Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richfield, OH

Great location close to volcano national park

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Breakfast, hot tub, great location, so so quiet
5 minutes to the national park. Very quiet and private. Hot tub a big plus after a busy day at the park. Papaya boats delicious for breakfast. Lots of little amenities like flashlights in the room. Gary is the perfect host. Perfect place to stay when visiting the volcano area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oahu, HI

Beautiful rainforest retreat for our babymoon

Posted May 27, 2015
My husband and I booked our stay with Bamboo Orchid after seeing great reviews, and we definitely weren't disappointed. Our flight into Hilo arrived at 8 pm so we didn't arrive until late, but check-in was a breeze and the room was so inviting when we walked in. We stayed in the "Enchanted Forest" room, which was fantastic. The fireplace was perfect during those cool nights, and we actually found ourselves looking forward to coming back to the room-- especially that sinfully comfortable bed!-- at the end of a long day sightseeing. The staff was wonderful, and the breakfast was perfect every morning. Gary managed to provide a filling, tasty breakfast despite rigid state laws against presenting cooked breakfasts, and the fresh fruit and sweet breads were just what we needed to start the day off right. Not to mention the fantastic Kona coffee! We were sad to leave this little gem and would definitely return and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Lovely nook in the jungle, adjacent volcano park

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: A ten minute drive to Volcano National Park, and a three minute drive to the little strip of restaurants and stores in Volcano.
We had a delightful 2-night stay here! The house is gorgeous, and Gary is a wonderful host. Papaya boats of fresh fruit and an array of bagels/toast/etc. with cheese and eggs for breakfasts. Breakfast is at 8, and shared with other guests, which makes it fun and homey. We got great tips from the fellow guests each morning before starting our days! Our room was beautiful, and had a little porch looking out into the garden and jungle. Comfortable nights, and a deeply enjoyable stay. We recommend this gem highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent hotel for a visit to Kilauea.

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was a great time to meet the other guests and share Hawaii experiences.
Location: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is only 5 minutes away. This is a great location for quick access to the park.
Modern, cozy hotel with a home feel. Gary, the owner and host is a friendly, engaging person who makes everyone feel at home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

B and B next to volcano national park

Posted May 8, 2015
I stayed with my wife at the bamboo orchid lodge. The place was reasonably priced compared to others in the area. The rooms are clean. Beds were not the most comfortable as they were small and mattresses were on the softer side. The owner is nice and hospitable. The food is very good. However we were very disappointed with service. We paid for bed and breakfast and we got bed only. We were given a voucher for 20 $ to have breakfast at a different location but the amount was barely enough for breakfast for one person only. I thought this was very unprofessional and could have been handled differently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very perfect place to stay in Volcano.

Posted May 4, 2015
Charming, very nice host, confortable, well situated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B in a sanctuary

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The living room area was very homely and comfortable. Very well decorated.
Cons: Water pressure of the shower
Place was in volcano area that has heavy vegetation. Good thing Gary turned on the lights at the front porch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Friedrich from Austria

Fantastic place with lots of positive emotions

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Incredibly great place, a hideaway in the rainforest, with an owner who is dedicated to his passion: Hosting guests with emotions! Thanks you Gary, we will come back and stay much longer to enjoy hiking, birdwatching and the great papaya boot breakfast!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

私の隠れ家にしたい宿

Posted Apr 18, 2015 on Hotels
ハワイ島の隠れ家として誰にも教えずにいたいような宿でした。 色々な国の方との朝食は短い時間の中でとても楽しい会話があり、オーナーの心遣いも最高でした。 また、訪れる日が楽しみです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mari

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels