Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom v

Finding paradise

Posted May 1, 2015
Always came home to a tidy home ((stayed 2weeks) loved the coffee and the fruit each morning, Mahi always had sis festoons for us to do and eat out at. Local inside information. Went to see the volcano eruption, hadn't erupted since 1968? The lodge is very big and beautiful.. Hidden back in the countryside everthough the frist drive at night might seem far or like your lost it's easy after the first trip 4.4 miles excactly off hwy 11 off wright rd just fallow it up there's a left bend in the roads then about 1 mile there's a rt turn then a small country one lane travel it 1.4 miles look for the st sign that reads sleepy hallo slow down it's the next left driveway pull pup to the main entry unload then park into the marked parking area, don't forget to take your shoes off, local tradition..... Enjoy your stay as we did...... Aloha
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Blackfoot, Alberta

Hidden Beauty in the Rainforest

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The hostess was so helpful, the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and breakfast was great. You felt very welcomed and at home at Halana Hale.
Cons: Just a couple ruts if you dirve out the 1 way, but not only way to exit.
Location: Volcano Village a short drive away has grocery stores/gas station, art gallery, variety of restaurants, gift shops, and nearby is Volcano National Par
The hostess gave accurate directions to get there, was very informative of which way was the best to travel depending on the weather, what to check out on the way there and back. Also what there was in the area to do, and what places we could go to eat while describing them perfectly. Breakfast was very enjoyable, and trying new things was awesome. To us it was a short drive off the main road thru the rainforest that was so enjoyable. The variety of plants, and smells we all enjoyed getting away to someplace quiet and peaceful. All of us had a great 2 nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. I would definitely stay there again, and suggest staying to anyone going to Hawaii, especially if they are visiting the Volcano area to spend time there. For it was so convenient to stay there and see everything in the Volcano area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
The owner is very helpful with info about the National Park and other sights in the area. The location is very convenient to the National Park, about 10 minutes from 'downtown' Volcano, at the end of a long, very secluded road. You get a room, with a lock on the door, but otherwise, it is like sharing a large house with a bunch of other people - there were about 15 guests when we stayed. I imagine the quality of the visit changes considerably when there are fewer guests. The walls are thin, so at times you can be very aware of the other guests. The breakfast - fresh fruit, coffee, rolls, yoghurt - was good enough. Don't expect a lavish buffet spread and you won't be disappointed. The best things about the place are the location and the friendly, knowledgeable owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patriciafrom San Francisco

Wonderful!

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time here. The service was very nice, and we received some excellent tips on where to eat and what areas to visit. It was really pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom Annapolis, Maryland

off the beaten path

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Owner was very informative and knowledgeable. Gave great tips on places to go and things to see. Places to eat in Volcano. are scarce. There were no other guests there w hen we were there. The house is large, clean and well appointed. Skip the free breakfast and get it at Cafe Ohia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great host, eh bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best thing about this bed and breakfast is the manager. She knows every aspect of the island and can give you advice on what to do, and where to go. If you have never been to the Big Island, I would highly recommend this location just for her knowledge (as well as the location). However, breakfast is mediocre at best - it is store bought, pre-made food and the coffee (considering you are on Hawaii) was pretty bad. The rest of the bed and breakfast needs a good thorough cleaning - there were dust bunnies in the bathrooms - and the carpet was damp from humidity. So if you have been to Hawaii before, skip this bed and breakfast. If you have never been before, stay here a few nights to learn what to do from the host.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Familien Anschluss in tropischem garten

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Die Unterkunft liegt sehr außerhalb inmitten der Natur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2014
wonderful,beautiful beach, excellent location, I will recommend to my all friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Francine Alexanderfrom Kailua Kona

Peaceful, amazing oasis set apart from Volcano tow

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, this must be close to heaven. It is very Hawaiian, so be prepared for slippahs-off, laid back, papaya breakfasts. Mahi was a lovely hostess and when there were no other guests we were given the privilege of full reign of the house. The house is about 6000sq. feet, complete with backyard swing, lawn, trail into private rainforest, 3 wood burning fireplaces, 2 person tub, TV and full kitchen. It was just wonderful, peaceful and the best medicine for whatever ails ya!