Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Camberley

OUR STAY AT CLARENCE HOTEL

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff.
Cons: One or two items - particularly telephone and shower - need basic information as to use. Found the number for reception by trial and error.
Location: Difficult to find as down a side street. Should have provided directions. Not many attractions within walking directions.
Very comfortable hotel with many facilities. Freshly cooked breakfast. Hotel difficult to find as tucked down a side street. Difficulty in operating "new-fangled" shower due to lack of instructions. Staff very friendly and helpful. The one downside for us was the price - felt that was over the top. We only took the price as we were very late in booking and very little else available. Overall I would recommend the hotel - for those with big credit cards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Excellent location- easy walking distance for restaurants and bars. Great decor - comfortable bed and delicious breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Relaxing hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Nice comfortable rooms, lovely bathroom, spacious, very friendly and welcoming staff. Welcome drink on arrival was a nice touch. The breakfast could be better, but it didn't impact our stay. We will certainly be staying again on our next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: the bathroom. not much else
Cons: Get some trained staff who are at least civil even if they cannot ben welcoming
Location: the historical dockyard and in particular The Mary Rose are quite amazing . We spent 2 days , could have spent a week
We booked this hotel on the strength of the hundreds of rave reviews. so surprised tio find it was no more than an acceptable B &B. The room was small with a very busy and noisy pasageway outside, bedroom No2. The bathroom was good and would have accepted this but for the appalling attitude of the person callng herself the manager. We planned for a leasurely return on the last day but were told that breakfast was 7.30 until 8.as they were working on the dining room, or served in the bedroom . We decided latter. The waitress came with the trea on a small tray , there was no where to put is so was left on the floor. this was followed by breakfastwhich was handed to us.There was only part of the cutlery no sauces, juices or preserves. by the time we phone and these arrived the breafast was cold. my wife eat some of the breakfast sat on the side of the bed with the plate resting on a pillow she left most of hers. We phoned the manager , she was busy but phoned back later. we expected an apology all we got was abuse. finally she asked what could she do about it, we suggested a reduction for the breakfast. the reply was ''we dont put up with blackmail. We put the phone down and left early with a mechanical saw going outside and banging and hammering from the dining room opposite. The Group had only owned this building a few months, rave reviews were from previous owners who had now retired. As for blackmail we did not get the15% reduction due from the early restaurant booking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: small, clean and friendly
Good location, very helpful and friendly lady at reception and we had a very quiet room at the top of the house. Best sleep I've had in ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from London

pompy stopover

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
Nice break
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jon from Surrey

Mixed review

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
A warm welcome given. Very friendly staff. Very clean, modern but small bedroom. Would describe this more as a Boutique Bed & Breakfast rather than an hotel. Disappointed there was no on-site restaurant. Extremely limited room service menu. Hugely disappointed there was no kettle supplied in the room as we drink a lot of hot lemon water & our own herbal teas. The location is 'interesting' over looked at the front by a high rise block, and the rear looking out over a scruffy residential house. Overall, we would probably not return preferring to find somewhere that supplies a kettle in the room, and has a more attractive outlook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gerard from Oldham

Would definately return

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely small friendly hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Comfort with Style.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Just so easy to come and go, do your own thing yet have excellent staff to do whatever you require. Loved its decor etc in the rooms.
Cons: Just to be picky would prefer tea/coffee facilities in room rather than room service even if it was free and very quick.
Location: Very close to sea front and only a £4 taxi ride to Navel Dockyard which ismarvellous. Must go to The Spinnaker. Hotel is 2 mins from good restaurants
Had a delightful stay. Although our room was above a noisy air conditioner which started at 7.30 am. It's ok as an alarm call ! Finally it has a change of owner imminent although keeping excellent old / young staff, hope it stays 5 star. Don't be put off by these observation, we loved our stay even the bath in the room ! and will come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Hotel was excellent in every respect from the initial welcome to departure. The facilities are first rate and nothing was to much trouble for any member of the Hotel team. The room was well equipped light, airy and individual in it décor. The choices available at breakfast covered all tastes and all ranges of appetite. I would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel.