Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ken from Boston

Hangzhou

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great clean and spacious rooms on crown level
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken Golden

Hanzhou

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Business center had old unusable Computers -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities and comfortable room

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Overall is good
Cons: The price at bat on the first floor is quite expensive.
Location: Nothing worth roaming around.
May stay next time and convenient place to downtown.
3 out of 5
by pc from kensington md

Like Crowne Plaza Everywhere

Posted Mar 21, 2013
I stayed here because my son is studying at the university across the street, otherwise there would be no reason to be here. If one is interested in West Lake toursit attractions, this is off the beaten path. None of my taxi drivers knew where it was. Like every other Crowne plaza I have stayed in, it is a fine hotel that is beginning to fray around the edges ---- worn carpets, etc. Staff is helpful and speaks decent English. The assistant manager was helpful when it came to putting me in a new room as my original room did not cool down and was still 83 degrees at 11:00 at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice room. Hard to get back

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
There are many taxi's to get you to your spots of interest. They were very helpful to give you cards with directions back and places you would want to go on it. However, it is fairly far from the West Lake. That meant that Taxi drivers would literally reject us to give us a ride back. When we called the hotel to order a cab to pick us up they wanted to rip us off too by charging us an usually high charge just to have a taxi pick us up. Made it nearly impossible to want to go back to the lake because it took 5 hours to get to the hotel from the lake. Maybe if there was a clear way to use the buses but I just had to kind of wing it. Not a lot of fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

not recommended

Posted Nov 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed in several Crowne Plaza in China and this was the worst of all. The service people were much less trained or experienced than other Crownes. On arrival, we were told we had to pay for internet which was fair enough, although other Crownes provided it for free. The staff member was not helpful with the Crowne Priority club reward points. We still have not received any single point from any of the Crowne hotel we stayed in. The interior of the room was old, typical Crowne before refurnishing, although the price was higher than ther other Crownes. It took them more than an hour to get a taxi for us to the station when we left, although the lady appearred to try very hard. Worst of all, the location was bad. It was in front of a huge freeway intesection: noisy and "nice view" and it was in the middle of nowhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not really an international Crowne

Posted May 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
The location is pretty far from Xi Hu, so expect a 15 min cab ride each time you head out. The neighborhood is pretty random, located right in the middle of an underpass. The hotel is not as good as other international chains in China. My personal feeling is that this Crowne is catered to the Chinese clientele. Rooms are standard size, not impressive (even though I got the upgraded room). A bit overpriced for China.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Room without proper air conditioning

Posted Apr 28, 2010
I was at the hotel in April 2010. Temperature inside the room is 78 Degree Fahrenheit or about 26 Degree Celcius, apparently the hotel DOES NOT have cooling system. The air conditioning only can generate heat, not cold air. So if you are visiting the city during the winter, then its a great hotel to stay, however if you are in the middle of spring or summer, stay away. I spoke to the night manager. He was very apologetic and offer to upgrade me to a larger room. However when I check on the larger room, it has the same problem. Nice service, clean facility, but poor equipment. Holiday Inn group should require the hotel to upgrade its central air system.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The only thing good about this stay was the price!!

Posted Apr 23, 2010
I was very disappointed in the hotel. Expedia gave it a 4.5 stars rating so I was expecting an exceptional hotel. What I got was far from that! The first room they put me in, I could not control the temperature in my room. When I asked to have someone come up to see the controls in the room, the person they sent just opened the window and left. They moved me to another room and for 2 of my remaining 4 days, there was no hot water to take a shower. When I ordered room service, the food was always cold. Very, very, very, few people at the hotel spoke english!!!! In a hotel with 4.5 stars, I expect the staff to be able to speak a little english to accommodate it's traveling guests. I needed to send a package to the US via FEDEX/UPS. They told me I needed to give them my FEDEX/UPS account number in order to send the package. When I told them I did not have an account, how many people have their own personal account number, they made me pay CASH to send the package. When I asked them to just put the charge on my room, they said they could not do that. They are not set up for business travelers traveling out of the US!!!! I will NEVER stay there again. I don't care if I have to pay more money. It will be worth it to have a more accommodating hotel!!!!