Ratings based on 1,626 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Old Hawaii feel.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
This is an older hotel, but rooms are clean and functional. Book room on the coy pond. It was a delight to sit with coffe, or a glass of wine, and watch the fish and ducks, with a view of the bay in the background. The open air lobby was a pretty and comfortable place to relax. As well. We really enjoyed our time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Nice hotel. Had a last minute change due to issues at other hotel. Very easy to get to airport from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Earth

No Coquis!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
I've stayed here before, however, this time there weren't any coqui in the entire hotel. I was able to sleep in Hilo for once! The hotel is always nice n relaxing. The staff is so nice n helpful. I don't see why it has 3 stars. This hotel is the nicest one n the most relaxing one on the block. Plus it has a restaurant that's open till 10p with a bar. The restaurant gives a lot of food. Their laulau is big. So 'ono! I just wish the vending machine area was open till a later time. I would recommend Hilo or Kona Seaside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

立地が良いホテル

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: 立地の良さ
Cons: アルコールの自販機がないのが難点。
Location: ヒロのダウンタウンやファーマーズマーケット、 ボルケーノまでは30分強。
ボルケーノに行く際に毎年使用しています。ロコ運営のホテルです。 ヒロのダウンタウンからも近く、ボルケーノへのハイウェイにもすぐに乗れます。 Ken's HouseやPONDSには徒歩で食事に行けます。 Big Island Candiesにも車で3分。 内装をきれいにしてあり、石鹸やシャンプーなどのアメニティも変わっていました。 今回も満足です。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kauai

Convenient location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: mostly location and clean.
Cons: Parking lot - small stalls and flooded. Open restaurant at 6 am. Provide easy access to ice.
Location: Close to the airport, Farmer's Market, and other local Hilo sites (Rainbow Falls, Boiling Pot park), restaurants, and beach parks.
The location of this hotel was perfect for our group tour of orchid nurseries. It was close to the Hilo airport and easy to jump onto the road we needed to. The restaurant on site had a large variety of good food and the staff was very attentive and gracious with our large group wanting separate checks. Breakfast wasn't available until 7 am so one day we had to go across the street to the pancake place before we set out for the day. Nice lobby area to gather in. The ice machine closes up at 8 pm and doesn't open back up until 8 am. You could request at the lobby but this added some inconvenience. I would definitely book here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 横浜市

空港から近く、何処へ行くにも便利なホテル

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: いたって部屋はシンプルなホテルですが、空港や街や何処へ行くにも便利なロケーションです。 フロントのスタッフもとても親切でした。
Cons: 夜中のカエルの声は仕方ないにしても、エアコンの音はかなりうるさかったです。
Location: ヒロ空港からのヘリコプターによる火山観光は最高です。近くのスイサンのポケ丼もお勧めです。
ハワイアンが経営するホテルとのことで、ロビーやロビーから客室に続く廊下には素敵なハワイアンキルトの作品がたくさん飾られていました。朝食付きのプランで2泊したのですが、3種類から選べる朝食のひとつにパンケーキがあり、そのパンケーキがいたって普通の割にはとても美味しくて、毎朝パンケーキを食べました。 お部屋は池の前で海が見える部屋でしたが、朝の8時頃に鳥の声に誘われて池を見るとカルガモの親子が散歩していてとても可愛かったです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waianae, Hawaii

Don't let first impressions fool you

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Quiet, clean, and comfortable
Cons: Parking
Location: Not very many things to do nearby.
First impression as we drove up to the hotel was: OMG we're in the middle of the slums. From the outside, the hotel looked like a closed fortress, and there were some local braddahs drinking and tailgating in the side parking lot. Didn't feel very comfortable parking in the parking lots. Tried to park at the back of the hotel, close to our room...but soon discovered there is only one way in and out, and that's through the front lobby. So we parked on the street across from the hotel, next to the Pond. HOWEVER, once on premises our first impression quickly turned into pleasant surprise. Inside the "compound" (this, BTW, would be a perfect hotel to stay in the event of the "The Walking Dead." lol There's just no way for outsiders to get in), everything was spic and span clean. The common areas were immaculate and very pleasant, as was the room itself. There is an informative Hawaiian artifact room (ie. the "museum"), and the diner serves up excellent meals. We would definitely come and stay here again, and have already recommended it to out-of-state friends. We're "locals" from Oahu, BTW.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Makaha Hi.

Great stay in Hilo

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The staff our room was good too. The cafe was also really good the staff in there sooo friendly!!
Cons: ???
Location: Everything is right there in Hilo stores, beaches, Race track thats why we came my son raced on your stock car track.
Our trip was great. The hotel was wonderful and all the people in the hotel and all of Hilo were so nice. Smiles on everyone's face and friendly. Lots of ALOHA! We will be back and maybe to live.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
OK to stay in this hotel, but not good as we expected. It looks we stayed in Expedia, not the Seaside Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel, worth its price

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel is just okay, but what can I expect from a $100 hotel? Basically it's a good place to stay and save money.