Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Location is best thing...

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: It did have some history and a sense of character.
Cons: A good all over refurbishment would be what it needs. More of a deep clean and a lick of paint, than any remodelling.
Location: The high street is great...no mobile phone shops!!! Great town to visit and meet friendly people.
...with the hotel in centre of town, leave the car in the car park and walk the high street for shops and restaurants of your choice. Staff are great, but the hotel is showing signs of being tired. Carpets in places especially food rooms are heavily stained, worn and just so dirty it's sticky when walked upon. Toasters are self operated (not a problem with that) but the units barely warm up, so take ages to produce toast that's invariably very dry. I would stay again, but more because of the location and knowing what it was like, not because of what it was like, if you understand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Methon,i Greece

A happy one night stay at the Swan Hotel, Alton.

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: The Staff and the environment
Cons: The breakfast administration and some refurbishment of the toilet facilities but still within an historical setting.
Location: Brilliant countryside. Direct railway line into London Waterloo. A good base to visit many interesting places.
A pleasant short one night stay in the hotel in the very centre of Alton with history, helpful and understanding staff, a warm busy and friendly atmosphere. My wife, Mary and I regularly use hotels so that we are very aware of the number and standard of facilities. The Swan has atmosphere shown, obviously by the age of the facilities. The room was clean but the bathroom and WC needed some modernising. We are always unhappy to experience an apart WC without a hand wash basin. Walking from one compartment to another without washed hands is not a desirable situation. The bathroom needed a shelf for our toiletries. But the quality of the staff compensated for those negatives. The evening meal was good and delicious within an attractive environment and a friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast, in the same setting as the evening meal requires better self service buffet facilities. Having to order and wait for the warm full facilities, and having coffee served slowed up the experience. The meal was good and the atmosphere excellent. A good experience, that will be repeatable.
2 out of 5
by Businessman from Wales

Disappointing; has the management team changed?

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: To be honest, not a lot.
Cons: The quality of food and customer service.
Food disappointing, tables dirty. It was difficult to find a table that wasn't sticky with glass rings (did readily wipe off with a damp serviette). The only evening meal I ate in the hotel (albeit on a Sunday) was below par. The mashed potato contained cold spots throughout - almost as though it had been inefficiently microwaved. The breakfast service on two of the three days I stayed was seemingly overwhelmed. Service was slow and inefficient (although a couple of the front-of-house staff did their best to keep things moving). On my last day, the Continental choices were still being set-up after 7:00 while increasingly restless customers were waiting for table service. Orders were mixed-up and it took over 25 minutes from ordering for two under-cooked (jellyfish-like) poached eggs to be served to me. A supremely unimpressive performance all round. Room (comfortable, but dark and dingy). The soft-start(?) energy-saving lights took a considerable time to produce sufficient light to be useable. It was virtually impossible to see anything for several minutes after turning these on. The Reception staff informed me that they were already aware of the problem (in their words the hotel staff been "told to" change bulbs in the bedrooms, but hadn't yet "got round" to my room). Needless to say, I expect better and do not intend to stay at the Swan again (except in extremis). I have also already warned my colleagues about the apparent slump in standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A

Old-fashioned hotel with character.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Its character
Cons: I have stayed here several times and once had no hot water due to everyone else in the particular area of the hotel having had a shower!
Location: A market town (albeit with very little character due to poor shopping area) but Jane Austen's house is withing easy distance, as well as Selborne
A long-established hotel with a bit of character to it - creaky floorboards under the carpet, very comfortable beds, wifi access, good choice of breakfasts, pleasant ambience, friendly unhurried helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Oscar from Devon

Great overnighter

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was a bit apprehensive as hadn't stayed here before....,.. Didn't need to worry as was clean and a very nice place to stay specially as I had a good deal from hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Folitician from Cambridge

Great Service

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for one night with some friends. The evening meals were very pleasant and good value. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the overall atmosphere was great. Would definitely stay here again. Perfectly located for the Watercress Line where we had an excellent Christmas lunch on the steam railway. Definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by fragggggggs from Berks

Very good value for money with breakfast

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
For £30/pppn including breakfast, this is a bargain. Breakfast very good for the money too. Second time here and recommend it for value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gillian from Lee-on-the-Solent

Fantastic service

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were very helpful, helping me, with the aid of printed maps, to find the venue for my meeting on the Monday. The food was excellent, good food nicely sserved and staff on hand. Personally I would give it more than three stars.I would like to go again on a leisure trip and have also taken detail of the chain this hotel belongs to. Value for money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room cleaning and breakfast service (on busy days) in need of improvement. Reception friendly, food tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from berkshire

hotel was lovely

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: very nice price for room and breakfast
Cons: waiting staff in resturant
Location: not a lot to do near by once you have visited the church and gone on the steam rainlway
friendly front of house staff, room was nice only downside was the long hairs and dust balls behind toilet door (noticeable when shut door and sat on loo). We ate in hotel lunchtime whilst we waited for check in which was lovely, however our evening meal and breakfast were ruined by fact we had to keep asking for service, waiting staff often just staring into space or chatting instead of watching what customers needed, we ordered dessert and when wrong thing was delivered we asked staff if it was correct, waitress went off to check leaving us sat with pud in front of us and never came back with the answer when another staff member (same person who was on front of house) asked if everything was ok and we explained the waitress replied to her the answer but hadn't come back to us but had just left us sat there.