Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karl from NYC

Found a new favorite chain

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a great experience at this hotel. Nice little touches - fresh flower in room, fruit and snacks... really nice job of good customer service. room was large and well located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

outstanding service great hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
brilliant lcoation and all the hotel staff spoke great english. would definitely stay here again if I went back to Harbin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gail

Harbin Ice Festival and Hotels

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The Ice bar and restaurant and the friendly and helpful staff...Head of catering went out of her way to understand and accommodate our western taste.
Cons: Hhmmm, no.
We chose this hotel as it appeared to be close to the winter river activities and Ice festival. In fact it proved to be isolated from the winter action. Most activities surrounded the Russian quarter and finding taxis back to the hotel proved to be a challenge at peak hours for a family of four. However having said that the Hotel staff and facilities were great despite the rooms being rather compact.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well presented hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good stay. Lucky I chose such a fine hotel on my first trip to harbin as I was banned from leaving the hotel by my employer when the smog eclipsed the WHO upper level for safe air by 40 (forty) and visibility was down to 5 or less metres. It was no hardship being trapped in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mia from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel, great service

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Shangri-la must be one of the nicest hotels in Harbin. Gorgeous interior; comfortable, clean and spacious rooms; excellent service, if a bit smothering at times. For westerners looking for a luxurious "home base" while in Harbin with all of the amenities that they're accustomed to back in Europe or the U.S., this is definitely the place to go. Right next to Zhongyang Dajie, where all of the old Russian architecture and cobbled streets are, and of course in the same area as Sun Island and the flood memorial. I had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel from NYC

Great Hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent staff, great room and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robin from Boston

Welcome relief

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a nice change of pace to stay here. The hotel was very nice and the rooms comfortable beds after a long day of business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David

Ice Palace

Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is convenient to the Ice and Snow Festival and other places of interest. While it is dated, it is a very well managed. The service was excellent at every point of contact. Their Ice Bar and Ice Palace was a unique experience. If you are traveling to Harbin during the festival and want to dine at the Ice Palace, make a reservation in advance. There are only a couple of tables and it was completely booked during our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Florida, USA

Excellent Hotel in Far North of China

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Excellent hotel and staff. Not up to standard of Shangri-La Singapore for instance but this was Harbin! Food excellent and plentiful, room adequate and immaculately clean. Only real criticism would be lack of adequate sundries shop: we would have loved to buy books on Harbin and the Ice and Snow Festival, but nothing available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

An Excellent NON-International 5 Star Hotel (see my review #7)

Posted Feb 15, 2011
Let me cut to the Chase. . . 1) Hotel Airport Pick-up for two - Good! 2) Hotel Check-In in Room - Good! 4) Hotel help with Lost Luggage - Terrible! Wanted to charge us $700.CNY for just helping with locating the luggage. Was told several times in the next 48hrs by many different staff members, with very very little english, that they found it, didn't find it yet, found it, didn't find found it, it's on the next flight out, No, I'm sorry it's the next flight out, no, no, I'm sorry it's the next flight. They were lying right up to the Manager of the Shangri-La Hotel. What a shame. 5) Information when requested, Terrible! I was not sure if breakfast was included with the Hotel Room Rate so when we first arrived I asked if breakfast was included with the rate, they replied your rate is for two people and you'd have to pay for your daughters meals. We said sure, no problem. They charged us for all three breakfasts each of the five days we were there. Very Very upsetting. 6) Booking Tour Guide, Terrible! We called Hotel Guest Relations and spoke with "Crystal" a week before we arrived to confirm tour-guide services with the Hotel for $400.CNY per day. She reserved a Shangri-La Hotel tour-guide (3 days) for us with a gentleman named Hurbert. We show up in the morning to meet our wonderful guide and we are told we have no reservations and Crystal and Hurbert are off for a holiday. 7) Spoken English: Next to None! Should Not Be Called an International Hotel. nomorespacetocontinue.