Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Large and comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The host was wonderful and helpful. The place was huge. It would be great if you want to book multiple rooms. Check out their website directly to see all the possible rooms you can book.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kailua-Kona, HI

Peaceful, but not suitable for allergy sufferers.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: The carpet should be either completely removed or replaced.
The house is at the end of a quiet road, and has nice large common areas. Most of the rooms are quite spacious and have nice Hawaiian quilts. Our original room (the Kea'au Room) had a strong smell of mildew and was quite narrow. The manager (we never met the owners) moved us to two adjoining rooms which were nicer. However, there is wall-to-wall carpeting throughout the house (except the kitchen and one common room), and Volcano is a rain forest. Our son had the worst asthma attack of his life, and had to stay on the lanai or in the kitchen. Each time he tried to go back to his carpeted bedroom his asthma got worse. We had to leave very early the next morning, but the caretaker left out breakfast food for us. Unfortunately, the milk was spoiled (the best before date was from almost two weeks previous) and the cereal stale. Perhaps if we had been there later for the caretaker to prepare the breakfast, it would be have better. Even though we paid for a second night we decided to leave after the first.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jorge Amaya from Mexico

Excelent place to stay!

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just 5 minutes away from Volcano village, excelent service, makes you feel as home, will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richard & Peggy from Bethlehem PA

Volcano best of trip visit

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
An amazing location which is only about 5 miles from the volcano national park. The size of the home is very large. Great recommendations were provided for meals and sites to visit. The grounds were filled with beautiful flowers and trees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Conchita from SF

Home away from home

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for 2 nights in late April 2014. We like the place immediately once we found the house. It took us quite sometime to locate the house as it was dark and we were not sure if we were in the right place as it was in wooded area and away from the main businesses. The host is very kind and welcoming and went out of her way to prepare special food for me when she learned that I was on special diet. The property has its own rain forest! We felt like home so when we left, we forgot to leave the tips.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by e42180 from Maryland

Good location but needs an overhaul

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly owner...helpful in guiding our day. Facility really needs an overhaul. Old and tired. Bathroom shower had mold. Breakfast consisted of biscuits or cinnamon rolls, payayas, cereal, yogurt and coffee. Served our purpose as it was minutes away from Volcanoes National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from California

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Over all, it is nice to stay, home style hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay very much . It was a little cold because there was no central heating, only a room heater. The house was also just switched over to solar water heating so you had to time your shower just right to have the most hot water. The house was very clean mad if had everything you could want. We would recommend this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terry from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Hotel out in the country a few miles out of town. Hostess very nice. Helpful with information and directions. Good comunication. Small continental breakfast served. Living counters and hot tube is open to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Burt and Kathy from Albany, NY

Close to Volcanoes NP

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is not a bed and breakfast type of accommodation, not a hotel so many of the rating categories don't apply. don't expect hotel service (like fresh linen daily) Manager was helpful and friendly. Location a bit out of the way but quiet and lovely surroundings. Breakfast was adequate. Only relcoplaint was uncomfortable and lumpy beds.