Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Lovely location

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bedroom looked well used and could do with some decorating.
Location: The New Forest is beautiful and the towns and villages nearby were all very interesting, worth visiting.
Very relaxing, lovely venue. Bedroom was looking a bit tired, could do with a spruce up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
My bf and I visited The Rhinefield for a weekend away and it was lovely! The staff were all so polite and nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely although the restaurants were fairly expensive. The spa was relaxing and everything was clean and tidy. Beautiful hotel in gorgeous surroundings, i will certainly be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Battle

Beautiful hotel in a stunning location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The service is unrivalled.
Cons: Wifi access could be improved, as could the mattresses on the beds.
Location: This hotel is 10 seconds from centre of the New Forest. Need I say more!
This is a fabulous place to spend a relaxing couple of days and be spoilt be the very attentive staff. Food and wine was of a very high standard. The New Forest is right on your doorstep and there are walks and rides close by. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a special break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

Birthday suprise

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Booked a room for my husbands 40th birthday as a suprise. The hotel staff were amazing and went out of their way to help make the day special including writing 'happy 40th birthday' on his dessert plate. All in all the best, quality time spent in a long time. Thank you Rhinefield House.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cobourg Ontario Canada

Rhinefield House Good but Needs some work

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The staff, excellent. The suite we were upgraded to.
Cons: The atmosphere of the entrance. It seemed ackward. The atmosphere of the bar, seemed kind of tired.
Location: Stunning gardens on property. Beaulieu Estate and Motor Museum a must see.
I booked this hotel from Canada. I was spending one night there to celebrate my 60th birthday. I wanted the oldie worldy feel with some luxury. There is a newer wing to this hotel and, from what I could see, almost all the rooms are located there. The historic part of the hotel was timeshares. The indoor pool was REALLY small and not very inviting. On our visit the restaurant and bar were almost deserted. After being show to our room, which was very modern, nice and clean but not all all what I expected, I called the front desk and explained why I had booked this hotel. I have to say that the girl on the front desk was VERY professional and accommodating and actually had us moved to a beautiful suite in the historic part of the hotel. All of the staff were very good and well trained and they made our stay memorable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield UK

Tranquil, friendly but just a bit quirky....

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Great setting; friendly staff; amazing building; good room, and an epic spot for a quiet break.
Cons: Food quality and VFM - iffy ; no draft beer in bar; no external lighting!! Internal signposting poor. Really listen to what clients are saying
Location: Deep in the New Forest, in easy reach of the coast, the Forest & Beaulieu. Fabulous for walking and cycling breaks, chilling, listening and watching.
We wanted a three night break IN the New Forest, [rather than close to the NF] to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and chose Rhinefield House for that reason. In so many respects it was a perfect choice, but there are aspects of Rhinefield that let it down, and some that are frankly inexcusable for a four star hotel where aspirations [ and prices] are pretty high. The setting, grounds and hotel building are magnificent; the staff are friendly and attentive, and our Executive Double room was clean and well appointed - the bathroom had extremely good fittings and the shower was excellent. Dining and drinking in the hotel are expensive, and the quality of the food is questionable - the fine dining restaurant was of an acceptable standard but lacked ambiance. The Grill Room is over lit and failed to thrill - a plate of pasta discs with a simple tomato and sausage sauce was served as an inedible cloying, sticky mess - and this from a kitchen with an Italian chef!- Not good. Our surprise and dismay was that the hotel doesn't seem to 'use' what it has - splendid grounds and astonishing features remain covered by darkness or obscured by drapes. There is NO external lighting, which is frankly dangerous and a crying shame. Rhinefield is geographically cut off and seems in a world of its own - if that's what you want [as we did] it's great. However, in these circumstances, and at their prices, attention to detail becomes really important,and Rhinefield just isn't quite there yet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

It was OK!

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and setting but I think it was overpriced for the service we received. I felt we were paying for the upkeep of the hotel more than the 4* experience. The Room was pretty average. TV was old and kept buzzing. Wifi was next to useless. Bathroom very average, mouldy mastic. not cleaned behind beds. Leisure facilities only open from 8am. Breakfast was very good but fresh fruit runs out if you dont go early. All in all it was a gorgeous hote in beautiful grounds but needs attention to detail and is a bit over priced .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by traveller

Aged room offset by location

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Make no mistake, you are paying for the location and the communal areas (both of which are impressive) rather than the rooms. The basic room we stayed in was tired and aged. The bathroom in particular was quite grimey and in desparate need of refurbishment. It could also have been cleaner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Mid-week break

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: High standard, pleasant, polite and professional staff, good food, privacy, relaxed environment, location in New Forest, classical architecture.
Cons: Entertainment system in room (TV and DVD) and wi-fi internet need upgrading. Be aware that mobile telephone reception is poor throughout hotel!
Location: Brilliant location in the heart of New Forest. Plenty of activities available locally including cycling and horse riding. Good base for coast.
We have stayed at Rhinefield House on many occasions over the years and have always been very satisfied with the whole experience. The rooms are comfortable and a good size, quiet and private. The food is excellent and the breakfast is worth taking as it serves both a continental and full English (with a vegetarian option). The rooms are a little expensive but you pay for the splendid environment right in the centre of the New Forest. Highly recommended if you want a relaxed and peaceful stay. Due to its remoteness you will need a car to get the most from its surroundings, and be aware the mobile phone reception is poor throughout the hotel (and in the forest) - so you will be isolated. Unfortunately the wi-fi provision was poor during our stay so we were really disconnected. This is a great place for families, though most guests seemed to be older couples. A gentile pace is appropriate to absorb the ambience of the tea rooms, grand house, landscaped gardens, pond and extensive grounds. We have never been disappointed and will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rhinefield Revisited

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The setting is superb and the staff attentive but discreet.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: We had a wonderful day at Beaulieu and a lovely dinner The Oak, Pinkney Lane, Bank, Lyndhurst.
I stayed at Rhinefield about 15 years ago and returned in July 2014 with my partner hoping for a special break. I wasn't disappointed and neither was my partner. Nothing much had changed and that was a very good thing! From the sweeping drive through the forest to tea beside the ornamental pool and a superb dinner in The Armada restaurant, everything met our expectations. We made no use of the spa becauseI forgot it was there. We'll save that for next time...