Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Hilo beaches and airport.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Convenience to Hilo attractions.
Cons: Breakfast choices were limited - nothing hot.
Location: Enjoyed gardens, beach, waterfall, and 30 min. to Volcano.
Clean, older hotel. Comfortable but basic rooms. Very close to Japanese gardens and lovely walks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably nice at one time.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Small crawling insects in room. No wifi in room. Bed linens changed on 4 day cycle unless requested. Otherwise OK.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Bad. No phone no safe, no coffee pot. Violent guess outside our hotel door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Close off the back rooms--total lavk of privacy.
Poor room. In the back in a courtyard with a view of the other units. The windows were all privacy so could not look out without opening them. Guests walked directly in front of the window as that was the main walkway. Rooms in the front did not have this problem and looked like they had a good view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hilo Stay

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Parking, close to work project
Hotel is under remodeling, staff was very nice, room was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Tim from California

Not impressed

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
We reserved a King Bed and got 2 doubles. At the desk was told the Phones did not work, they gave us a cell # for the front desk No one answered. We were in a separate building and it was pouring rain. The AC ran all night but did not cool the room. Room was 80 + all night and no windows opened. We did not sleep well. Continental breakfast was coffee, toast and mini muffins. Would NOT recommend this Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Either under construction hard to tell?

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location was close to town
Cons: Not sure won't go back
Location: Bay and town close by
One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in I couldn't tell if they were remodeling or had remodeled the elevators were scary black sharpie written on the wall for the floor #. No screens on windows no balcony faucet broken shower plug broken. Chainsaw running all day from property next door that appeared to be a shut down resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel close to the ocean

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Nice ocean view
Cons: Needs lots of TLC.
Just quite alright. Had temporary power outrage for 3 days (midnight to 4am) We're watching tv show and the power went out. Very dark - can't do anything but sleep. This hotel will be my last pick. A/C wasn't that cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Mission Viejo, CA

Incredible view for the price

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The Ocean View
Cons: The place needs a complete overhaul; but I think that is already in progress.
Location: Volcanoes National Park is very close; downtown Hilo is close.
This place is in major need of an overhaul. Parts of the property are in pretty bad shape... But - the ocean views are amazing. Tough to get a panoramic ocean view at this type of price point. So if you can live with some of the facility being somewhat less than pristine and don't want to spend the big resort money; this is a nice option. High rating for overall value because of the price and ocean view and the staff; low rating for the hotel facility itself.
2 out of 5
by m. from hilo

Needs hotel impossible

Posted Mar 23, 2014
This hotel is in the middle of a owner change so I pity the new owner. Even the renovated rooms need major renovations. It used to be a nice place. Hopefully with the new owners they can get it back in shape