Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern motel in good location

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Balcony and view
Location: Good access to all facilities in Hamner Springs, famous for hot spa pools Lots of restaurants and bars
Good, clean, well furnished room, with own balcony and great view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tidy clean comfortable rooms great location

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Everything not a bad thing to say. Warm tidy rooms and the staff very friendly.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hanmer isn't big and everything is very close by. A 5minute walk to the hot pools and restaurants straight out the front door.
We arrived and got a friendly welcome. The rooms were fantastic very clean and tidy and very warm. It is in a great location very handy to everything in Hanmer and has a couple of restaurants a stones thrown from the front door of your room. The only down side and it was a small one was the noise of contractors starting work next door at around 8am where there is new mini mall being built. This isn't the st james fault and if you are an early riser its no problem at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Attention to detail room was impeccable.
Cons: Nothing.
Stayed at the st james suite for 3 nights. Lovely place, well located and friendly staff. Everything was meticulously clean and presented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith from Braintree, Essex, UK

Fabulous hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
I think this hotel is number 1 in the whole of New Zealang & I would rate it 6 star if there was such a rating. Brilliant room, good price, every thing there & wanted for nothing Ray the owner, she was excellent. Would book in this hotel again. KJC
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tidy and nice but at a premium and with caveats.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Clean Comfortable bed Great TV
Cons: Price is slightly too high Fine warnings needs to be removed.
My partner and I had a nice stay here, the room was clean, well put together and everything was as expected. Looking out the window is now looking at a public park with pick nick tables which left that side of the view to be desired, however the room was comfortable, TV was good and do not have any complaints about the cleanliness. The reason for the overall 3/5 rating is the signs. There was one particular one in the kitchen which basically said, do not cook or eat any foods in this room which will leave an odor otherwise we will fine you for a professional cleaner and any loss of income. Simply put, this is marketed as a premium motel with a premium price, there is no excuse for not allowing you guests to cook and eat as they chose. A professional cleaner should be on staff. For a motel WITH a kitchen I believe this is extremely unethical and completely put me off going again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Christchurch

Relaxing Atmosphere

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Our weekend away was exactly what the doctor ordered. The owners were friendly, helpful and very obliging. Thank you to the St James for making our time at your motel a wonderful relaxing atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Simon from Auckland

Beautiful views in the centre of Hanmer

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
This is an exceptional boutique hotel (technically a motel due to the layout), but it is excellently positioned, with beautiful views, well equipped and recently built (so everything feels new). My only comments were that the site behind is currently being built for new shops, so the view from the back isn't great (although it will be very useful when complete) and also the pillows were a little firm and large for our personal neck preference. But that is being very picky. Overall is is great value for a fantastic view of the snow capped mountains in premium accommodation.
4 out of 5
by Paul Beswick from New Zealand - Canterbury

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, walking distance to everything in Hanmer.
Cons: A tad over priced I thought
Location: Outstanding
Facilities: Nice ; Value: Costly; Service: Professional; Cleanliness: Lovely;
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shelley from Nelson

St James at the St James

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels
A very well appointed Motel with lovely friendly staff and an excellent name
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mudgee, Australia

Stunning views

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Fantastic views of the mountains from our balcony. Heaps of great eateries within a few minutes walk of the room. Underfloor heating.... Mmmmmmm
Cons: A couch, to relax while watching TV, rather than using the bed.
Location: Clean air, comfortable temperatures and stacks of outdoor activities. Heritage forest for running, cycling or walking. Hot pools to soak in.
Received a warm welcome with great local knowledge and advice. Pool towels provided even after we had checked out. Made the rest of the morning soaking in the hot pools easier with not having to carry wet gear home.