Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, and great location.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The room was generally clean except for a profusion of cobwebs.
3 out of 5
by Melanie from Molalla Or

nice historic hotel in Volcano

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact we could use the refrigerator and microwave and had a space to eat.
Cons: a more personal check in.
Location: Good location for Volcano Park, Volcano winery, and visiting Hilo.
We were advised on how to get in to see the Merry Monarch on Wednesday. We had a wonderful dinner at the Hilo Bay Café and then went to the event. It was truly wonderful. This would be a great place to stay to see the volcano also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy barking dogs and crowing roosters at 3 am

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Noisy barking dogs and crowing roosters at 3 am, making sleep impossible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivian

Best place!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
It was such a nice experience! Highly recommend to visitors who want to live closer to the national volcano park! You will be surprised how sweet that place is!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grace from San Diego

Great location to visit Volcanoes National Park

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great if you are planning to go to VNP - only about 2-3 miles from the entrance of the park, perfect for viewing Halema'uma'u at night. The room is clean, albeit the minimal amenities (the fridge and microwave is shared with the house), and bonus is that you get your own bathroom. The internet didn't work while we were there, but there is a collection of movies and books available to watch (don't be afraid to explore the living room!) The surrounding neighborhood is charming and lush, but if you need supplies or want to eat in the immediate area, be aware that everything closes early! (The local general store closes at 7pm, restaurants close by 9pm). The innkeeper can be a bit brusque, but we didn't mind it so much, she gave us our space and let us relax after a long day of hiking and exploring.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Margie from Portland

Volcano stay

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were Very musty but average cleanliness. Never met owner. Convenient to the Volcano National Park. Chickens and animals were noisty in morning. Very rural type setting , FYI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by suzie

sweet place, near volcano national park and Hilo

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Nice place, like home. I like the big fire and bookshelf. The sweetest thing is you can borrow warm cloth and hat from the owner, a very nice old lady.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Themiya from Melbourne

Great Location

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice, clean hotel to stay. Nice surroundings but can be a bit cold at night, so better to come prepared. Nice common room and books about history. So many animals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ania from Sydney

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place is very lovely. I didn't have any issues with finding it and my overall experience is very good. My bed was a bit noisy and it was pretty cold in the morning, but otherwise it was fine.