Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Very nice, close to downtown York

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Amenities, friendliness of staff, proximity to downtown, heated indoor pool
Cons: Signage off Rt 30 needs to be better for people who have never been here before, or who are coming in at night.
Stayed here for an event we were attending in York. This was only about a 5 minute drive to the Strand Capitol Theater. It is a bit confusing to get here off the main road, just turn in where the Motel 6 is and wind through the parking lot. Actually it was A LOT confusing getting here off the main road, frustrating and we drove in a circle through very heavy afternoon traffic for nearly 20 minutes trying to get in. We did not partake in the breakfast, but the set up seemed to be very nice and expansive. We did use the indoor pool and hottub which were very nice. The pool is heated and it was a nice April treat to be able to go swimming. The bed was super comfortable, and the staff was pleasant. THe room had a fridge and a microwave, which I found helpful. They also have a gym (didn't use but appeared to have a nice selection of equipment), a business center (didn't use but appeared to have some computers and a printer), and a little store where you could buy things (didn't use, but appeared to have soda and snacks and emergency toiletries). They also had a tray of fruit and some lemon water in the reception area when we checked in. All in all, this was a very nice hotel for our 1-night needs. It was close to the things we wanted to do and the places we wanted to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Nice hotel near downtown York, PA.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
The hotel room was big. Super comfortable bed and a large bathroom. Plenty of closet space. The only issue I had was the constant humming noise, probably because the room was directly located over the indoor pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Warrenfrom San Diego

Nice place to stay the night.

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a nice place to stay. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stevefrom SJersey

WG - York, PA

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Desk chairs are too low. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carriefrom Washington, DC

Not too Shabby

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in town for an overnight visit with family over Thanksgiving. This was our first stay at the Wingate. We found it to be very comfortable and clean. The staff and the lodgings were more than expected.The added bonus was the indoor pool and spa... Not too shabby:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Rehoboth Beach, DE

Great place for a reasonable cost

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is off an access road that is near a busy crossroads. It can be easily accessible or a bit tricky depending on which direction you are coming from. The lobby area is adjacent to where the complementary breakfast is served. Elevators are a little slow. But our room was clean and looked newly refurbished. In fact, the entire hotel seemed very fresh and well cared for. The nearby roads are busy and seemed somewhat noisy, but once the curtains were closed it was fine. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. A nice touch is free coffee, tea and hot chocolate, fresh fruit (apples and bananas), and homemade cookies. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda Afrom Dover, DE

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was great with alot of choices. The only thing I didn't like was you could hear people in the next room running water and flushing toilet. Hotel was clean and I loved that the blankets were covered in sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jillfrom Bushkill, PA

a great stay

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was exrtremely impressed at the cleanliness of my room and bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was much more than expected-I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, current and clean. Just what we needed for a nice weekend stay. Breakfast was good and had hot and cold foods available. The staff was friendly.