none of the treatments were included in the price. The breakfast was cold, dry and really not that nice, definitely do not go with the continental, it was tinned fruit with what looked like 3 day old pastries. The overall tone was massively expensive for a poor delivery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mac & sue from Sussex

A Hide Away in the Forest.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: From start to finish we found everything about the hotel perfect for our stay.
Cons: Cannot improve on perfection. Five star accommodation.
Location: Ventured into Lymington. Bournemouth only a short drive away. Right in the middle of the New Forest, perfect for walks and cycling.
From the moment we drove up to the hotel we were captivated. The whole place look idillic from the moment we arrived. We found the staff very friendly and attentive. The ground were a wonderful place to relax and take in the ambiance of our surroundings. We then explored the rest of the hotel and found the pool and spa where we relaxed awhile after our drive. We found our room very relaxing and spotless on our arrival. In the evening we decided to explore away from the hotel for something to eat. After a relaxing night we ventured down to breakfast to find a wonderful choice for our delight and delectation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emran from W

My first time and it was fantastic

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The hotel is located well into the forest, mobiles don't work well, mainly no signals or in some areas 1bar. However the wifi works very well. The journey to the hotel will definitely require a sat nav, roads are narrow, horses walk freely this is due to it being a forest. Drive slowly and look out for the hotel sign because the surrounding can make your eyes wonder. The hotel is absolutely amazing, standards are high, staff lovely, good facilities. The 2 restaurants are abit high in price, but if you want you can drive to restaurants which are about 6minutes from hotel, near the train station or in surrounding towns. Breakfast in the hotel very nice, i recommend it. The hotel heath spa, has small pool, jacuzzi, steamer, sauna. Hotel overall is stunning, i enjoyed my stay, very helpful staff. If you want to do activities in the new forest make sure u book in advance, i recommend moors valley park, you can do tree climbing, zip wire, Segway, bike hire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, set in the woods, very private

Posted Feb 28, 2014
I came away to recoup from a back operation and it did the trick. Food in Armada restaurant very good, better than Grill room. The staff were friendly and bed very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr & Mrs L from Kent

Special birthday break

Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the best hotel we've stayed in in the New Forest in our experience, A fabulous setting with luxury accommodation, great service and excellent food. we would recommend 100% and definitely return.