Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Family Vacation

Posted Apr 20, 2015
El Buen Cafe is a family run hotel and restaurant. I have been staying here over the past 15 years or so. I've seen lots of changes over the years. Some good and some bad, but for the most part on this visits things were improved. Has some minor issues with the shower head and sink and they were corrected the next day. Only minor issue was lack of washcloths on some days and inconsistent hot water. Other then that no complaints. House keeping does a nice job and keeps rooms clean. Wait staff is decent. Some speak more English then others, but pretty much understand. I've stayed at the big resorts, but prefer the smaller hotels like this one. El Buen Cafe is in good location right on the #2 road.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Missing items

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Add everything I mentioned in my experience.
Location: Good location and very little to do.
No clock, radio, coffee maker, had to get ice from a bucket. No breakfast. Very little parking space. Hair blower stops working after two minutes. No iron.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that good

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The bathroom was really dirty and there was a bug in the bed. Also the bed looked really dirty and you could hear/smell everything from the next room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel with large price

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pass on by stay else where place is cheap no ice machine and empty snack machine.The cafeteria y across the st and the prices are way expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Elkton, MD

best choice if you want to explore Karst

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Location: hiking, cave exploring, the Mascaras Festival, Areciebo observatory, some beach areas
The Camuy/karst area of Puerto Rico is home to majestic caves, spectacular hiking and essentially no tourist infrastructure. This hotel is a solid, clean, place to stay with an attached restaurant/diner with excellent, stick to your ribs food. We used this hotel as a base of operations over a five day period to stay in the area to see the Areceibo observatory, some Eco-adventures, and alot of great day hikes. It is a small hotel that has the feel of a one of the better run Red Roof Inns one will find on the main land, and the restaurant is a whole lot better than that. Since it is really the only option in the region and is clean and well run, I will give it a strong recommendation. However, just keep in mind that it is not the Hilton either.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheyenne, WY

Close to attractions in the NW part of Puerto Rico

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Hair dryer,pool,ice machine,refrigerator in room.Restaurant ,cafeteria,bakery across the street which served local cuisine at local prices.
Location: Close to Arecibo Observatory, Camuy Caverns, Caguanas Taino park, Isabela.
Staff very friendly. Very helpful and knowledgeable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Only 15 min. away, go to Hyatt Place in Manati instead!

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looked fine until we got to the room. Ugh. Sheets so thin you could see through them, and pillows flat as a pancake. But, for one night we managed. Unable to put valuables in room safe, because it uses a key. Seriously? Who would use that with a master key floating around? However, when we decided to stay in the area another night, we could not bring ourselves to book 2nd night. Stayed at the Hyatt Place in Manati, only 15 minutes away on PR-22. Wow! What a difference, like night and day, and for just $29 more a night, free breakfast is included!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Cleanliness and freshness major accomplishment. A/C works fine but blows across me - not comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

Only Hotel in that geographical area.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The coffee shop was just across the road and the pasties and coffee were very good.
Cons: Clarify the location of the actual hotel. Place an iron and a board in each room. Have the staff train not to talk irrelevant information.
Location: Two typical Puertorican restaurants were very close. The main freeway from San Juan ended a few kilometers away and made the location a good rest stop
The hotel is conveniently located just off the freeway. The cafe shop with the same name is across the street and appears as if the hotel was close after they close the cafe, their is no clear indications as of where the actual hotel is at. The entrance to the hotel is through a residential area and the parking lot appears as an abandoned lot. The staff was overly lay-back. The room door locks were as the one you will found in the interior of a house, not in a hotel. The room appeared to be clean but did not have blankets only a thin bed sheet covered with a bed cover. The telephone line was out of service. The room did not have its own iron or iron board. The only soap or shampoo in the bathroom was in a liquid dispenser in the shower. Overall the room looks clean, the air conditioning unit was good, TV was good, the water was hot.