Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montgomery, alabama

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, price, and atmosphere
Location: The hotel was right in the middle of downtown York with many restuarant options and cafes.
Hotel was very nice and the location was great. We ate breakfast at the hotel cafe and it was excellent. We also enjoyed a coffee and dessert at the hotel restuarant and it was amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the price was reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom harrisburg

Great City Center Location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Location and old world charm plus good attentive staff
Cons: nothing much
Location: very central downtown location
If you are looking for a great city center location when visiting York then look no further than The Yorktowne Hotel. In addition the hotel has the charm and grace from a different time. I would be more than happy to stay there once more when attending a concert or a play at the Strand Capitol Theater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Older and clean.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This hotel is very nice. Historical. The rooms could be updated a bit, but overall very clean and pleasing. The only complaint I have is the parking. The adds all say that there is valet parking, BUT there is not. There is a parking ramp across the street but as a woman I would not want to park there without someone going with me. There is no attendant.
3 out of 5
by Katiefrom Lancaster, PA

Not up to our expectations.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Restaurant, staff.
Cons: Upgrade beds.
Location: In the heart of the city, which was the point of staying there.
The Restaurant Staff and Front Desk agents were all very nice. Food was good. The hotel was very outdated. I understand it's an older hotel and the history behind the hotel it is a great story. However, upgrading TV's and beds will not take the "historic" out of the hotel. The King room we stayed in was not a good room layout. No TV in the bedroom, bed was rock hard. We will most likely go back to the restaurant, however, will not be staying over anytime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brefrom Windsor, PA

Would Stay Again! Great Hotel!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was really beautiful inside. It had a lot of old charm. The room was very large and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kenfrom Seattle

Lovely historic building surprisingly affordable

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Well appointed rooms, friendly staff, handy downtown location and really wonderful and inventive food at the Off Center Grille. The chef even came out to ask how we liked it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Javfrom Hollis, ny

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was not what I expected. Rooms were not clean. Carpet, towels really needs to be changed. Drapes need to be cleaned! I can go on.......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately, not so thrilled.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Unfortunately, we are being compensated by the general manager for our inconvenience. He said he will go through expedia through the accounting department to get our money back. The hotel staff never stands at the desk and does not have a bell to ding when you need the . No one at the desk seems knowledgeable about anything. When I went back to my room, the cleaning staff was there. I told them I needed my room for a second, they continued cleaning, as I stood there awkwardly. It wasn't until two minutes later, when they said ''oh, did you want us to leave?'' When they actually gave me some privacy in my room. Worst of all, when my fiancé and I returned Saturday night to our room, we noticed a red stain on our comforter...disgusting! When my fiancé called to tell the desk and ask for a new comforter, the guy at the desk said we needed to come down and get one since there was no one to bring it to us. When he went down, they guy said, ''give me five minutes, I'll personally bring one up to you''. After all that, we didn't need to go down to get a new clean comforter. However, the hotel is fully making up for our inconveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable hotel.

Posted Dec 14, 2013