Ratings based on 921 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Fantastic hotel, apart from the dolphin cruelty

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Very clean, pools are amazing. Toni and Dona's was excellent! We had Spaghetti meatballs and Angel hair garlic sauce. Breakfast buffet not worth it.
Cons: Please remove the dolphins!
Location: There are great salads down the road at the Queens marketplace, save your money!
We loved the Hilton, although it was massive and with only one day trip, we still didn't get to see the whole thing in 3 and a half days. The dolphin sanctuary is cruel, there is no doubt about it. I was hoping to go and see the dolphins, maybe swim with them, and after seeing them swim in circles for an hour, then perform for food, then go back to swimming in circles, I quickly changed my mind about paying them to continue the practice.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Best place for families with children!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Our second time staying here. Makai rooms are not all that, but the location is worth the price. Overall, I would stay here again and again.!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice Resort, Room for some minor improvements...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Well maintained, friendly and very helpful staff who go out of their way to be helpful. Good food at resort restaurants, especially KPC and Imari.
Cons: Beach access!!! Free shopping shuttle. Better room phonebook and TV channel guide.
Location: The lagoon had some decent snorkeling but was overcrowded. Not the same as open ocean by any means.
This was very nice resort, staffed by friendly and helpful people. We were somewhat disappointed by the lack of a real ocean beach - the lagoon was OK, but crowded and not quite the same. We rented a car and were able to go to some nearby public beaches, but with four adults (parents and grown children) in our party, it would have been nice if the resort had a free shuttle to (as a minimum) the public beach up the road, so that we could each have a variety of options. It was also disappointing that rides on the Hilton-Branded shuttle to the nearby shops (apparently on Hilton property) cost $2 per person each way. Rides to shops should be free to guests, or at least a modest fee for a weekly pass. Ditto rides to/from the airport, which is not a trivial journey. While the resort and restaurants were nice, and we enjoyed the tram and boat transportation, getting around the property was somewhat awkward, due to the tracks and canals. (Sometimes close destinations required long walk-arounds.) I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend the resort to a friend, but think it better to arrive with a better-educated set of expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Excellent family vacation.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We had a wonderful experience. There were so many activities that we did not get to do. The pools were fantastic and the kids had a wonderful time on the slides. The food was excellent. We ate dim sum at the Chinese restaurant and had a tasty meal at the Japanese steak house. The turtles in the lagoon were a cool surprise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shang hai

The service guy at the pool are impolite

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Bad service.
Cons: Service guy in swimming pool, especially at the slide pool.
Location: Improve the software, only have a good hardware is joke.
Good hardware, but the service is bad. Swimming pool has the complicated policy, service guy there are impolite even ask the guest to leave for they do not have the ring which they said it should be gotten from the towel desk. I don't know whether I am from china that they treated me like this, other guest who don't have the ring but have a west face can still be there. It is a unhappy experience in your hotel, I will not recommend my friends to be there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but expensive for everything.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
It was nice but they charge y9u for everything. What the hell is a resort fee. $25.00 a day? For what? $17.00 a day to park there? Again this is bs. The buffet breakfast was almost $60.00 for 2. The pools were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Built as a destination resort

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Room: large and comfortable, the ocean view we had was obstructed by the golf course, which seemed to be mowed 4 hours a day. The furniture was a bit beat up, but was clean and otherwise well appointed. Food: They really don't want you to leave the place to go out for a meal. Aside from the king and queen's shopping centers there really isn't anywhere nearby to go anyway. The food is more expensive than the rest of the island, and quality and service don't live up to the price tag. And you need reservations everywhere on the weekend. Resort: Nice pools, plenty of things to entertain the keikis like parrots, monorail, water taxi, and dolphins. The monorail and boats are very slow, and they are packed full on the weekend so be prepared to hike across the resort to get to your room (it is a hike! ). Parking is expensive, sparse, and far away and should be included in the resort fee. Valet is slow and gets backed up around lunch and dinner. Skip the luau there are better ones on the island. Overall this place was probably one of the best in the world when it was first built, and to be fair probably hasn't fallen much. If they improve the on resort food value and drop alot of the nickel and dime charges and tourist trap photo ops it would be the best resort in Hawaii
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Stay was ok. Very big hotel walking was not that bad. Prices where high for everything. Staff was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Huge facility, hard to get around, no beach.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Location: If you want to go to a beach, I suggest Hapuna Beach State Park and the beach at the Mauna Kea.
It's a huge place; it takes time to get around. If you are leaving the facility and you're staying in the Ocean Tower where we stayed, plan for about a half-hour to get from your room to your car. Lots of pools, and slides, but the only jacuzzis are over near the Lagoon Tower (i.e. far from the Ocean Tower). There is no beach on the property. The food is expensive, and not very good. A family with kids under 13 would probably like it because there is lots for kids to do, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone else. The grounds are nice, and there is lots of art, sculpture, and cultural artifacts. My wife and teenage daughter did the Dolphin Quest and loved it. Highlights of the trip were: > The drive to Hawi -- shave ice at a roadside stand in Kawaihae, and don't miss the Pololu Valley Lookout -- Spectacular! > The drive through Waimea to Hilo and the visit to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

Very nice Hotel, great views.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Reception was good, nice entrance Very nice, large, clean rooms and great ocean view. Fast elevators. Good places to eat. Nice luau.
Cons: Went to 3 desks before finding the right person to check. More helpful staff with excursions. They did not seem interested in setting up excursions.
Location: Eat at Merrimans Mediterranean Cafe at Kings Shop. Resort is away from everything. Visit Walmart in Kona to stock up to save $. Public beach is v nice
Loved the hotel and would stay again and recommend to others. Staff was very helpful for checking in. Not so helpful with planning excursions, which in Maui, they did everything so I guess we were spoiled. Try to checkout at a time when they are not busy. It gets very congested and took them about 30 min. to find our luggage. Restaurants were all very nice except Boathouse Catina. Very Clean up to date rooms. Stayed at Ocean Tower, long tram rides but view was worth it. Take the drive to Hilo yourself. See the Botanical Gardens, and see the volcanoes and waterfalls. We took the tour van for the volcano. They are supposed to stop at coffee company to see how coffee is made. Stopped at very small store/shed and was shown a coffee plant outside a fence and was told how coffee was made, didn't see any process. Then stopped at a little shop that sold baked items. Stopped at Black Sand beach, saw turtles but would not stop there without a group of people. When the bus stops, it waits about 30 or 45 min before leaving, so wasted time at stops. Ate at Volcano restaurant, nice. Couldn't see volcano because of fog, but not tour guides fault, which was very nice. No complaints at all with tour guide but this is a tour that I would highly recommend doing yourself. If you rent a car, they will charge 18 d a day for a GPS system. So have your directions or phone with you if you travel. Save $$$ if you drive.