Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by MG from Seoul

Know What You're Getting

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Aside from the discolored water (which is still clean for bathing) the bathroom was very nice and until another guest checked in, we had good wifi.
Cons: 1. Install ceiling fans 2. Provide a dehumidifier 3. Install some sort of light blocking window covering system maybe Roman shades/curtains
Location: Stay in Kona and just book a day trip to the Volcanoes. Hilo is boring and depressing. The town of Volcano only has a couple of restaurants.
Contrary to all of the favorable reviews/experiences, we were very disappointed with At the Crater's Edge. First of all, the location is essentially rural and residential, approximately 27 miles from Hilo. They only offer 2 rooms. The one we were given faces the dirt/unpaved circle driveway. The room is essentially a glorified gazebo with 50% of it full length sliding glass doors/windows. The can be seen in the pictures, however, only a couple panels of the curtains actually block any light, the rest are sheers. There are no blinds or shades or anything to actually block sunlight. So plan on waking at sunrise. The rooms have no air conditioners, and admittedly, even in June, it remained cooler than I expected. However, there is no ceiling fan or any way to circulate the air, or pull in cool breezes. Upon requesting one, we were given a small (desktop) electric fan which did help. Perhaps the biggest problem with this place is the barking dogs. Because this is in a rural, residential area....apparently people need guard dogs. They seem to bark (or cry) all the time and it is much more noticeable when the doors are open which is necessary to bring in any cool outside air. I think they tried really hard to (as apparently many of the locals have begun doing) convert a house into some sort of a lodge, but they just fall short. Some of the shortcomings are outside of their control (their neighbors' dogs) but other are things they could and should do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by N. from San Francisco

Peaceful Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Location: Volcano national park
Very peaceful BnB hotel). About 3-4 miles from the Volcano city center and the park. Surrounded by tropical vegetation and a wrap around deck to enjoy the peace. Cold cereals and coffee etc. available. No services and except for a brief interaction with the caretaker (?) on the logistics, no other human interactions. Great for getting away from the city hubbub, but not so great if you feel hungry and need quick gratification.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MRG from Los Angeles

Great location, beautiful room

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was such a wonderful place. The room was amazing, with great views. It was a beautiful romantic spot to come back to after wandering around Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. The perfect way to close out our Hawaiian honeymoon. I would happily have given it an enthusiastic five stars, but one weird thing happened: we needed to change our booking about a week before we were scheduled to arrive. We called Hotels.com and they tried to contact the owners multiple times to change the reservation from three nights to two nights. I also left them a message directly. Yet, when we got there, they claimed to have no knowledge of our changed reservation. It's still not clear to me where the disconnect is. But the bottom line is that if you don't need to make any changes to your original reservation, you should be fine. And it really is a wonderful place. If you run into issues with your reservation at this place, you may find them difficult to resolve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marc & Jennifer from Austin, TX

The most amazing place to stay.

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a unique, peaceful, beautiful place to stay! At the Crater's Edge takes full advantage of its location in the ferns, frequent tropical rains and high elevation. It is literally surrounded by tropical flowers and tall ferns (no visible neighbors), only minutes away from the entrance to Volcanoes Natl. Park. The rooms (only two of them) are perfectly appointed with a large canopied king bed, gas fireplace, large wrapping deck and a beautiful bathroom (although the hand carved wooden sink is a little awkward to use), all decorated in Hawaiian decor. A large cabinet is fully stocked with complimentary juices, sodas, snacks, cereals (and milk) and coffee. Also included are a couple small loaves of yummy banana bread. TV reception and free wireless both work well. The short boardwalk to the hot tub and sauna is a small adventure in itself. At the Crater's Edge is not for families nor for those unwilling to respect the natural beauty, quiet and solitude this place offers. Enjoy it for it is and also for what it isn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jan from Hartford, CT

Awesome...5 Star Living

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful experience. It is a glass house surrounded by rainforest. Location is right near the entrance to Volcano National Park. Everything in the room was top quality and comfortable with nice little touches. More importantly, every thing was in the room from fresh fruit and banana bread to cereals, energy bars, drinks, etc., including flashlights for the dark evenings and umbrellas for the occasional downpours. Definitely stay here, it won't disappoint. Jay, our host, was very attentive to our comfort. Thank you Jay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephanie from Colorado

Great Place to Stay

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I came to the big island to check out the volcanos. This was the perfect place to stay! We were really late getting in but the care taker met us and went over everything with us then. The room was nice and the food in the room was an added benefit. The overall experience was great! We hope we are lucky enough to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, quiet, clean, and comfortable

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only thing I could possible consider changing about At The Crater's Edge is the location. It's tucked back about 3/4 mile off the main road through town. Would be good to have it more accessible, but that did help contribute to the peacefulness and comfort at leaving the drapes open on the multitude of windows for a more rainforest enveloping experience. A variety of self-serve breakfast items were provided in-room; would have been good to have them restocked each day (our second day was kind of light on breakfast because of dwindling supply). The architecture is stunning and the bed was more comfortable than any other B&B or hotel we've ever stayed in (including 5-star hotels). Hot water was a little touchy in the shower and--because the water system is rain fed--the pressure is too low for two people to stay warm in the spacious shower or fill the Jacuzzi tub with any speed, but the natural experience is unbeatable! Plush robes and heated tile bathroom floors enhance the comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david h

interesting place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: I got to relax a bit
Cons: Fix the jacuzzi
Location: The Volcano and Orchid Farm seemed just about all to do
I was relaxed. I was a bit shocked that there were only 2 rooms and they made it to Expedia.. I would go again The extra food and beverages included in your room price was very appreciated.