Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the town centre.

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Has been modernised pleasantly surprised. Ideal position in Winchester.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Christmas visit

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Its a nice mix of old style hospitality and revamped furnishings. The breakfasts are also very good.
Cons: The rooms in the old building are a bit noisy and hot but difficult to see what can be done about that !
Location: Superb location, right in the heart of Winchester, and yet perfectly quiet !
Winchester is one of the best UK towns to visit pre-christmas. Compact enough to walk everywhere and lively enough day and night. After reading some mixed reviews of this hotel I was a little unsure about booking it, but no problem, it was all good. The 'new' wings of the hotel are a lillt soulless but take one of these rooms; they are more spacious, better equipped and quiter than the main (old) building
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Location: Perfect location. Could back to hotel and drop bags off during the day and continue shopping!
Perfect location for a quick break. Managed to park early as we arrived before out check-in time. Hassle free
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Nice hotel, really comfortable bed. Only negatives the room was too warm even with the windows open all night, our view was crap, and we only had one bath towel... But otherwise its a lovely hotel, seemed clean, great location. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Great position in a very pretty city

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Position, excellent roomin quiet location and parking (but at a cost)
Cons: Staff struggled to meet needs with so many attending functions.
Location: Winchester very pretty., cathedral worth a visit anytime, shops good and. Plenty of excellent restaurants. Close to south coast so good stopover point
Stayed at hotel before and wanted to visit Christmas market again. Very busy as Christmas parties and events and whilst dinner in the restaurant was good the service was slow and a little disjointed. Stayed in refurbished room and a great improvement from3 years ago, huge bed, excellent facilities and quiet location away from the functions. Fantastic position, close to everything by 5 minute walk. Car parking limited and first come first served, £10 overnight charge a surprise as no charge previously, but worth it fir access to car. Overall a perfect place fir a Winchester break but better at quieter times of the year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The hotel is clean and welcoming. We were very impressed with the room and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful old historic building, very pretty garden, with the added bonus of on site parking. Very close to town centre. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South West

Parking is terrible

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Parking is terrible! If you can't get into the very small hotel car park, the nearest is overnight car park is quite a hike, and allows you a maximum of 24 hours... The staff were pretty hopeless and unhelpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location formtown centre

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and size of rooms
Cons: Reception customer service
Location: Christmas market and cathedral
Thought there we were able to park car in hotel . Only to find we had to park in a car park at top of town. Although not too far a bit of a nuisance Reception staff could do with a customer service course. Even if it is to smile at customers. The room was great . Very nicely decorated and excellent size room. Glad we were in the old building rather than the new annexe. My biggest thought is the hotel has gone slightly too big for the size of the hotel. At breakfast some customers are sat on top of the food area. Also the car park is not big enough for the amount of rooms. If I return to Winchester I would return to this hotel as the location is excellent for the town centre, rooms excellent and the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom weybridge

Perfect central location

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Great hotel right in the centre. Huge bedroom and bathroom - loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Ideal centre of city location

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: All OK
Location: Winchester is an idyllic place especially this time of year with the Christmas market - do buy some fantastic cards from " Mad Lou" stall
Pleasant helpful staff, lucky to get a car parking space. Breakfast was very good and run very efficiently. Room was great in the main hotel large and comfortable. Would certainly return as Wichester is an interesting and colourful city