Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Loulabellfrom Gloucestershire

Disappointed

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have eaten at the hotel on a few occasions previously and have been impressed, however never stayed. On arriving the staff were very accommodating and showed us to our room which looked clean, however there was cobwebs on the lamp shades and the the room looked tired, part of the shower door fell on my daughter when she got in the shower and there was damp on the wall. The towel had black mascara stains still on although it had been washed. The breakfast on the first morning was as if we had walked into a scene on Fawlty Towers. The waitress was advised of our prescence by another table,We had cereal and bowls but no milk or spoons, we were then asked if we would like anything else, but we hadn't actually had anything yet. We were supposed to have toast which didn't appear and when it did there was no butter and we had to ask for it, which then came and had obviously been taken from other tables as it has knife marks in it and poppy seeds from the previous tables bread. The breakfasf room was freezing as the chef had to have the doors open? So the cooked breakfast and our tea quickly went cold as there was a through draught, we asked for the door to be closed bit it didn't stay closed for long. I have to say the following morning service was very much improved, although I think the £80 per night we paid for a twin room was overpriced considering the service and state of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebeccafrom Worcester

Job done for an overnight

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely room although separate to the pub. Internet access was not brilliant which might be worth noting if this is required. Staff were lovely, very friendly & helpful. Food was good & room was well equipped. Shower was not the best but overall job done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ty2kfrom Barnet

Great little b & b

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Every thing was fine, the bed was particarly comfortable, bathroom could do with some updating, shower height was quite low but ok. Nice that it was like a seperate flat with own outdoor entrance, in beautiful countryside
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Pleasant stay

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The location was lovely
Cons: The overall standard of the hotel could be better it is a little tired outside but the food was good
Location: Good location to visit Suffolk and Essex
A nice b&b in rural location but the standard of the hotel could be improved
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bedford

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Stayed for the races at Newmarket , was lovely place to stay , had a 4poster room and it had its own private garden , room was light and roomy very clean with French doors out to the private garden . Staff were more than helpful and could have breakfast what ever time you wanted we had it at 11.15 as had a lay in . Would defiantly stay again and recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottinghamshire

Lovely pub but website not truthful with distance

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Website should state how far out of Cambridge this place truly is.
Location: Very disappointed as stated 1.08 miles out of Cambridge, it is actually 30 mins drive into Cambridge and in the middle of nowhere!!
Lovely character pub with lots of charm. Food was excellent although we had to point out to the waitress it stated food served until 11pm, we arrived at 9 pm after being stuck in traffic to be advised food not possible as chef had a back log, it was only after being shown to our room we read on leaflets left in there food was served until 11pm , we went back down and told the waitress we would be happy to wait ( she had in fact advised us to go to the local village as there would be Chinese and Indian restaurants serving) upon this she said the wait would be 45 mins to 1 hr which we was happy with as the weather was beautiful to sit outside and relax. Breakfast was fantastic and the lady serving was very pleasant. The only down side was the false distance put on Expedia website which advises 1.8 mile out of Cambridge BUT I would definitely stay here again in different circumstances and would recommend highly to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rural pub

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Good rural pub with lovely accommodation and close enough to the scientific company’s in south Cambridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Flofrom South Coast

Comfortable old inn with views over cornfields.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
A very pleasant stay in this friendly and welcoming inn at the edge of a small village. The room was light, clean and adequately equipped. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Food was good especially the breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlesworthfrom Norwich

Very Disappointed!

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic room in a village pub well overpriced. Car park quite full which is usually a good sign but unfortunately it wasn't the case this evening. After a young lady finally found our booking we were shown to a room which was clean. The towels were arranged as swans and there was welcoming biscuits and toiletries. There was no information book. No info on wifi code although when we got this info from the bar the reception was good. Table for evening meal was booked for 8.30. We seemed to get overlooked as manager was dealing with disgruntled customers who weren't happy with their food. When we finally got seated, there was a long wait before order was taken and when I asked for a wine list I was told there wasn't one. Then asked if I wanted red or white and that she would go and find out what was available. I asked for prosecco. No prosecco but they did have champagne! Ordered food which arrived reasonably quickly. Food was average, prices were slightly above what you would expect to pay in a pub. Retired to bed wondering what excitement awaited us at the breakfast. Welcomed into the bar for breakfast by another young lady. Asked what we wanted to drink. One tea, one coffee ordered, two pots of luke warm tea arrived. Young lady changed these. Took food order. Food ok but baked beans lukewarm! Lovely village pub in great setting with potential.