Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass.

not a good hotel to stay at all

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: need to replace all carpet
Location: location is convenience
I will never pick this hotel again. I will tell my family or friends who going to that area to use other hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Enjoyable Place

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy to find. Not in crowded neighborhood.
Cons: Could use coat rack and hangers
Location: Close enough to explore Bar Harbor.
We felt safe and comfortable and stayed two nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

It served all of our basic needs nicely.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Location: Handy to all points of interest in the area.
We found everything basically fine to serve our purposes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioners--when I booked there was a comment about the air conditioner too!
Location: many estaurants within a 10 minute drive.
Room was clean but the air conditioner didn't work and we were saved because it was coo at night. Basic hotel--no frills but it was clean!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, NJ

This hotel was a bummer.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: It was quasi clean.
Cons: Hotel has not been renovated since 1980. It needs to be demolished.
Location: It is over 30 minutes from the National park. It is very close to Wal mart.
This hotel was a disappointment. We wanted to see Acadia National Park and historic Bar Harbor and wound up staying at a dump! Expedia had an extremely poor selection of hotels to choose from and I would never stay here again. It was dated and run down and far away from the local attractions. There is no pool and the beds are uncomfortable. The maids asked each day if we wanted our rooms cleaned? There are much nicer places to stay if you do your research! Stay clear of this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kevin rhee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim from Virginia

Adequate Facility, Good Value

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good location for visiting Acadia NP (30 min drive), considering the price. Other places are certainly closer and many probably better quality, but you'll pay much more. The room even had a very small frig (no freezer). The motel does not provide any breakfast other than coffee/tea. Ellsworth is 1 mile away with a good variety of restaurants and stores, and easier to get around in than congested Bar Harbor near Acadia. The staff was quite helpful. I needed to move the bedside table a bit, and discovered the floor underneath had not been cleaned in a long time. My window drapes did close, but not using the pull cord. I would recommend it to someone needing affordable, basic lodging.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from Bristol, VA

Clean Budget Hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was clean and reasonably comfortable, but very dated. The bedding was modest and some of the bathroom linens were badly worn. But if you are just looking for a place to sleep and clean up, this motel works fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allison Trimmer from Pennsylvania

Price was good for a short stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved that we could have our dogs with us at no charge. Saw some things that made us question how secure our room was. Bathroom shower is NOT wheelchair friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing, an old Howard Johnson

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Too far out
Pictures were deceiving, very old. Wanted a reasonable rate, and it was but not even worth the rate. Said it had wifi, but never could get it. Rooms were so outdated. Not even a hair dryer in the bathroom. Old carpet, nails still in the walls where pictures had been. Don't stay here.