Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PDF from UK

What a great little find

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very Nice hotel Ideal for the railway station and finding good food and beer.Rooms very comfortable We liked the fact that within 30 mins from the Hoteklwe could via the train be at the Hannover Messe and within 40 mins again via the train we could be at the Airport, all for very little money.We will be staying here again when in Hannover. If you like Indian food one of the best Indian eating houses "The Taj Mahal" is literally 100 metyres away just under the bridge (across the railway line).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big old hotel in a good location

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Rooms are really spacious with high ceilings and big bathrooms. Great location being close to the main station with connections to airport
Cons: small bar area was very smokey.
Stayed one night as a stopover during a business trip through Germany and Italy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fwecker from Champaign, IL

Very nice hotel in a great location!

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in a junior suite for one night. Reception staff was very welcoming, and helpful. The room itself was launch, even by American standards. Since the hotel was located right downtown, and not far from the train station, it got a little bit noisy with the windows open. But that goes with the turf in Germany, as locations nearby train stations tend to be having quite a bit of (unwelcome, at times) activities. But other than that, there is not much else in the hotel can do to eliminate any external disruption. The only bad spot during my stay was that the restaurant staff could've been a little bit more welcoming during breakfast. Other than that, no problem whatsoever. I have read some lukewarm to bad reviews on this site, but from my experience, none of it applied. I would definitely consider staying there again if I have to go back to Hannover.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Overpriced, lack of facilities, good location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We had two rooms at the Grand Palace as we were exhibiting at Hannover Messe. We were charged €350 per room per night for a 5 night stay. At that price I was expecting more. The rooms were fairly large, but the aircon didn't work meaning it was 25 degrees in the room, too hot to sleep properly. The pillows were large lumps if sponge and were uncomfortable. The bar was tiny, and they allowed smoking. We were greeted by a dug, and could not sit in there. There was not another lounge to go to so we sat on a chair next to the door. The staff were fine, and the location is good. If we had paid €100 per night I would not have minded so much. The hotel is not Grand is definitely not a Palace
2 out of 5
by Neil from London

Not a happy bear in this hotel, at all

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: The only positive thing about this hotel are the kitchen / waitering staff at breakfast.... Friendly and always attentive.
Cons: Everything - as written in the 'experience box' above!
All the negative things you read about this hotel is true. I should have seen the warning bells when the payment for my stay was taken from my account three weeks before arrving - even thought Expedia's website informed me that payment would happen at check-out. After having informed the Hotel of my early arrival and being provided with written confirmation, I arrived, only to be told my room's not ready. The Check-in Clerk was also extremely rude and unhelpful. The hotel has a very odd smell to it - and even though I had stayed for three nights, I still was not used to it when I checked out. While the breakfast is adequate, it does not compare favourable to other 4 star hotels I stay in for business. The 'so-called' free mini-bar includes two small bottels of soft drink, two small bottles of fruit juice and a small bottle of water. Which does not get replenished for the duration of your stay. Would I stay there again - definately not. This is more like a two star hotel, but with a huge push I would give it three. Four stars- NEVER!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice but dated

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
You definitely cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is located near the Hbf and walking distance from several restaurants and train stops. From the pictures, I was expecting to walk into this grand hotel, but in actuality the interior is small and dated. Each room has high ceilings, which was nice, but the entire inside of the hotel smells like musty cigarette smoke. As a non-smoker, I was not a fan of this. As mentioned in other reviews, each room also has it's own thermostat (and they say air conditioning) that doesn't seem to be functioning. My room was HOT! It became this game for how long does the window need to be open until the room was too cold again. I am a business traveler who is often in hotels for prolonged periods of time, for this reason, by far my favorite feature of this hotel was the housekeeping. I often don't require daily room cleaning, so the housekeeping would leave me undisturbed. They simply put a bag with fresh towels and soap outside my door. It was great! Overall not the best, but not the worst either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexandra from Oxford, UK

Great for an overnight stop over

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very good (but not quite excellent). I arrived early evening ad check in was quick an easy. They don't particularly advertise the restaurant, but I had an AMAZING rump steak and was a huge large portions; I only managed about half. The price was extremely reasonable at €20 or so. The room was clean and comfortable, I think they even upgraded me to a double as I had booked a single. My only gripe was the parking. I had particularly chosen the hotel as it was advertised with parking. I saw what I thought was the carpark through an arch, behind the hotel, but it wasn't clear if I could park there - it seemed to be singed for railway users only. After check in I was advised that I could only use the street parking at the front of the hotel. This was free until 9am, which was particularly annoying as I didn't have to leave until 10am. I think they should advertise their parking policy more clearly to avoid this confusion. I would stay here again if I didn't have a car, or I would book parking in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sherif

Good location and fine room

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Good lication within a short duatance walk to the banhof.....only problem is that i had a very weak internet connection...i literally had to stand behind the room door to get a connection..on the other hand the minibar was not refilled and my face towel disappeared the second day...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Klaudia from Poland

Central Hannover Location

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very satisified. Good location and very comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dedin from Middlesex

Clean, comfortable and good location

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: good location, not far from the main station.
Cons: the duvet, instead of having 2 single duvet on a double bed, they should have just ONE double.
the room was clean, comfortable, the staff was friendly. Good breakfast. will visit again.