Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a somewhat "funky" hotel in a very good location for visiting the volcano. The Garden Room had a separate small kitchen with a small table looking out to the garden. They should use a fitted bottom sheet on the bed instead of a flat sheet - the bottom sheet bunched up during the night so we were sleeping on the mattress cover instead of a sheet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hübsches kleines Hotel mit viel Atmosphäre

Posted May 1, 2014
Das Hotel liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Eingang des Vulcano National Parks und ist somit der ideale Ausgangspunkt für den Besuch dieses Parks. Zimmer sind mit viel Liebe zum Detail themenmäßig gestaltet. Wir hatten das Zimmer "Africa" welches mit afrikanischen Utensilien und Bildern dekoriert war. Die Ausstattung bietet alles was man braucht: komfortable Betten, modern gestaltetes Badezimmer, Fernseher, Küche (auf der Terrasse) und einen großen Außenwhirlpool für das gesamte hotel. Das angebotene Frühstück war sehr preiswert und das Personal sehr zuvorkommend. Der einzige Nachteil des Hauses ist, dass es sehr hellhörig ist. Durch die Holzbauweise der alten Chalets hört man sehr deutlich die benachbarten Zimmer. In unserem Fall ist offensichtlich ein Gast zu einer sehr frühen Wanderung aufgebrochen, was uns geweckt hat. Ich würde das Haus aber auf jeden Fall weiterempfehlen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich Ffrom Peterborough, NH

unexpected luxury

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were blown away with just how beautiful and comfortable this 3 room unit was. The grounds are fun, the host friendly and accomodating and the hot tub was perfect on a rainy day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robertfrom New Jersey

Unique hotel, close to Volcanoes National Park

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Very creative decor and landscaping. Nice touches, like a balcony with mini kitchen, and a deluxe bathroom. Breakfast is a good deal - Kona coffee.
Cons: The soundproofing between my room and one next door was not great. (Otherwise, it was fine.)
I spent three nights there, while exploring the Volcanoes National Park and neighboring hiking trails (rain forest, etc.) The hotel is in a quiet location not far from the park and the small town center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by christinafrom winnipeg, canada

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Although our envelope with our room key for late check-in wasn't there, this place was better than expected. Staff quickly corrected the issue over the phone and upgraded us to the treehouse suit at no charge. It was beautiful. My only complaint would be that finding your way to the washroom in the middle of the night was a little difficult with the spiral stairs. But other than that, the room was perfect. It's just too unfortunate that we didn't get to stay longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to Volcano Park

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: We stayed in the Continental room, it was a quiet and very comfortable room. Great bathroom! Nice little extra room with sink/frig/microwave.
Cons: A little protein with breakfast.
Loved hiking in Volcano National Park. This was a good hotel to come to after a long day out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Trevligt pensionat

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Det var ett trevligt litet pensionat med stora rum, med ett extrarum och ett stort badrum. Under vår vistelse drabbades pensionatet av ett strömavbrott vilket gjorde att ett larm pep oavbrutet under morgontimmarna. För besväret fick vi en bra frukost (6.5 dollar) som kompensation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Très bien dans une region hyperhumide. C'est une bonne étape
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, would stay here again

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Mum and I stayed in the Africa Room for two nights while we were visiting the volcanoes national park. The common room was very comfortable and clean - I sat out here and used the computer and the sound of the pond water feature was very relaxing. It was also very well appointed with boardgames and comfortable chairs and tea and coffee facilities. The room itself was unique and is one of the hotels that stands out in my mind from my trip. The outdoor lanai with kitchen facilities was great. Very close to local resturants and quiet during the night. Loved the town of Volcano and can't wait to come back here again. I'd definitely stay at Chalet again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review Chalet Kilauea. We always appreciate guests' leaving us feedback and/or comments and love to hear about your experiences with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the serenity of the Volcano rain-forest. We welcome you back for any future Volcano vacations. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jimfrom Landenberg, PA

Gem near Volcano Park

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Tropical garden with pond outside and many little seating arrangements. Outside deck and common game/reading room theme appointed. We stayed in Africa room, jacuzzi in bathroom, with king bed and private 2nd floor deck with sink. Breakfast consisted of fresh tropical fruit, homemade bread with jam and cream cheese and cereal. A few restaurants nearby, we chose a tasty Thai one. Entrance to park a few miles away and very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2013 by Amber, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments about your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again on any future trips to the Big Island of Hawaii. Mahalo and Aloha!!!!