Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good resort, comfortable room, near the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: the room is great, Especial it has a great kitchen include coffee maker, microwave,oven,toaster,washer,dryer.
Cons: we get a room at level 1. It would be great if give us 2 or 3 level.
Location: beach, shopping, restaurant
The resort is great and the room is very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 北海道

イルカの群がビーチ近くで見れる素敵なリゾート!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: 静かでビーチがあること、コナの街に近いこと
Cons: 集客人数に対してプールが小さい、ゴルフ場の閉鎖
Location: ケアホービーチ、コーヒー農園、カイルアコナ(コナの中心地)
近くにスーパーや眺めの良いレストラン、ケアホービーチがあり長く滞在しても飽きませんでした。 入り口に居る警備員さんがいつも気持ち良く挨拶してくれていました! 部屋のソファーの座り心地が良くなかったですね
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mooloolaba and Vancouver

The Big Island (Kona) Experience

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The barbeques, mongoose, birds, swimming pools, spar, tennis court, shuffle board, golf course next door, kitchen, appliances were all great.
Cons: Australians and British need proper kettles (electric jugs). We can't make tea in a coffee maker as they are tainted with coffee. Make an option.
Location: Lots of shopping in the usual US stores - Wall Mart, Super K Mart, Macys, Target. Lots of places to eat especially The Brewery which has live music.
The Kona Coast Resort is fabulous. It is in a great position - by the sea, within walking distance from a very convenient and small shopping centre. Staff are very helpful and friendly - will do anything for you. The grounds are immaculate, the pools located within easy reach of any part of the complex and there is good security in the complex which are fairly inconspicuous. We felt very safe at any time of the day or night. The most difficult part of our trip was the public transport system, which is fabulous but infrequent. Costs $2 to $2.50 to go anywhere by buses and trolley. The trolley goes to the main parts of Kona and is fun. If you want to travel across the island, you need to get a bus which is still $2 or $2.50, or take a tour which will pick you up at your resort, or hire a car. The weather was great even though it was winter. We drove past snow up on the mountains and it was warm down on the coast. It only takes a half a day to drive round the island or a full day if you stop off at a lot of places. We saw whales spouting just off the coast, went to outlets that sold macadamia "everything" and swam at lots of different beaches, some of which had turtles swimming with us. Great place to holiday, especially if you like the outdoors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good safe place to stay.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
There is no beach attached to the hotel. If you need a ground floor room specify, there should be NO STAIRS. Otherwise, there are sufficient amenities within the resort-several pool, tennis courts, basket ball, etc. The pools do not open until after 8 am. You'll need a car for beaches & sightseeing. The Big Island Is really BIG. Staff are helpful and rooms are spacious and pleasant. If you are a senior you many want to know that much of the hotel is located in a hilly area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom idaho

quiet resort just south of Kona

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: quiet with lots of area for walking, including access to ocean front; large one bedroom apartment with private lanai
Cons: add a coffee and snack shop
Location: good snorkeling bay is about a mile up the road; shopping center is close by so you can stock up on groceries.
The resort is south of Kona, away from the crowds, a quieter, less crowded location. Stayed for two nights. Arrived near 11:00pm but no trouble with check in. Nice one bedroom unit, nicely furnished, including kitchen. They only leave enough for coffee for one morning; you have to get your own after that. Master bathroom room with corner shower/tub combo. Nice tile work. Bedroom a decent size. Washer and dryer in the unit with pack of detergent. My unit was ground level with a nice lanai, nice view of the grounds, and distant view of the ocean; not an ocean front resort but very close, just separated by an unused golf fairway. As other reviews noted, the golf course is not operational, but it was a nice place to walk and access the rocky coast to watch waves, etc. There is a shopping center just up the hill, convenient for supplies. Bar and restaurant are on site. I had breakfast there; very slow service and unremarkable food, but pleasant setting. The pool looked nice though i didn't try it. Nice though somewhat small fitness center with some cardio machines. There is an activity desk where you can book tours etc and a shop for renting beach equipment. No beach onsite but a great snorkeling beach is only about a mile away. It's a timeshare resort, but there are no timeshare "sharks" cruising pestering you. The first morning i was there was very noisy with groundskeepers running all kinds of equipment. Overall I thought this was a great place and an extremely good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious. Large lanai. Dated kitchen and furniture

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Location, space and large lanai.
Cons: Kitchen cabinets are really old. And furniture needs to be replaced.
Location: Close to good snorkeling beach and grocery.
We only stayed 2 nights. Will probably stay longer if we come back again to take advantage of kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Great Resort

Posted Jan 12, 2015
We felt comfortable, the resort is clean and its nature beautiful, staff very friendly and helpful. We only had one little problem (no hot water), and reception sent someone to solve the problem immediately. We would definitely return to this lovely resort and we recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage

Very nice facility and staff

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Clean, very spacious, conveniently located, security present but inobstrusive.
Cons: The rooms are said to have Wi-Fi access, but in many cases do not, or the system is overwhelmed with users. Ask for a HotSpot. Poor indoor lighting.
Location: South of Kona, walking distance to world class snorkeling. Wonderful street vendor booths / market adjacent to the local library (a bit far to walk.)
Excellent resort and very reasonably priced for what is provided. If you are expecting a hotel room, be prepared for a pleasant surprise when you open the door and see the spacious accommodations. Be aware timeshare solicitation will be offered; they are low pressure and courteous; my opinion of time shares went up after the presentation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grand junction

A quiet place in Kona

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Beautiful grounds. Nice pool area and restaurant. Love the ocean views. Stayed in one of the older buildings, which had more room than the newer ones. Great place for families.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Time shares ---not a hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Large 1 bedroom, two baths and full kitchen. Great view. OK location.
Cons: Decor is very dated. Clean but very dated. Please advertise clearly what this is.
We expected a hotel, we got a time share resort. This was not advertised in Expedia. And for the money we spent per night I would have expected more service and amenities. Overall, it was an average experience.