Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice garden if warm enough outside

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Stayed at the Winchester Royal for one week on combined business/vacation. Terrific location for walking to all the major sites, as well as to the train and bus depots. Wifi connection not great, but most days adequate for messaging but not for streaming video. A beautiful outdoor garden for a meal or a drink, but late July weather was to chilly or rainy most days to enjoy it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

City center hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Not so easy to find in the one way system and there are 2 car parks but off different roads - check first
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Convenient for the Town. Pleasant surroundings.
Cons: The car parking - we went round the one way system 3 times to find the right entrance into the car park situated behind the hotel.
My sister and I stayed for one night for the Winchester Cathedral Flower Festival. The Hotel is well situated for the town and Cathedral which are within walking distance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Dont ever go to this hotel in the summer.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Very little. It was a good locoation but the room was completely overpriced for what we got and the breakfast which was £10 extra was not special.
Cons: Breakfaast, air conditioning in the room.
Location: Stay somewhere else. Winchester is a beautiful city and well worth a visit especially the cathedral, the old town and the river walk.
Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the car park. Because we were on plain view to anyone in the car park we could not leave our curtains open. It was quite warm while we were in Winchester and the room was like an oven. There was no air conditioning and because of the heavy black out curtains, even though we left the windows open all night (which was rather dangerous since we were on the ground floor) we had no air current and it was impossible to sleep. Thank goodness we were only there one day. We will never return to this hotel, that is for sure. When we left the staff member at the desk asked how our stay was and we said that the room was like an oven. His response was, "Oh yes those rooms are a little warm." Then why were we put there? The hotel definitely was not full.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Central Location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Quiet place with a lot of history.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: Only stayed for one night on business, Winchester however is a really nice place unfortunately not enough time to take in the area.
Having spent a week in different hotels on each night this was my last night before flying back to the Gulf. Ordered Room service and they delivered the wrong food. This was collected from the room but no refund offered, when I asked at check out I was told they had to consult the Manager. All seemed a lot of trouble and extremely poor customer service, unfortunately this seems to be a common theme. Ends up leaving a bad impression from what had started quite well on arrival.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Garden Room Design Not Brilliant

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing especially.
Cons: Prevent guests from having access to the terrace late at night/early hours of the morning when others are trying to sleep.
Without doubt an interesting and old collection of buildings in the heart of Winchester. However, we were in the new part which runs alongside the long garden. Imagine an oblong - at the top is the old hotel and terrace area, at the bottom, the end of the garden, to the left a very long red brick wall and flower border abounding the (quiet) road, and to the right the new accommodation. Unfortunately, the terrace is adjacent to the new bedrooms, which means that anyone sitting on the terrace talking late at night wakes anyone trying to sleep - the design is such that the terrace seating in about ten foot away from the bedroom window. Thus we were woken at around 3am by some thoughtless guests chatting and laughing. They might as well have been sat on the end of our bed. We also paid for an 'upgrade' to have a garden room - ie one that looks over the garden, but as the bedroom is in fact lower than the garden and we were stuck in the corner of the accommodation, it wasn't worth the money. Breakfast was ok, standard fare, but we felt the staff - although polite - seemed rather lack-lustre. Butter for toast etc was already cut and laid out, but we noticed a lot had been left by people preferring margarine or nothing at all - such a waste. All in all, we had a very disturbed night by combination of thoughtless guests and bad accommodation design; breakfast was fine but not outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Excellent overnight or short stay Hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Central location, good as a base to travel from. Large internal garden for relaxing away from the crowds .
Cons: Parking is tight and limited in both front and rear car parks. Over night car parking fee (£10) should be inclusive of the stay, not as an extra cost.
Location: Very centralised and 30 seconds from the high street and shops. Artist's market in the main street on Sundays.
Very clean and tidy room. Bed: A very large and supportive bed that might suit most people but, I found it too hard to get much sleep. My wife who suffers back problems had to sleep on top of the duvet to gain any comfort. This was only a one night stay so it was difficult to rectify. If you have long legs they might overhang the bed but the width is excellent for two! Internal accommodation block: inboard rooms overlook the lovely Hotel gardens, outboard view less inspiring of office buildings and backs of houses. On balance you don't spend too much time looking out of the windows so this is an observation only. Bathroom: very consistent hot water- doesn't run out. An otherwise clean bathroom but noticeable mould on shower wall outlet and some stained lime scale in the loo. Okay, no big deal but for the room cost it slightly marred the stay - these small pointers were made aware to reception upon checking out. TV: Large wall mounted tv. the red led always on- makes you paranoid you aren't being watched at night-creepy. In room Tea and Coffee: could do with more sachets. Wardrobe: NO trouser press insight, yaay! Nice to see wooden coat hangers for a change along with a proper iron and ironing board. Functional bar and the lounge is relaxing. Excellent Full English Breakfast along with varying cereals, fruit or toast/ croissants etc on offer. We liked the buffet style FEB selection so you could pick and choose what you wanted and when you wanted it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
Good location although difficult to find by car. We enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Central

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Bed, floorboards and cost of breakfast.
Location: Great for shops, Catherdral. Restaurants and beautiful country side.
Stayed here with friends they stayed in the extension part of hotel and had a far more comfortable stay. There room was cheaper too! Plus they got breakfast! We had a so called upgrade. It was in the orginal part of the building built in 1600 and the bed felt like that too was built in the 1600s.. Floorboards where a nightmare, the creaking was awful you could not walk on any part of the floor without a racket! Brakefast cost £18.00 and was defiantly not worth the price. The upside was staff where great and location central to everywhere.