Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illawarra, NSW

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: Close to the Old Quarter, Water Puppets and right next to the prison.
We had a two room apartment for our 5 night stay. The room was spacious, modern and very quiet. The Somerset was within easy walking distance of a number of attractions including the Old Quarter and the lake. The staff at the Somerset were very friendly and efficient. There was a large pool and modern gym in the hotel. There were number of nice restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing staff

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The rooms/building are slightly dated, lifts take a good while to arrive and get to the floor you want. Staff are incredibly accommodating, nothing is too much to ask and they are always smiling. Would stay again because of that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharee from NZ

Great place

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Great staff, nice clean facilities. The breakfast had amazing variety. We were traveling with kids so the pool table and table tennis facilities were well used. The playground was an added benefit for our 4 year old. The Somerset was a great oasis when we needed to escape the heat and chaos of the city with 3 children!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Doncaster

Great base to see Hanoi

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The staff cannot do enough for you. Reception, cleaner, gym staff, waiting and bar staff, security..... nothing is too much trouble.
Cons: Keep the windows in the corridor on the 14th floor, probably others too. They only let the daytime heat and humidity in.
Location: Great location, perfect for sightseeing and shopping. There is a very good supermarket in the hotel which is a lifesaver.
The trip to Vietnam was exceptional due to the fantastic hotel, Somerset Grand. The Vietnamese are the most patient and obliging you'll ever meet. Despite the economical differences, everyone we met were friendly and courteous. You can't help but imitating their behaviour, even the less amicable of our group was blown away by the culture. The hotel is in the business centre of Hanoi, but perfectly placed for visitors. We walked to the Old Town easily enough and taxis are cheap enough for trips further afield. One tip is to take a map and show the driver where you want to be. Ask for the price first and stick to it. Better still is to ask the hotel to call a cab from the rank outside. I suspect they are less likely to "lift you leg" since it's a pivilidge to have addition outside such a highly rated hotel. There will always be a few matters that aren't quite what they are at home, but that's the beauty of travelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the city

Posted May 6, 2014
Spacious central hotel/apartment. Great if you want amenties like a kitchen and washing facilities in your room. The shops downstairs mean you don't have to go out on the street if you don't want to. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S H Khew from Singapore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bee from Brisbane

Good apartment with excellent restaurant

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: The restaurant downstairs, and having a washer/dryer.
Cons: More seating in the lounge area. It wasn't enough for 4 adults in the 2-bed apartment.
Location: Approx. 10 minute walk from old quarter market area (a must do).
We stayed in a 2-bed apartment. The lounge area was small, but overall functional for our 2 night stay. Great to have full kitchen with washer/dryer. We ate at Jaspers (their restaurant) and the food was fabulous. Breakfast was good too with plenty of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sam from Singapore

Great Hotel and service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable with a group of friends (or family) for gathering to stay. The breakfast is very good and great location. Is very worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tan from SGP

Value for money

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious apartment , clean and well serviced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice apartment staff are friendly and helpful.

Posted Dec 22, 2013