Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nor California

A pleasant surprise

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Cons: Only improvement would be a bed we could sleep on -this one was super hard. Otherwise, awesome place.
Great location, convenient to volcano national park, great eats nearby, all in a secluded and jungle-like location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Very nice place in Volcano

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The bed is comfy.
Location: It's in Volcano, so the only thing there is the volcano. Nothing else. We drove to Hilo for breakfast at Ken's.
A comfortable bed and hot shower, what more do you need? We stayed in the Garden room. The bathroom and shower are very big. It even has a kitchen area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Can get better value for the price

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Decoration, layout of the rooms, coziness, personality of the desk attendant.
Location: Volcano Park is an amazing place with lots of hikes to do. Just don't stay in this hotel to access it. You can find better ones for the same price.
My boyfriend and I had booked a room for a single night near the Volcano park. The first room we got had two full beds. The room was small and crowded, with no charm and no taste. It was very dark and the heater made a lot of noise. We asked for a room with a Queen or King. The new room was this strange, very badly designed additional room the owners had built in what was the old foyer. Everything was of bad taste, badly placed, badly finished and badly decorated. The only full length mirror was placed lengthwise at the level of the bed, reminding me a little of a room in a brothel....The room was also very dark. The jacuzzi outside was small, old and placed right by someone's window. For a single night, this hotel gave me a lot to talk about. I wouldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B, but room isn't for the tall folks!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Cons: If you are over 5'7", be sure to ask for a room that doesn't have the bed in a loft.
B&B was nicely situated in Volcano Village, off the main road. The Sunday Farmer's Market was great! Unfortunately the room I had wasn't good for anyone over 5'7" because of the rafters. The bed is in a loft and even though the rafters were padded to prevent real injury, I could only stand up straight on one end of the room and I'm 5'9". The accommodations were clean and shared bathroom was kept up well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gemütlich!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Der "Garden Room" ist supergemütlich und nett eingerichtet, mit großem Bad und kleiner "Küche" (Spüle, Kühlschrank, Mikrowelle). Idealer Startpunkt zum Volcanoes Natl. Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property close to Volcano National Park.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: Heat the hot tub!
Lovely little place. Stayed in the 'Continental Room'. Beautiful furnishings and deluxe shower with two rainfall shower heads. Kitchenette overlooking rainforest garden. Felt like we were sleeping in the tree tops. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. Only imperfection was the hot tub wasn't working. Would definitely recommend and return given the chance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judithfrom BC, Canada

Save your money

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely disappointed would summarize this experience. Check-in was at another property several miles away. Reception was indifferent. Room was basic with low appeal. Carpet throughout ( yuck! ) and dust on furniture ( could write on lampshade ). No coffee or juice provided onsite and no breakfast as listed. Hot tub on deck was not inviting, water pressure for shower was non-existent and private bathroom was spartan. Motel experience at high-end B&B pricing. One good motel in Volcano would put them out of business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Feels like out of nowhere

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Better to check-in when ots not dark. We arrived around 8:00pm, but it felt like almost midnight because its really dark after sunset. It almost felt scary to find the house. Also the facility may not be the one where you check-in, because there are several houses they are operating. The house itself is really old, but it's incredibly well-maintained and clean. Also it has amazing freah air around so we had a really deel sleep at that night. We even had better sleep than when we stayed at the 5-star luxury hotel. But, remember, its a cozy BnB style, so dont expect the same thing with the luxury chain hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tracy D.from Weymouth, MA

Would've Liked to Stay Longer

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night here, and almost wish we had time for one more, just to enjoy it a little more. We stayed in the Garden Room, which was completely private, which was great. There was no A/C, but it was cool at night, so that wasn't a problem for us (there was a fan in the room and a dehumidifier--the dehumidifier we shut off, since it was generating heat). We didn't have a chance to use the hot tub, which we would've had we stayed one more night. There's not much nearby. We were heading to Volcano National Park and wanted to be close, but the restaurant and food choices were limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Senior Travellersfrom Sydney Australia

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It was the perfect location for visitng the volcano. We had the garden room which was very comfortable and spacious. The hotel has beautiful gardens creating a very peaceful atmosphere.