Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Can get better value for the price

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Decoration, layout of the rooms, coziness, personality of the desk attendant.
Location: Volcano Park is an amazing place with lots of hikes to do. Just don't stay in this hotel to access it. You can find better ones for the same price.
My boyfriend and I had booked a room for a single night near the Volcano park. The first room we got had two full beds. The room was small and crowded, with no charm and no taste. It was very dark and the heater made a lot of noise. We asked for a room with a Queen or King. The new room was this strange, very badly designed additional room the owners had built in what was the old foyer. Everything was of bad taste, badly placed, badly finished and badly decorated. The only full length mirror was placed lengthwise at the level of the bed, reminding me a little of a room in a brothel....The room was also very dark. The jacuzzi outside was small, old and placed right by someone's window. For a single night, this hotel gave me a lot to talk about. I wouldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B, but room isn't for the tall folks!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Cons: If you are over 5'7", be sure to ask for a room that doesn't have the bed in a loft.
B&B was nicely situated in Volcano Village, off the main road. The Sunday Farmer's Market was great! Unfortunately the room I had wasn't good for anyone over 5'7" because of the rafters. The bed is in a loft and even though the rafters were padded to prevent real injury, I could only stand up straight on one end of the room and I'm 5'9". The accommodations were clean and shared bathroom was kept up well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gemütlich!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Der "Garden Room" ist supergemütlich und nett eingerichtet, mit großem Bad und kleiner "Küche" (Spüle, Kühlschrank, Mikrowelle). Idealer Startpunkt zum Volcanoes Natl. Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property close to Volcano National Park.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: Heat the hot tub!
Lovely little place. Stayed in the 'Continental Room'. Beautiful furnishings and deluxe shower with two rainfall shower heads. Kitchenette overlooking rainforest garden. Felt like we were sleeping in the tree tops. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Only imperfection was the hot tub wasn't working. Would definitely recommend and return given the chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Feels like out of nowhere

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Better to check-in when ots not dark. We arrived around 8:00pm, but it felt like almost midnight because its really dark after sunset. It almost felt scary to find the house. Also the facility may not be the one where you check-in, because there are several houses they are operating. The house itself is really old, but it's incredibly well-maintained and clean. Also it has amazing freah air around so we had a really deel sleep at that night. We even had better sleep than when we stayed at the 5-star luxury hotel. But, remember, its a cozy BnB style, so dont expect the same thing with the luxury chain hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Senior Travellersfrom Sydney Australia

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was the perfect location for visitng the volcano. We had the garden room which was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel has beautiful gardens creating a very peaceful atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Not bad for the price.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The jacuzzi tub in the bathroom didn't work and neither did the one outside. They did give us permission to drive to a different propert to use one. The dehumidifier made the room really hot an the maid kept plugging it back in. It produced a lot of heat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely comforts

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Great location for staying in volcano, comfortable bed and great bathroom with all creature comforts..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heatherfrom Raleigh, NC

Quaint and Quiet

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose to stay here because we were going to Hawaii Volcanoes Nat'l Park, and what's closer than Volanco, HI? It was a great place to stay for that because the park is only about 5 minutes down the road. If you aren't planning to go to the park, there isn't much point to staying up here as it's about 30 minutes away from everything else. There are only a few restaurants around, but they are pretty good, if a bit pricey. The hotel itself is very nice, although the room we were in (the Africa Room) could use a few updates (like getting rid of the purple sink/toilet/tub), but everything was clean and worked properly. The separate balcony with mini-kitchen (mini-fridge, microwave, sink) was great and we sat out there one morning to eat some pineapple. They don't have air conditioning, but you really don't need it since you are at around 4,000 ft elevation. We just left the window open and the provided fan on and we were comfortable, and there's virtually no noise except for the birds chirping outside and the rain. We thought the fact that they serve breakfast and don't just include it in your room rate is kinda dumb, but we did go ahead and pay for it since it was a decent continental breakfast. All in all, it was a great stay and we would recommend staying for 2-3 nights if you are planning to head to the National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shellyfrom Florida

Cute hotel near Volcanos National Park

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Clean and close to the Volcanos National Park
Location: We had dinner at the Kilauea Lodge where we had excellent service and a delicious dinner. Lava Rock Cafe was great with sweetbread french toast!
We had a great night at the Chalet Kilauea! We were greeted with a map of the town and tips on nearby restaurants. We were provided a nice, clean room with private bathroom. All in all, I would stay here again.