Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Benjamin from Hilo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Portland OR

All you need...

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: They kept the common area around the pool spotless. Every morning the crew was out cleaning the gas BBQ grills. Very well maintained.
Location: Excellent location. 5 minute walk to downtown Kailua, right on Ali'i Drive. Luau and bar at Royal Kona Hotel next door. Great snorkling at Kahalu'u.
The location of Kona Reef is excellent. You can walk to many great restaurants and bars. They have a beautiful pool and jacuzzi and a great outdoor BBQ cooking area (They cleaned the gas grills every morning). The sunset views from both our lanai and the pool area were spectacular. The room itself was O.K., a little dated, small but functional. We had two adults and two kids, but there was enough room for all. The bathroom and kitchen was well equipped, nothing fancy but adequate. There was always plenty of parking close to the room. The only real negative for me was the occasional slamming of doors from all the units. The inner walkways amplified any voices or footsteps. The noise of guests coming and going could get a little loud in the morning. Overall a great place for a family to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Location is great
Cons: Some upgrades needed, overall pretty good.
Location: Close to downtown kona restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from western Canada

clean, comfortable, convenient, bit dated

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Fairly big complex, right at the waters edge. My wife and I, plus others in our family get-together (Nov. 2013) in their own units, found it a bit dated, but clean, comfortable, quite well equipped, quiet, and very conveniently located for restaurants & stores. The pool area seemed popular. We liked Kona, and would certainly stay in the Castle Kona Reef again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The bed

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The view and location were great
Cons: The bed
Location: You can walk everywhere.
The room was fine, but the bed was just awful! We actually slept on the hide a bed one night - it was more comfortable than the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Awesome, clean, and convenient. Great ocean views
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by holly from vancouver

Great location!

Posted Nov 9, 2013
The condo is in a great location quick access to everything by walking. The condo was clean but needed a major update , ceiling fan broken and kitchen faucet broken. The residents of the complex were a much older crowd who monitored all movements of the younger guests. All in all a good average stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: The common area's were clean and modern.
Cons: N/A
Location: It's ocean front, within walking distance of shopping and restaurants.
We stayed there for a weekend and the facilities were great. The staff was friendly. The room was clean, comfortable and with a kitchen well stocked to cook just about anything you want. It is within walking distance of shopping and dining options. My only negative is that our room was street side and very noisy. When you make reservations specify a room away from the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronaldo from Hamilton, ON Canada

Hit and miss

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Great location, free parking, free internet, good security
Cons: Universal standard of rooms
Location: The location is great for surfers . Downtown Kona is a pleasant 10 minute walk, offering restaurants, shops and activities.
I reserved 3 one bedroom ocean front units for my girlfriend and I and two other couples. Having checked in first, we took an upgrade to a two bedroom unit as there were no more one bedrooms available. Our unit was fabulous, apart from an air conditioner that struggled to keep up. Of our friends, one couple had a satisfactory unit, but the others were stuck with a sub standard unit. The bed was lumpy, the sofa tattered, there was only cheap plastic chairs on the lanai, and only hard tile floor throughout; not even an area rug. Expedia should inform people that the units are privately owned, so the quality can vary greatly. The rental agency should enforce a higher standard, and drop deadbeat owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarag from Canada

Everything you need. Wish it was a little cleaner.

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Was everything you need. Nice pool area and the ocean is right there which is great. There were five turtles snacking away in the water just in front of condominium. So awesome. The kitchen is fully equipped but everything wasn't ..quite clean ..to me. Same with the bathroom. And it didn't seem a whole lot cleaner after maid service. There is AC but the bedroom was too far away from the AC unit to get any effect but it did have a good ceiling fan. Also the bedroom had windows that opened toward the road and stairwell everyone walks down so there was more noise when trying to sleep although they do have 10pm-8am quite hours and our unit definitely was one of the units closer to the road. Overall we were very happy with it though.