Ratings based on 1,242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna, BC

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The King Kam is extremely busy and is definitely showing some fatigue. Our king-sized bed had "people dents" deep enough that I slept without a pillow. The benefit of the King Kam is its location right at the pier. We were able walk everywhere for better restaurants, coffee and shopping. The surfing instruction place directly across Ali'i was perfect for us. Parking is plentiful. Breakfast buffet was adequate, certainly not inspired. The staff were great to deal with.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Made the right choice...when I chose this hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The location, the facilities and the staff.
Cons: none that I can say.
Location: Lots of restaurants, snorkeling, parasailing, anything you can think of.
The hotel was so nice and the people were so helpful that anything was possible whatever you asked, that is how nice the staff was. I loved the experience and the hotel was very nice, it had a little beach in front of the hotel and the location was perfect. I recommend this hotel to everyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Prague

Older hotel where you have to pay for everything.

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Good price.
Cons: Older equipment, older carpets in corridor/hall (smell bed), better organization around pool area, don't won't to pay for little something like water!
Hotel is older, pool area is still full and if you come after 9 o'clock you don't have a place and hotel is not located on the beach, so you don't have to many choices. Hotel would like to pay for little somethings - water, 1 hour later check out, local calls, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Novi, MI

Staff and manager accommodating

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Answered above
Cons: More chairs at the pool to enjoy the sun, or perhaps on the lawn. There should be some way of policing placement of towels on pool chairs.
Location: Answered above
We had paid a little extra for a partial ocean view when we booked the package with Expedia. We had stayed here in January, 2013. We were given a wonderful room overlooking the water, boats, etc. When we arrived this time, the room we were assigned was in the "way-back" and we were overlooking nothing but the back end of things. To see the water, we had to crane our necks and practically use binoculars. We talked to one of the desk clerks and she said that she would bring it to the manager's attention. Within 20 minutes we were assigned another room on the opposite side with a nice view of the bay, downtown Kailua, etc. Also, the maid service was wonderful throughout the stay and very friendly ad helpful. We love the location within walking distance of the whole town for restaurants, the Hulie'e Palace, the beach, cultural events and so on. We will definitely stay at the Marriott King Kamehameha again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Hotel is surprisingly nice even though it's older/renovated... It's nice for local sites in Kona---
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Aloha, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Expedia. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great location and super luau.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Great proximity to beach, shopping on Alii Drive, and restaurants.
Cons: I was shocked that for a major chain in a tourist destination like Kona that an airport shuttle service was not provided.
The Island breeze luau was a favorite with the family and staff were pleasant and very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great choice in the heart of Kona

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: Inconsiderate quest would put stuff on the beach chairs to "saves" them all day! Management needs to post a sign to stop that with only 6 lounges!
All the staff we encountered were friendly and accommodating. Being on the beach was great too. There are wonderful restaurants all in a short walking distance - great food and good prices - especially Happy Hours!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by Aloha, Hotel Management
Aloha, We appreciate and value all guest feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. Glad that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Happy Hour specials at our Billfish Bar & Grille. However, it is truly disappointing to learn that you encountered issues with the supply of pool chairs and we ask that you accept our most sincere apologies and hope that it did not impact your overall experience. Rest assured we are in the process of adding additional lounge chairs at our pool area to better serve our valued guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bucks, UK

Good position close to the beach and shops.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient position
Cons: Restaurant and on-site shops.
Location: Plenty of shops and restaurants. Beaches for snorkeling are a short drive away.
Hotel rooms are fine - a good size with a small balcony. Nice swimming pool but limited number of loungers but there is a grass area and small beach adjacent to the pool area. The location is excellent as it is walking distance into the town and has shops, restaurants immediately outside. Only had breakfast once in the hotel and it was disappointing - arrived cold and smelt slightly fishy which is off putting when you are having pancakes with bacon and egg. Remember to budget for the daily parking charge if you want to use the hotel's carpark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by Aloha, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. Although you expressed an appreciation for our excellent location, our rooms, and swimming pool and beach area it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you at our restaurant. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future. Mahalo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great location close to everything

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff, great location, value for money.
Cons: Some food selection (even if at a price) for those times people arrive when everything is closed. Improve internet reliability. Rooms need kettles!
Location: Central location. Kona coffee opposite the hotel awesome. Lots of restaurants and shops just up the road. Good place to simply relax and unwind.
This hotel is pretty good, especially when you consider you're on a remote island. The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. ABC shop and ATM in the hotel make it easy for everything, as does its proximity to plenty of food and awesome coffee directly across the road from the hotel. The only downsides were there's no room service (difficult when you arrive late after a long 10+ hour flight), plus the rooms are a little dated, but okay we guess for the class of hotel being 3.5 star. Also the internet being free was very slow and unusable at times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Aloha, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. Although you expressed an appreciation for our location, and excellent hotel staff, it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you. We are grateful for your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back again someday. Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Nice, clean hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location and the view
Cons: Rollaway beds
Location: Close to many tourist attractions: restaurants, shopping
There are plenty of restaurants nearby. The "beach" on the property is very small. Rollaway beds are very uncomfortable; it was better to take the mattress off and put it on the floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Aloha, Hotel Management
Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your vacation in Hawaii and for sharing your wonderful comments. We were so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us in addition to the friendliness of our front desk staff. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that we can welcome you back for another great stay. Mahalo