Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Older and clean.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This hotel is very nice. Historical. The rooms could be updated a bit, but overall very clean and pleasing. The only complaint I have is the parking. The adds all say that there is valet parking, BUT there is not. There is a parking ramp across the street but as a woman I would not want to park there without someone going with me. There is no attendant.
3 out of 5
by Katie from Lancaster, PA

Not up to our expectations.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Restaurant, staff.
Cons: Upgrade beds.
Location: In the heart of the city, which was the point of staying there.
The Restaurant Staff and Front Desk agents were all very nice. Food was good. The hotel was very outdated. I understand it's an older hotel and the history behind the hotel it is a great story. However, upgrading TV's and beds will not take the "historic" out of the hotel. The King room we stayed in was not a good room layout. No TV in the bedroom, bed was rock hard. We will most likely go back to the restaurant, however, will not be staying over anytime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bre from Windsor, PA

Would Stay Again! Great Hotel!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was really beautiful inside. It had a lot of old charm. The room was very large and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ken from Seattle

Lovely historic building surprisingly affordable

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well appointed rooms, friendly staff, handy downtown location and really wonderful and inventive food at the Off Center Grille. The chef even came out to ask how we liked it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jav from Hollis, ny

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was not what I expected. Rooms were not clean. Carpet, towels really needs to be changed. Drapes need to be cleaned! I can go on.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately, not so thrilled.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Unfortunately, we are being compensated by the general manager for our inconvenience. He said he will go through expedia through the accounting department to get our money back. The hotel staff never stands at the desk and does not have a bell to ding when you need the . No one at the desk seems knowledgeable about anything. When I went back to my room, the cleaning staff was there. I told them I needed my room for a second, they continued cleaning, as I stood there awkwardly. It wasn't until two minutes later, when they said ''oh, did you want us to leave?'' When they actually gave me some privacy in my room. Worst of all, when my fiancé and I returned Saturday night to our room, we noticed a red stain on our comforter...disgusting! When my fiancé called to tell the desk and ask for a new comforter, the guy at the desk said we needed to come down and get one since there was no one to bring it to us. When he went down, they guy said, ''give me five minutes, I'll personally bring one up to you''. After all that, we didn't need to go down to get a new clean comforter. However, the hotel is fully making up for our inconveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JAZ from Washington DC

Venerable old hotel showing it's age

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
My stay was fine, nothing to complain about except perhaps the hotel staff was sometimes not in a good mood. The hotel is showing its age and probably not worth the price it charges but it's comfortable enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tracey from Louisville

Ok but a Little Run-Down

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were in town for a wedding and the reception was here. We stayed 2 nights. The lobby, reception rooms, and the main restaurant have old-world charm but the rooms are pretty tired. Ours had stains along the wallpaper seams and it was peeling a little. The rooms have an L-shaped configuration and are a little cramped; some are better than others. Our friend's next door was much bigger but others staying for the wedding had rooms without drapes! The bed was a little soft for me but I know that is personal taste. The bathroom was quite small and our toilet was broken on arrival. They fixed it quickly but it never flushed easily. The shower had lots of hot water and good pressure and the tub was large but the bottom looked grubby. Staff was mixed. The bartender downstairs was great (though the bar itself was a joke, very small, poor selection, in an unappealing room). Breakfast service on the first day was efficient (but impossible to get refills) but not friendly; on the second day, when they were busy it was awful. The restaurant supervisor who served us scowled the whole time and it took 45 minutes to get our food! No one ever checked to see if it was ok or if we wanted more coffee. The reception was well done and staff was friendly and competent. For what we paid for this hotel it was fine but we wouldn't go out of our way to come back.