Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerry from London

Perfect location, needs uplifting

Posted Jun 26, 2014
A hotel which feels old. Everything works, everything is clean and the staff work exceptionally hard to make it all work but one wonders why it hasn't been refitted, brought up to date. It's a perfect example of a hotel from the 70's, 80's with the design and colour to match. Noisy, struggling air conditioning resulted in room changes and one got the feeling that this was all too familiar to the staff rather than an exception. The situation is fantastic, exquisite with fabulous gardens and onto the lake save the noisy relentless road between the two. The antiquated, inadequate spa and health centre with the airbrushed photos on the website is the most that the management have done to give it an uplift. Great for the buffet lunch but dinner was similarly tired with empty, early closing museum piece restaurants. Rather sad, seems to have been forgotten about by the Shangri La group .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by World traveller from New York

Shopworn but still nice

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first Shangri-la in China, the hotel's rooms and amenities are not up to the newer Shangri-las around China. Nonetheless, the location and views from the higher floors are magnificent. The service tries hard enough but it is tough for them to achieve the extremely high standards of one of the finest hotel chains in the world. The price reflects the condition and is fair so you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shierlly from Surabaya< Indonesia

Great Location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel for the East Wing. West wing is a bit old and doesn't have sofa. I stayed both. Overall is satisfying, except the pricey breakfast and taxi fee. I only pay RMB 12, from Huanglong Stadium to hotel, but when I book through hotel , they charged RMB 30 still + RMB 12 for the meter (Total is RMB 42), same as go to West Bus Station hotel charge RMB 65, meanwhile I only pay RMB 25 if I get the taxi by my own. You can easily stop taxi in front of Hotel, wait a lttle is worth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from California

West Lake

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Very clean.
Cons: Make sure the a/c is working when the weather is warm.
Location: Great location to the lake, easy walk.
Good trip to West Lake and all seemed fine until we opened the door to the room. Current temperatures the day we checked in were 25c - 30c. Very warm for this time of year. The A/C in the room did not work, the system had not changed over from the winter yet and the hotel had no way to correcting this. Tried to open the windows, but because we had a lake view room the noise from the traffic made it very hard to sleep. I think for a 41/2 star hotel, this was unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VL

Nice hotel close to the West Lake.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location and landscaping.
Cons: No.
Location: West Lake.
Location is perfect, and the property is great. Kind of old, but still comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by layla from New York

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by shocked from manila

shocked

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
not at par with Shangri-La standard. service at the horizon club is ok. hotel is outdated and health club is not conveniently located inside the building. totally shocked that a luxury hotel such as Shangri-La would turned off the aircon especially when outside temperature ranging from 23 to 20 deg. cel. its not even winter or freezing cold. very uncomfortable, even if you open the window it does not help at all. very disappointed. will definitely NOT return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Violet

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Judy Zhu from Shanghai

Very nice place with a great view

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hangzhou is famous for the beautiful West Lake. Shangr-la Hotel Hangzhou is in a very good location, closes to the famous Yue Miao Temple and Lin Yin Temple. Our visiting friends enjoyed a very comfortable stay here at Shangri-la and also a fantastic view in Hangzhou.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ReturnToHangzhou from USA

in a busy neighborhood

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is close to all must-see sights. But the BaiShan street in front of the hotel is extremely crowded. Cars, buses, motorcycles... We felt unsafe even on the sidewalks. Other than that, we're happy with the experience.