Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Really good, welcoming hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Fabulous food, great hosts and comfortable bedrooms - perfect really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Malvern, Worcestershire

First rate pub with excellent service.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Really good service and good value with the boss leading his team well.
Location: Located near Midhurst so suited well for visiting all the major events at Goodwood.
I needed a good place to stay near Goodwood and this did the trick in every way.Good service from all the staff, a nice room and a nice meal during the evening. Breakfast cooked by the boss too!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by johnfrom london

Over The Rainbow!

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
No phone signal! internet signal in restaurant but not in rooms. May have been bad weather problem. The main problem was the food which was like something from the 1950ies english school dinners I remember. The steak pie was stodgy and the little bits of meat were tasteless. Truely appalling was the so called "Fresh river trout" . I was so pleased to see it on the menu I specifically asked if it was really river trout. It was tastless Rainbow trout, which I never order because it is always tasteless. This one didn't just taste of cotton wool which these farmed trout usually do but soggy cotton wool! Veg were piled on the plate in abundance but were over-cooked and matched the trout for soggyness! Pudding was ok. Service was friendly and charming. The rooms were clean and uncluttered. The shower was roomy and good. Please Please improve the food, don,t be mendacious in describing your fish,dont overcook use lots more fresh herbs and seasoning and source better ingredients to match these prices!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DEREKfrom leicester

Good honest place to stay.

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Found the hotel a warm cosy and friendly place on arrival on a damp very misty night. A good log fire in the bar to drive out the winter chill. The room was much better than we expected having been in other 4 star establishments. Clean, spacious with a great bathroom. Ate in the hotel from a good menu. The food being superb and plentiful. Could not fault the hospitality nor the breakfast next morning. Would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darranfrom Midlands

Great food and ale. Friendly staff.

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great food and ale. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Venue

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: All
Cons: Yogurt and fruit selection for breakfast
Stayed here to attend a friends party.... staff were extremely helpful, room was briliant and the shower was to die for! I have lunch in the bar which was brilliant and as a coeliac they had a good choice available. Also they ensured that they had gluten free breakfast available..... To be honest cant fault anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Worcester

Clean accommodation in rural location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location, the food, the hospitality.
Cons: Maybe the staff could give a little information about the area upon arrival ie the nearest fuel station, shop, supermarket etc
Location: There is a small village about half a mile away, with Supermarket, shops & newsagent. There is also a train station.
Very friendly staff, doing whatever they could to assist. The accommodation is a few yards away from the pub, so gives you peace and quiet when you require.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by davidofrom Forest of Dean

Quality accomodation

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms were spacious and very well appointed, especially the bathroom which had a very good powerful shower with good temperature control. The bed was comfortable and it was especially pleasing to have a cafetiere and ground coffee as standard. A lot of thought had obviously gone into the refurbishment of the property and it was finished to a high standard. The food in the pub restaurant was very enjoyable and good value. The staff were very accommodating especially over the time of breakfast. The location wasn't an issue as we got a taxi to and from our event, and managed to book one quite easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Scottfrom of Melton

good service, breakfasts and beer

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked well ahead for the Goodwood Festival of Speed, and booked on location only if I'm honest. However the staff were friendly, the room was clean and quiet and the combination of a good breakfast and doom bar on tap in the evening was hard to beat