Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

You're better staying at a Comfort Inn

Posted Oct 15, 2014
From the start this wasn't a good experience. The woman at the front desk during checkin couldn't be less helpful. We get to the room and find that the sliding doors don't close & lock correctly, the fridge doesn't work, and the bed couldn't be less comfortable. The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 is because it was pretty clean and you can't really expect too fancy at this price range.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

nicest hotel in Hilo area, but!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Room is newly renovated.
Cons: over priced.
In Hilo, there is no 5-star grade hotel. So, this was my choice, because my flight back to LA was around 7:00 AM. This hotel seems the best in town, but not he one which exceeds your expectation with the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from la

daughter white coat ceremony

Posted Oct 14, 2014
trash didn't take out , room not too clean, dishes not clean very dusty. not for the price of a suite we paid for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2014
We enjoyed being there. We had a great view and the people there were so friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii

Da Best

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Over for 3 days with family from Oahu for a baby luau. Room great, front desk great, ice makers in different floors-yeh, AND free parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty carpets and even found a cockroach.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
It was nit worth the money. The rating is not worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel with excellent view of ocean, Hilo, mountain

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, view, service, in-hotel dining room
Cons: Add free in-room wi-fi, sound-isolate elevator, add microwave, more drawer-space
Location: Walk through queen Liliuokalani gardens, banyan trees, other open space, and easy access to downtown, Hilo sites.
Location is awesome -- nice view of Hilo, ocean, mountains and walking access to nearby parks and gardens, easy access to downtown waterfront. Room was clean, recently renovated, no smokey or moldy smells. Negatives:in-room wi-fi is NOT free, only free in downstairs lounge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Birds chirping loudly all night.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Birds chirping loudly all night. (I MEAN LOUDLY)! Nice for nature lovers but not so nice for sleepers!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel short drive from the airport

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, close to airport, and close to beach and Coconut Island Park.
Cons: The hotel should provide better cups and glasses instead of cheap paper cups. Also, get a better WiFi and internet service.
Location: Other than Coconut Island, there were no attractions and good restaurants close by.
We had two stays at the hotel. The first one was for three nights and the second one for one night. In the first stay, the front desk assigned a room next to the elevators. As a result, it was quite a bit noisy all the time. The next day they moved us to another room. In the second stay, the room was well far from the elevators. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Coconut Island is only a short walk away from hotel. Hotel has a nice, but somewhat expensive, restaurant on premises. First two days of the the first stay, WiFi and internet was intermittent. I will suggest that Castle Resort people should get rid of ShakaNet on this site as well as one in Maui.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice view, excellent staff, wi-fi i

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, balcony
Cons: Wi-Fi !!! Cafe. Provide iron, hair dryer, real cups or glasses, and a safe in each room.
Location: Next visit we would stay around Volcano, likely at Chalet Kilauea. Hilo seems to be just a service town, Kilauea actually much more central.
Nice quiet location if book a room on one of the top floors with ocean view and away from ends of building and from elevators. Room had been redecorated. 5 minute walk to one of the few good cafes or restaurants in Hilo. Room, vanity and wardrobe well designed and spacious. Bathroom floor a pseudo bamboo non-skid surface. Very separate toilet/shower. Superb balcony, could spend hours there. Very comfortable bed. Pool OK. Reception never over-run and very friendly. Wi-Fi is only free in the lobby, power failure early on our first weekday morning upset their server, they did not have a key to the computer cupboard to turn off the power and restart, so no internet for whole of hotel for over 30 hours. Paid internet available $10/day from an outside provider. The hotel absolutely should have paid for this, I would expect that a large part of this cost would have been their margin. Need to request an iron, also a hair dryer. Polystyrene cups for coffee are awful, bring your own mug and a glass! Seems that management need to see a big picture of the hotel services and provide safes, good free WiFi, cups, iron and hair dryers.