Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, and great location.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The room was generally clean except for a profusion of cobwebs.
3 out of 5
by Melanie from Molalla Or

nice historic hotel in Volcano

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact we could use the refrigerator and microwave and had a space to eat.
Cons: a more personal check in.
Location: Good location for Volcano Park, Volcano winery, and visiting Hilo.
We were advised on how to get in to see the Merry Monarch on Wednesday. We had a wonderful dinner at the Hilo Bay Café and then went to the event. It was truly wonderful. This would be a great place to stay to see the volcano also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy barking dogs and crowing roosters at 3 am

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Noisy barking dogs and crowing roosters at 3 am, making sleep impossible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivian

Best place!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
It was such a nice experience! Highly recommend to visitors who want to live closer to the national volcano park! You will be surprised how sweet that place is!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suzie

sweet place, near volcano national park and Hilo

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Nice place, like home. I like the big fire and bookshelf. The sweetest thing is you can borrow warm cloth and hat from the owner, a very nice old lady.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Themiya from Melbourne

Great Location

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice, clean hotel to stay. Nice surroundings but can be a bit cold at night, so better to come prepared. Nice common room and books about history. So many animals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ania from Sydney

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place is very lovely. I didn't have any issues with finding it and my overall experience is very good. My bed was a bit noisy and it was pretty cold in the morning, but otherwise it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Allie from UT

Good/econimic place for a overnight stay

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The surrounding is quiet. room is clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Richie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com