Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Room very old fashioned. Awful wallpaper and curtains. Bed is far to squishy. No extractor fan in the bathroom. Windows not double glazed, so can hear all cars outside and planes overhead. Room was so far away from main reception the Wifi didn't work in my room. Actual key to get in to room and you have to place key at reception every time you leave. No sockets next to the bed. Not worth £50 for my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Run down cheap hotel

Posted May 5, 2015
Peeling paint, mismatched carpet, paper thin walls(I could literally hear the person beside me breathing through the wall), okay breakfast. Nothing in the vicinity of the hotel to help redeem it
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shrijit from Brighton

Cheap and almost cheerful....

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
We were looking for a cheap night's stay and The Star came our way. Looking at the reviews, we knew it would be just about the right choice. The hotel building etc is superb but due to lack of TLC, it looks pretty sad. The staff at the reception was not rude but it seems they did very long hours. The room itself was pretty good. I don't complain to stay in that room for a night or two. The en-suite was fine except there were some broken bits so we were careful while handling it. The lady at the breakfast was very pleasant. The neighborhood was not the best but we didn't feel unsafe or anything. All in all, I can stay in that hotel again for the amount of money I paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by James from Southampton

Needs referbishment, but good value.

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is old and in need of a referbishment, but it is clean and comfortable.Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

finding out the truth

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Would of been better if u didnt find out my girlfriend went there weeks before and cheated on me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by simon from birmingham

star hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
nice clean place,,,,,for the southampton price very good,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel Vieillot.

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel vieillot mais propre. Très bien situé pour visité le centre ville.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hannah from Retford, UK

Staff great, hotel not-so great

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
Do not, I repeat, DO NOT park on the outside road of the hotel. Our car back passenger window got put through (probably by some drunken idiot or nasty kids). Park in the hotel car park (make sure you get there early enough to secure a space). Hotel itself is in need of a lot of TLC. Creaky floors, musky smell, windows that don't open. Staff are great. Very very helpful and bent over backwards to help us get the car window sorted. If it wasn't for the staff then I'd never ever stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Let down

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
The walls are so thin u can hear everything from outside and other rooms. You have to pay for parking and we couldn't even get in there 3 out of 5 days