Ratings based on 1,357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Ins and outs

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The Hotel is just as I remembered it when I last visited 15 years ago, which is good and bad. The amenities, such as the boat, pools, and tram are all still a godsend for antsy kids but the facilities are a bit worn. If you can spare the cost (I think an extra $30 or so night), upgrade to the Lagoon Tower(or Makai is what I think they call it now) as this places you the closest to the lobby and main pool. Although the tram runs all day, it is another thing you have to wait for. If you're in the far Ocean Tower, it may take 10-15 min on the tram and walking which is tiring with young ones.... especially when the kids forget something. I believe the upgrade also includes preferred reserved seating by the pool and free access to the spa. To save a little, tip the bell man little to get a microwave and you can stock up on food at Costco. That said, I plan on returning regularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great place to stay on Kona with kids

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Access to activities; on-site dining
Cons: Only negative is that things can get expensive if you are always eating at the resort.
My wife and I went with our 4 year old daughter. It was a great experience and everything was at our fingertips. We would "pool hop" and have lunch all at the resort. We also ventured out of the resort, but this was a good back up plan or morning/afternoon thing to do in order to keep my daughter interested the whole trip. Make sure you mention that you are a guest at the hotel when you do activities as you get a 10-20% discount. Nice and close to shops and off-resort restaurants, too. The King's and Queen's shops are close and you could potentially walk. Also has 2 golf courses at the resort which were medium-priced and nice scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland Oregon

Expansive Property- great for families

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Beautiful setting and sunsets, great family pool area. Dolphins were always fascinating.
Cons: 63 acres- 2,745,000 sf and they can't even find 1,000 sf for a sand volleyball court?! Also, more (any!) organized activities for adults.
Location: Great shoreline walk to the south to fish ponds by Mariott. Shoreline walk north more difficult but also beautiful. Manta Ray snorkel amazing!
The first impression here is that we were in Disneyland- the large lagoon with paddle boards and kayaks, waterfalls, and the ocean beyond. There is plenty to discover and enjoy, with many different pool settings, art, and of course the Dolphin Quest (expensive). The resort is beautiful, even with the manmade landscaping. Restaurants are very expensive, but the Kings and Queens Market are in walking distance or a $2 trolley ride away. Taxi from the Kona airport was about $65. The internal monorail is convenient but slow- you can get places faster by walking, and it was only about a 7 minute walk from the lobby to the Ocean tower. The pool is great though cool in temperature. Swimming under the waterfall is great fun, and there are a few hot tubs around. The resort is well geared for families with small kids and young teens, but there is not a lot of organized activities for older teens and adults.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas Traveler

Paradise on earth

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Definitely I will come back to this beautiful island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom guadalajara mexico

Omg hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Excellent hotel, incredible staff Nice installations running room excellent Gardens excellent overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Caledonia

Little disappointed

Posted Mar 21, 2015
At check in the staff was not welcoming because the first officier of the lobby didn t know how to read a french passport! The hotel is very beautiful but if your room is in ocean tower level 1 room 1080 to 1093 prepare to walk a long way to reach your room....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Hotel better for families than couples

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Variety of activities
Cons: More staff, breathe life back into this hotel
Location: Blue Hawaiian helicopter tours just up the road. World class Hapuna beach 15 minutes away.
The overall cleanliness was disappointing and the staff attitudes were okay. Not the friendly service I am used to. I think this is partially due to the short staff n head office isn't put $$ into the hotel. Dolphin quest was wonderful. Restaurants n shopping expensive. Coffee $5.50 for coloured water. Laguna grill service great food pretty good. $25.00 daily parking fee and $25.00 hotel charge on top of your room costs. Many people brought food to their rooms, this helps with costs. The room fees give you internet, we did have to relocate our rooms internet sucked. In each tower is a kiosk with movies n video games. Each room gets a choice of two per day. Lots if pools for kids, families, toddlers n a lagoon for snorkelling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed my vacation

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Nice hotel, staff very professional & friendly. Room was cleaned by the time we got back from sight seeing. Liked the tram & the boat service back to our room. Overall we had a pleasurable stay at the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Nice hotel. Pros: Good snorkeling area. Although not warm, nice pools. Very helpful and nice staff. Quick room service. You could have fun just staying in the hotel for a couple of days and then enjoy the rest if thr island. More to list... but check their website for that :) Cons: Note that you may not care about any of these... From the lobby to rooms it's too long of a walk. You can take the train, or walk. Both are lovely, but they take time. I preferred walking for 10 min from lobby to our room in the ocean tower. We stayed in the ocean tower. There were no jacuzzis close by...again 10 to 15 min walk (I'm a fast walker ) Pools are not warm. Ocean is warmer. Ocean tower is shaped in few circles. Outside, your windows face the ocean. Inside, your door opens to a nice fish pond and beautiful trees/plants, where lots of birds can get really loud, so if you are on lower floors, they may wake you up lil before sunrise. Far from the city. If you need to stop at safeway or walmart, you have to drive for about 30 min or more. Might as well stop by when you first land and buy at least some drinking water.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Conveniently located for one night stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Location: Roy's Bar and Grill was excellent. Food was amazing.
I don't like having to travel by tram and that is my only complaint. I like a more intimate hotel even if big. Takes too much time waiting