Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by aj from calgary, canada

horriable hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
very bad hotel, we don't want anybody enter it because the staff was so crude. Once time I want the staff ask a taxi for us, they reply that wasn't their duty. the room is tiny and the carpet was dirty, we want no smoking room but we can smell the smoking everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashok from India

Uneasy Wash Room

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location of this hotel is good, near to West lake and Subway, Night market and other shopping areas, but the Clear glass wash room with curtain only one side and looking glass in front of WC are very awkward, the designer of the wash room must be awarded with the worst design. I stayed single over their for 4 days and the wash room / Toilet is not fit for even single occupancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MommaBear from Vancouver

Nice hotel in good location

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: There is very little English spoken at the hotel (or anywhere else) so do your research on the area before you arrive.
The St. Rich Hotel was good value for money. It was obviously a first class hotel when built but like us, is aging fairly gracefully. It was comfortable, good bathroom, comfortable beds, windows that open. It is located a few blocks from a subway station and Westlake. There is a pretty good selection of Chinese food at breakfast and we had no trouble choosing things we liked. We would stay there again when in Hangzhou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geoff from Australia

Will stay again

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very clean, shower and bathroom were great, hot water was immediately available. My room overlooked the expressway, which although a bit noisy during the day was not noisy at night enough to keep me from sleeping. No amazing views from the roadside rooms though, but was not of concern to me. Internet in the room worked well, was fast and reliable. A quick 10 minute walk to the Longxiangqiao subway station along a busy and interesting street (Pinghai Road), and 5 minutes from the night markets on Renhe Road. Service was fantastic, the laundry service was also great. English among staff is limited but they made an effort to find someone who spoke English when my Mandarin couldn't support me. Next time I'm in town I'll almost certainly stay again, the value for money is hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sylvia from U.S.A

excellent hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful and the room is nice. The breakfast is very good, chinese breakfast, fruit, soup, hot and cold milk. 11 yuen taxi ride from the train station to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Niklas from Sweden

Good hotell

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotell is conveniently located close to Nanshan Rd which is a nice area by the westlake. The highway is really close and can be a bit noisy. Our room was tidy and we have nothing to complain about. There is indeed a glas wall between the room and bathroom, but a curtain makes is possible to get some privacy. Breakfast was included but as stated by others, it's a chinese breakfast, including white toast, cereal, fruit, coffee etc. but nothing fancy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nicola from Taiyuan

10-minute walk to the Lake

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was comfortable--especially the bed! The internet was super fast! The AC was not very good, and I'm not sure why the bathrooms have a glass wall where the shower is (but there was a curtain). It is very close to Pinghai Lu (a major street). I liked it very much!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Scott from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

No Room Air Conditioning

Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I didn't really read the description of the hotel that much because I assumed a 3.5 star hotel would be reasonably comfortable but I was wrong. There is no air conditioning in the rooms and the room was always around 28 C. When I went to the front desk to inquire why the a/c wasn't working there was no one who spoke english. They had to use a translation website to barely communicate. In the end they told me there was no a/c because the manager keeps it off all the time but maybe they could turn it on for me later. They never did. They brought a fan to the room which didn't help the heat much. The condition of the room was ok but the wall paper was peeling near the baseboards and it was discoloured. One problem encountered was getting a taxi to the hotel from the train station. If you are travelling to Hangzhou by train don't wait for a taxi because they won't take you to the hotel because the distance is relatively short for them and they want to make more money from a longer distance. In the end I had to pay 3 times the amount to convince someone to take us there (5-10 minute ride with traffic). I've stayed at budget hotels like Hanting Hotels that are a more comfortable stay than this and also cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com