Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Wonderful cottage feel, 10 min to Kilauea.

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Great B&B. Nice breakfast with cold/hot cereal, different types of toast, fresh local fruit, etc. Kistchy cottagey, welcoming feel. On a farm, roosters wake you up to remind you to get up to see the nearby (10 min drive) active volcano in time for watching the sun rise up over it. 45 min drive from Hilo airport. Very friendly & interesting owner. Great to chill, if desired, around the table in the dining room to discuss travels with other guests or read in the well appointed library. Free internet. Quite clean, not sparkling (i.e. Hard to reach places a little dusty- didn't bother me). Great base camp for exploring the big island.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overpriced!

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great as it's near the Volcano NP. Unfortunately, that's all this hotel is good for. The rooms are in a remote condition. The bath door could not be closed, the windows are extremely dirty, all is very humid and towels are not clean. We could have lived with that if we hadn't paid more than $140.-/night, but something in the range of a basic mountain cottage. People will come here once, visit the NP and never return. A pity that customers are treated this way...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Russellfrom Pikesville, Maryland

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a B&B, not a hotel, and it was just to my wife's and my liking! Charming, clean, well-kept and comfortable! The proprietor provided everything you might need. Considering a picnic lunch? Borrow an insulated lunchbox. Raining outside? Borrow an umbrella or raincoat. Fancy a spot of tea as you relax in your slippers before the fire the proprietor set each evening? A self-service tea service--and cozy slippers--are at your service! I've read a review or two that complained about the weather and other things outside of the proprietor's responsibility, but as far as my wife and I are concerned, everything within her purview was well and truly accounted for!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Aloha Happy Place also referred as Aloha Happy Ranch is not a Hotel, just a B&B (even without breakfast); they call it Eco-Agri-Tourist Farmstay. The comfort & service is poor, even no housekeeping and Volcano is a small village, e.g. difficult to find a place to get breakfast. I was there in October, it was rainy & cold, the rooms had no heating unit. I've learned during my stay in Volcano, there are other B&B in the neighborhood, with similar or better comfort for a lower price overall (incl. breakfast). The B&B in the suraunding ac
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Older house no breakfast.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: This old home isn't a hotel. Just three rooms to rent. Very near to Volcano, Mauna Lua and the few places to eat in Volcano, HI. Clean/pleasant.
Location: Near Active Volcano, Mauna Lua,,,,, visitor center, roads to lava flows, art gallery with local artists, etc.
Arrived approx. 4pm having registered on line w/Expedia the nite before. Found 3 guests of a family on front porch enjoying. rang bell at 'office' door. no response after several tries. Guest on porch advises that 'she' is out caring for the horses. He goes around back to barn and calls 'host'.. She comes apologizing that she wasn't expecting anyone else. Room is very small but clean and pleasant. Probably was a 'sun' room when a home. Twin beds, dresser and desk fill room. Closet. No other amenities. Nice clean bathroom with clean linens. Great place to stay if only want clean room to sleep and take shower. We spent three days enjoying the views in the area. Great museum and art gallery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Renefrom Kona, HI

Wonderful little place

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
As B&B's go this was a very nice place. Quiet, clean, and very close to many of the Volcano locations. Joan, the inn keeper was super friendly and helpful. Will visit Again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ensenada, BC

Hotel compartido en sala, comedor....

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: El precio y la cercania a Hawaii volcanoes national park 5 min
Cons: exterior le falta cuidado
Location: increibles volcanes activos....
Solitario, muy tranquilo.. pero agradable... aislado, de momento se siente uno vulnerable....
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristifrom California

Simple, convenient, quirky

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice little place. Think grandma's house. We stayed in the Bamboo room, which had a nice view of the back yard and chicken coops. I was a bit frustrated trying to call someone to verify directions because I couldn't access my confirmation. But keys and instructions were waiting for us at the office. No problems. Fabulous super screaming fast WiFi!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, and great location.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The room was generally clean except for a profusion of cobwebs.
3 out of 5
by Melaniefrom Molalla Or

nice historic hotel in Volcano

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact we could use the refrigerator and microwave and had a space to eat.
Cons: a more personal check in.
Location: Good location for Volcano Park, Volcano winery, and visiting Hilo.
We were advised on how to get in to see the Merry Monarch on Wednesday. We had a wonderful dinner at the Hilo Bay Café and then went to the event. It was truly wonderful. This would be a great place to stay to see the volcano also.