Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Mid-week break

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: High standard, pleasant, polite and professional staff, good food, privacy, relaxed environment, location in New Forest, classical architecture.
Cons: Entertainment system in room (TV and DVD) and wi-fi internet need upgrading. Be aware that mobile telephone reception is poor throughout hotel!
Location: Brilliant location in the heart of New Forest. Plenty of activities available locally including cycling and horse riding. Good base for coast.
We have stayed at Rhinefield House on many occasions over the years and have always been very satisfied with the whole experience. The rooms are comfortable and a good size, quiet and private. The food is excellent and the breakfast is worth taking as it serves both a continental and full English (with a vegetarian option). The rooms are a little expensive but you pay for the splendid environment right in the centre of the New Forest. Highly recommended if you want a relaxed and peaceful stay. Due to its remoteness you will need a car to get the most from its surroundings, and be aware the mobile phone reception is poor throughout the hotel (and in the forest) - so you will be isolated. Unfortunately the wi-fi provision was poor during our stay so we were really disconnected. This is a great place for families, though most guests seemed to be older couples. A gentile pace is appropriate to absorb the ambience of the tea rooms, grand house, landscaped gardens, pond and extensive grounds. We have never been disappointed and will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rhinefield Revisited

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The setting is superb and the staff attentive but discreet.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: We had a wonderful day at Beaulieu and a lovely dinner The Oak, Pinkney Lane, Bank, Lyndhurst.
I stayed at Rhinefield about 15 years ago and returned in July 2014 with my partner hoping for a special break. I wasn't disappointed and neither was my partner. Nothing much had changed and that was a very good thing! From the sweeping drive through the forest to tea beside the ornamental pool and a superb dinner in The Armada restaurant, everything met our expectations. We made no use of the spa becauseI forgot it was there. We'll save that for next time...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Romantic weekend for two

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Beautiful setting, excellent Wedding venue. Great location for walking in the New Forest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great hotel- poor bathroom condition.....

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The grounds and friendly staff, room (apart from bathroom).
Cons: Bathroom maintenance and general maintenance of the hotel
Location: Great pub called The Pig in Brockenhurst. Bournemouth near by - the New Forest on the door step!
Lovely hotel and grounds with friendly staff and good facilities generally. The pool was unfortunately murky.. but warm (not sure that is a good thing!). The room was very clean and very comfortable.... However, the bathroom in our room was definitely not 4 or 5 star. The shower was very weak and the sink had a large crack running through it (which had clearly been there for quite some time). I have had better showers in a travel lodge and was disappointed as the rest of the hotel was excellent and love the grounds! I did report the sink upon leaving and was told they would raise a maintenance log (although when cleaning the room it should have been picked up). I expected better for the cost per night but the rest of the hotel was fantastic. Hopefully this was just a one off?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jason from m

Wonderful getaway

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Lovely location, remote and secluded but such a beautiful building. Staff are very accommodating. Highly recommend this as a retreat to relax and unwind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from London

Beautiful hotel in the forest

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The setting of this hotel is spectacular and the rooms are clean and well-sized. The spa is good although the indoor pool is very small and there are only two loungers. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The wireless was unfortunately temperamental and often dropped out which was annoying. The standard of breakfast was also variable. Overall I really enjoyed our stay and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victoria from Essex

Out of date

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was fantastic and the gardens are beautiful. However, the exterior of the hotel and the garden furniture was very old and worn out this was very evident on the parasoles which were falling apart, the garden table we sat at for afternoon tea was growing its own moss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by paul from reading

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
great hotel in a wonderful relaxing area, hotel based on its true location, rooms for the price i thought a little steep but enjoyed our weekend and very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted May 13, 2014
A thoroughly enjoyable stay at a beautiful hotel. Definitely make time to enjoy the hotel grounds and surrounding area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place but poorly executed and expensive

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Location and heritage
Cons: Signs that actually tell you were you need to go rather than the names of things that you don't know. Prices of everything. Breakfast. Staff.
Location: We went cycling and walking through the forest which was beautiful.
This hotel has the wow factor with regards to its location, heritage and gardens however unfortunately this is where the positives ended. After finding the place we actually had trouble locating the main entrance and reception, when we turned to the right and went through three or so rooms to find someone to ask it turned out we were standing at reception (a posh desk in another random room). There were a lot of signs but none that actually told you were to go or if you were allowed to go in that direction, as a result we didn't even get to see the indoor pool or gym because we couldn't find them. There was a wedding on and so there were little to no staff available to ask either. We sat in the "lounge" at 10:30-11 ish and no one was around to take any of our orders for tea we just sat there, so we left and drove into town instead. Our room was larger than usual but for a room call skyhawk you wouldn't imagine it to be on the ground floor, plus the view was of a traffic cone and road works barrier whilst all being over looked by the outdoor pool, not worth the £380 price-tag in my opinion. We went out to dinner as the prices would total £100+ if you wanted wine. The cost of an hour massage was £90, and none of the treatments were included in the price. The breakfast was cold, dry and really not that nice, definitely do not go with the continental, it was tinned fruit with what looked like 3 day old pastries. The overall tone was massively expensive for a poor delivery.