Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banstead

Weekend city break

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Staff. Food.
Cons: Material state of spa area (changing areas, tiles, canopy features above pool need cleaning/replacing). Cancel parking charge for guests
Location: Good location for discovering old city of Winchester.
Overall we had an enjoyable weekend at the hotel. Bad bits: The spa is a little tired and needs refurbishing. Also, we were surprised we had to pay £15.00 for parking in the hotel car park over the weekend...think we would've booked somewhere else had this fact been known before (well hidden, Expedia). Good bits: Food and service were excellent. Proximity to city convenient for a short stroll.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denise from Surrey

Good facilities

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Good location, quiet and excellent facilities.
Location: Accessible to Winchester, also close to National Trust properties and other places of interest.
The hotel's facilities were excellent and the room a good size. The restaurant was excellent and the meals delicious - all in all an excellent stay and good location for exploring the local area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keith from norwich

Convenient location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The health club
Cons: Car parking
Location: Winchester is coach and full of history
My wife and I booked this hotel because of its proximity to the centre of Winchester. It was only a 10 minute walk, so proved very convenient. The room was clean and the staff were fine. The health club was also very good. However, the bed was far too bouncy, and it sounded as though there was a herd of elephants in the room above us. I also felt that car parking charges were excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alex from Kent

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent facilities and local to all amenities within walking distance
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annita mckay from Colchester

very noisy fans outside room

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel but unfortunately we had 6 large extractor fans outside out room no 130. We reported the noise to hotel staff at 10.30 pm and they assured us it would stop at 11p.m but it did not. I was assured the General Manager would contact me but it is now a week and still nothing from him? Pity but I would not recommend it for this reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a couple from London

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Pros: Dinner at the hotel restraint and spa
Cons: It would be better if there is a hair dryer in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very Nice Hotel in Winchester

Posted Nov 23, 2013
We had a double room. The room was spacious by European standards with a good sized bathroom with an excellent shower. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic, but not cheap. Breakfast was included and fantastic. We had some difficulty finding the hotel (GPS was taking us behind the hotel. We only stayed one night on a driving tour of the UK, but would stay here again if I was ever in Winchester!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Check functions

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although great in every other way, it was not great that we shared the music of a 40th birthday bash until 24:00. When booking check if functions are on and request a room away from them if you like to get to sleep early-or to hear the soundtrack of the film you're watching!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Navigator from Liverpool

Smelly room, from bathroom + no outside window

Posted Nov 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
There was an awful stench in the room seeming to come from the bathroom drains. Reception agreed to have it looked at while we were out for dinner but no real difference. Although we didn't ask, they would have moved us but the hotel was apparently full. Disappointing that the room did not have an outside window and overlooked the leisure pool...... Location was ideal and breakfast was very good. All public areas were very well appointed, stylish and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com