Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Canada

Near everything

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Best part are the staff. They were fantastic. Always helpful and with a smile.
Cons: Needs updating of walls (paint job) and more lighting. With a reno job it could possibly get a better star rating.
Location: Great location, near mostly everything.
Great staff of people in this hotel, although the place itself is a little run down. Not enough lighting in the bathroom. Breakfast next door was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Philippines

GOOD LOCATION, WONDERFUL STAFF

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The ladies and gentleman behind the desk are wonderful. The location is excellent and its a pretty and cozy little hotel.
Cons: Get their bookings straight... and maybe, don't overcook the eggs.
Location: This hotel's location is it is in a quieter area of the Old Quarter. The streets here are quiet at night... and it's close to nearly everything.
For the price we paid, Artisan Boutique was an excellent choice. Our only real complaint was that they kept putting us in other hotels. Tho we knew that there was a sister hotel nearby, we specifically chose Artisan Boutique. But when we arrived at 2 in the morning, tired from the flight, they put us in a Artisan Lakeview in cheaper rooms that the ones we booked and paid for. This was extremely disappointing, and we did inform them that we would arrive very early in the morning. They moved us back to Boutique the next day, but the repacking and moving was a hassle. Then we got back from a trip to Hue, the same thing happened. We were moved to a hotel a few streets down. Admittedly, the rooms we got this time were bigger and it was a newer hotel, but again, we had to go through the hassle of repacking and moving back to Artisan Boutique the next day. The hotel staff moved our suitcases for us though. But other than that, it's a lovely, cozy little hotel in a nicely quiet part of the Old Quarter, so close to all sorts of restaurants and shops and the pretty Hoan Kiem Lake. The rooms are nicely comfortable and well-appointed. The staff was especially wonderful, extremely pleasant and so very helpful. Sophia especially was a joy to have around. My hats off to Duc, who good-naturedly took the tirade I gave him at 2 am when we first got in and were given the wrong rooms. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kris from Highton VIC, Australia

Small hotel in a great position

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Position
Cons: Lift was broken and our room was on 4th floor
Location: In a small street in old quarter very central to restaurants shopping and lake.
This small hotel is in a great position close to the lake and shopping and the water puppets. The street is active but not noisy. Breakfast is served in the restaurant a few doors down with room service if requested. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but nice hotel to stay

Posted May 14, 2013
nearby by the lake and shopping center, quite and nice place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian & Sue from UK

Great little boutique hotel.

Posted May 8, 2013
Pros: Laptop in your room
Very friendly local staff who were enthusiastic and welcoming. Excellent location in a quiet street right next to the Old Quarter. All the amenities you might need, including a laptop with wifi connection in your room. The inclusive breakfast was taken in the Artisan Cafe next door and included the famous Pho Bo (noodles and beef) on the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joe

Best location & Excellent Services

Posted Jan 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
located on a quiet street but near everything in the old quarter. Staff and services are great. Breakfast is simple but delightful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Perfect location, great service, great price!

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Can't argue with the price, location, service and amenities so this hotel! The service at the hotel was excellent - really can't say anything but good things about all the staff. We were given a lovely fruit platter and some snacks to welcome us, which was pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not an honest hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Recently stayed at this hotel for a night before and after a trip to halong bay. Our initial opinion of this hotel was that it was resonable for a short stay. The hotel is in a good location, with a couple of nice restaurants & the lake nearby. The rooms and bathroom are adequate and clean and tidy. Breakfast was standard for Vietnam. Due to the noise from construction across the road our first night was a sleepless one. On return from our trip to halong we explained this problem & the friendly & helpful lady working in reception immediately moved us to a higher room, which was much quieter. It wasn't until we asked to the hotel to book us a taxi to the airport that we had problems. We were told by staff that it would cost $18. This sounded expensive to us so we rechecked with them 3 times only to be reassured that was the price. The next morning at 6.30 we went downstairs for checkout to find the staff asleep across the lobby floor. When they finally woke to help us we were given a bill for the night (which we had already paid for) and for the $18 for the taxi. By instinct we told them we would be paying the taxi driver & not them. When the taxi arrived & we got in the car we found a big sign on the window saying taxi fares to the airport were capped at $9. At this point we also saw the man from reception exchanging money with the taxi driver in the rear view mirror. When we questioned the matter the man from the hotel sheepishly went inside & we were left to argue the fare with the taxi driver. Although there are lots of ppl who will misinform you on holiday you expect your hotel to be the one place you can trust. If you want honest advice on your holiday I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nebraska USA

Great Stay

Posted Feb 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
Under new ownership, staff is very responsive to any needs. Left my coat in lobby when checking out and they sent one of the bell men after the taxi to catch us with my coat on a motorcycle. Would stay there again when traveling through Vietnam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room is dirty, especially floor