Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan from Ho Chi Minh city

Too close to the Cathedral for us, great service!

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked specifically because it is in the Old Quarter near the church, unknowingly that the church rings the VERY loud bells all night long, Peter nd his staff were great and very helpful he said we would get use to it but unfortunately we did not so after 3 nights of no sleep we moved to a different hotel, too bad about the bells everything else was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was booked into the Splendid Star Grand Hotel in June 2013, but when I arrived they said that my room was taken as the previous occupant was poorly and so was staying on so they moved me to the sister hotel next door. They said that they had upgraded me but to be honest the sister hotel was a bit older (and more knackered looking) than the one I had booked. When I protested several times saying I wanted to stay in the hotel I had booked - they said it was full. The first room they put me in had a broken shower so I had to go and complain and asked to be moved where they moved me to another room, which was ok. I guess you get what you pay for. The location was great as it was right in the thick of it, and it overlooked (kind of - if you have a high floored room) the cathedral which was a good thing as it is really central but it also not that great as the bells chime every 15 mins but I think everywhere in Hanoi is noisy so you have to get over it. It is on back alleyway amongst other similar hotels, but in a safe area with a few nice backstreet restaurants. Overall - not bad for what I paid I suppose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great value for money!”

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
would highly recommend a stay at splendid star. We were there for 1 nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect as you can walk to all the good sightseeing locations in town. They also serve a full breakfast each morning. You can't find better value for your money than here. I would certainly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by woman from Montréal, QC, Canada

not what was expected

Posted May 10, 2013
Cons: dark street at night
Location: old Hanoi, small street, no car
hotel in reorganisation they have 4 locations and never know where you will be rénovations going on, some rooms OK others very poor quality electricity and internet are not always sure but staff is nice, price is really cheap and breakfast are OK no car on the street, have to walk with your luggage
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jo from Perth

FANTASTIC SERVICE

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have just stayed at this hotel with my husband and two children aged 11 and 12. The location, service,and amenities were great. Have to say Martin the manager went out of his way to make our stay there terrific. Will definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent value hotel

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Super, in old quarter
Staff extremely helpful. Quiet location but within easy reach of restaurants approx 2 mins walk away. Excellent value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Pe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Russell from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Family of 5

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Missing bananas. Lol
Location: In the old quarter close to St Josephs Cathedral.
Stayed here with my family and enjoyed it. Martin joked around a lot with the kids and was very helpful in every way. Breakfast was good and you could order as much as you wanted. Sometimes the banana pancake didnt have bananas but apart from that everything was fine at this hotel. If you need to go to hanoi then stay at this hotel as yo wont get better service but as far as cities go you will find the people are freindlier in most other cities in Vietnam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Teisha and Scott

Central, very helpful staff and clean

Posted Feb 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I stayed here in February 2013. When we arrived we were given drinks and fruit in the foyer. They gave us a map, which pointed out our hotel, all the important tourist sites, popular restuarants and markets and suggested some places to go. They also let us check in VERY early (5am in the morning) when we arrived and upgraded us to a free room at no extra cost. They were also a great help with taxi's, helped us pick which taxi's, organised transfers to and from the airport and helped us negotiate a good price before we left. The food was great and it's in easy walking distance from the Hoan Kiem Lake and lots of tourist places and good food! Very happy, we would stay here again:)