Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chieftan Inn - Hanover, NH

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels
The only reasons for choosing this hotel was that it was close to Dartmouth College and reasonably priced. I'd describe this place as something between a 'hunting lodge' and a 'love shack'. I went in for the free breakfast, but did not eat. I lost my appetite when I opened the jar of raspberry jam - and it was covered with mold. The one nice feature was that they had Direct TV in the room. Plus, my room was close enough to the main lodge that I could use its Wi-Fi. Next time, I will pay more money for a nicer hotel in downtown Hanover (NH) - or, drive further away and stay at a 'name brand' hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by LT from Atlanta, GA, USA

A little old, but that's alright.

Posted Mar 29, 2012
Pros: Riverfront. Great view.
Cons: A little rundown.
Location: Just north of Hanover on the Connecticut River.
A little bit rundown, but a nice place. Clean rooms. Great view. Friendly staff. Convenient to Hanover.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denice from Ithaca, NY, USA

Okay

Posted Feb 25, 2012
Pros: The setting on the river and rustic decor.
Cons: No way to solve lack of heat problem since no staff available via phone or otherwise.
Location: beautiful, convenient.
We were a bit cold and found no answer for our calls for advise as to how to get heat working better. However, the view and setting delightful. In warmer season, we will return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

FIRST AND ONLY VISIT

Posted Feb 21, 2012
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: UNCHANGED SHEETS, EMPTY PIZZA BOX IN THE FRIDGE.
EMPTY PIZZA BOX IN THE FRIDGE, BED SHEETS WERE DIRTY, THE MAN ON THE DESK CAME IN A CHANGED THEM BUTSTILL . I DID NOT SHOWER THE NEXT DAY BECAUSE THE BATHROOM PROBABLY WAN'S CLEANED PROPERTY EITHER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Basic but Very Pleasant

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Chieftan Motor Inn is basic, no frills but pleasant and affordable relative to the other hotels/inns in the area. The bed was very comfortable, which was nice since I have a very sensitive back. Has a beautiful view overlooking the river. Staff are very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Comfy, no WiFi in room

Posted Oct 18, 2011 on Hotels
People are friendly as this is a small motel. Nothing fancy - rooms were wood paneled and comfy if dated. WiFi works good in Living Room or Dinning room but did not work in guest room. If WiFi in the room is important to you, pass this one up. Also, I did not have good mobile phone service in this area (AT&T).
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good for the Hanover area

Posted Oct 11, 2011 on Hotels
When we pulled into the parking lot of this hotel, we were a little worried. it looks worse than it really is. From the outside, it appears dingy and deserted. And even though it is isolated from the rest of Hanover and it has seen better days, the rooms are not as bad as your might think. Clean and comfortable, the room here gives new meaning to "wood paneling" and has a very "cabin" feel. The decor was dated and a little dingy and the room had a funky "musky" smell but over-all, it was clean and a good place to use as a central base. Our room had a front and back door -- the back door led out to the pool and recreation area. It was quite gloomy when we were there in October so I'm assuming the riverside location would be fantastic on a sunny day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Cincinnati

great "OLD TIME MOTEL"

Posted Sep 26, 2011
Reminded me of the motels of the Fifties that we use to go to when I was young. Very clean and comfortable and in a great location. If you want the lux of today not your best choice, but for everything else good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2011 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Posted Sep 21, 2011 on Hotels
Nice view and landscaping, Convenient location. Urgently needs updating-doors need to be fitted,heating has to work,paint is peeling. Turnover at the breakfast were several days old.