Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ali Rizvifrom Boston, MA

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
IT is a nice hotel with excellent rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by G. Henegarfrom Wisconsin

Beautiful Hangzhou

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfy hotel but difficult to get back via taxi along the lake. Many taxis but no one stops to pick up. Maybe the hotel should invest in a shuttle van for "on call" pick up. Buffet breakfast was a little lacking for western type serving.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by LDfrom Shanghai, China

Very disappointing

Posted May 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is not near the West Lake as it looked on the map. The staff did not speak any English, which we expected in an "International" hotel and had a difficult time understanding our confirmation and pre-pay situation. It was further from the train station and we had a difficult time getting a cab. The restaurant is not "western and chinese" in my opinion and wasn't even open at 8pm when we arrived. Since there are no decent places to eat near, we went to be hungry. The room was old and very loud. Hotel was not near full but you could hear doors slamming all around and the dogs in the adjacent housing area barked all night. Do not recommend for non-chinese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommanded

Posted Jul 27, 2012
There is no hot water in the room. Room is dirty, bathroom is too old and no maintenance. There is no hot water in the room. There is no hot water in the room. There is no hot water in the room. There is no hot water in the room. There is no hot water in the room. There is no hot water in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jefffrom Minneapolis, MN

West Lake Hillview Hotel stay - second time

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Pros: beautiful surrounding area and fairly quiet
Cons: sometimes difficult to obtain a taxi
Location: Very green, many hills.
The breakfast here is quite good with a variety of Chinese and Western choices at the buffet. The service is prompt and friendly. Spacious rooms with varying views in a fairly quiet area. The exercise area is located in a building next to the main building and is reasonably equipped. The setting is very lush, near two tunnels and within comfortable walking distance from the south portion of West Lake, the Hangzhou Zoo, Silk Museum, Jade Emperor Hill, and the Leifeng Pagoda. During the rush hour it was difficult to get a taxi especially when I stayed there on Children’s Day. Also the taxi drivers seemed to need a little extra instruction on the location of the hotel. However, it is a great base to take walking or bicycling tours of a very scenic area. As is often the case the hotel name in Chinese is not the same as the English translation so having the name in Chinese characters, as usual, is helpful for taking a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted May 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
I've stayed in many hotels around China and this was by far the best hotel I've stayed in... Usually we stay in cheaper hotels, but we've also stayed in a few more expensive ones. All in all, Hillview was awesome and made the rest of my family's stay in China a disappointment because the hotels in the other cities were nothing compared to this one.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom FRANCE

Restaurant Service

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
there was a big problem with the restaurant and services... servers don't speak english, and don't understand us when we asked for the menu; they brang us the BILL!!! When we asked for a tiramisu, they brang us a BROWNIE and in their opinion, it was absolutely normal... Then, it was difficult to have a correct diner!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Disappointed

Posted Oct 18, 2011
We reserved 2 rooms at this hotel. One was in great condition and beautifully appointed. The second one was quite disappointting. The room was much smaller without a separate bathroom as the shower and toilet were in cubicles. Even worse the floor around the shower an toilet was rotted away and this hotel is only a couple of years old! We tried to get another room but we were unable to get it changed. To make matters worse the location was such that most taxis refused to take us to the hotel because of the out of the way location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

West Lake Hillview - beautiful decor

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were upgraded to a really beautiful room, it was in the second building and I would highly recommend staying there. The hotel staff did not speak much English and it was hard communicating with them, this was the hotel's greatest downfall.The hotel has a good restaurant which is quite lucky as its at least a 20 min walk to the lake front where other options are available. Bicycles are available for rent; however, the deposit they require is astronomical.