Ratings based on 1,069 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not honor Expedia Reservation

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Cons: Honor Expedia Reservations
Location: Good public beach - Hapuna Beach.
We checked in and confirmed we would stay for a week. The reception looked at the expedia reservation but not give the VIP Upgrade as promised. Even worse they checked us out on the second day. We arrived to the hotel late at night and they keys wouldn't work. The manager said that the problem was because we booked with Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful stay. Great value. Nice Employees.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We made last minute plans to stay and got an unbelievable package deal. They upgraded us, to a lovely room facing the ocean. I really liked the hotel, and the staff was very kind and helpful. The rooms were spacious, the beds all white and wonderful to fall into after a fun day at the beach. I enjoy the options of going to the Mauna Kea for meals for a variety. I would stay there again. It is a very nice hotel for the price. Thank you Hapuna hotel! We will be back, hopefully very soon. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville TN

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Hotel was great. Beach was perfect. Pool was great.
Cons: Of course as anywhere on Hawaii the cost of food is very expensive. But that is all relative. It is cheap food compared to LAX airport.
Location: Location was near Waimea which has several grocery stores. Very near Waikaloa resort for the strip mall shopper.
The hotel was very well kept. The staff was very friendly. I am sure you can pay big money and have a little better experience but this hotel was very reasonable in its rates and you get at least a four plus star facility. I would definitely go here over the Waikoloa resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach and pool.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I will come back.Really nice experience again. We are coming to this hotel for 10 years and we still like this locations a lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great beach

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The beach was amazing, and weather couldn't have been more perfect.
Cons: Poolside service could be a bit more consistent. Beach needs to be cleaned up sticks, etc.; I got a nasty cut on my foot from a sharp stick
Location: Nice and close to Waimea town, so getting a bit of local flavor is easy to do.
The hotel is lovely--perfect size, if a bit worn around the edges. This however doesn't have an effect on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the spectacular views and the amazing beach. It's a great location--just 45 minutes from our relatives, so we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Classic resort on Big Island's best beach

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: A peaceful place with no trams or dolphins. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Keep an eye on the restaurant schedule -- not all places are open every night. Don't miss a meal at the Coastal Grille.
I just returned from my third stay at Hapuna and felt I owed them a good review (my first). This is an architecturally interesting hotel (a little F.L. Wright-ish) on an outstanding beach, which shares golf courses and other amenities with it's more posh sibling, the Mauna Kea. All of its spaces are wide and dramatic; the rooms generous with a nice lanai. I rise early, but start slowly, so I really like having coffee, pastry, and papaya on my own balcony every morning. They make it easy by having a fine Cafe to pick your breakfast and go back to the room, instead of forcing a restaurant or room service meal to start the day. Might see a whale go by. I would say that's their style -- be fussed over as little or as much as you wish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Nice hotel on the best beach on the island

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The beach is great and coastal walks.
Cons: The dining options could be better.
Location: Riding outside Waimea on a ranch, star gazing at Moana Kea,
The staff was helpful, rooms clean. We were given an upgrade for a beautiful view. The beach is fabulous and the walk from this hotel to the Moana Kea is beautiful. The only downside of the hotel is that the dining options are not terrific however there are great restaurants in Waimea only 20 minutes away that are more interesting anyway. For a splurge eat at Merriman's. This hotel was perfect for us. Not too formal, nice pool, fabulous beach that is not too crowded and helpful staff. We would happily go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bozeman

One of the nine wonders of the world.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
There is no better place on the big Island of Hawaii and there may not be a better island on the planet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Keller Tx.

Stayed a few times at this resort.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Every thing else
Cons: Choice in pillows
Location: Northern end of the Kohala coast. Perfect
First time I was not offered a hospitality suite. With a noon checkout and a 9pm flight, this was very inconvenient. They comped us a 6pm checkout, only because the mens fitness center was closed for remodel and we needed showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Very relaxing hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
privacy at all times.beautiful beach.would stay again.they need to update the rooms but rooms are a great size.