Ratings based on 884 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Villalba,PR

Perfect location. Not to close and not far from Ka

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The resort is way more than I expected. When I go back to the Big Island I want to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

Nice hotel for family trip

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: if by car, Snorkel (2 min), white sand beach( 8 min) , KTA superstore (2 min), Sheraton hotel beach and pier (8 min), Kona Coffee Tour (15 min)
In the south of ALi'i road, 2 mins to KTA super store, 2 mins to Snorkel location, 8 mins to magic sands (all by car) Large and quite resort with two swimming pools, fully equipped kitchen, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bill from auckland. new zealand

Peace and quiet

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Quiet at night. Lots of friendless guests. Maintenance and security outstanding.
Cons: Phone was terrible. Couldn't hear a thing
Location: Sheriton and harbor nearby for snorkeling on the fair wind ll.
Check in was difficult. Thought the front line staff need a reminder about customer service. Arrived early and there was no way they were going to go out of thei way to assist us. Other than that you do need a car. Had a wonderful time altogether.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Vacation at a condo

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The staff were helpful and friendly. The accommodations and grounds were clean and well maintained. We took advantage of the many barbecues around the property to grill a few meals. Downside, most rooms do not have an ocean view and there is no ocean or beach access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Been to Hawaii 6 times...

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Kona Coast Resort is by far and away the best accommodations I have yet to experience in, Hawaii
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from vancouver, canada

Nice place for family to stay.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This resort is in very good condition and all of us were very happy when we stay there for 5nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Az

Nice hotel, no beach access at all!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Their store, Splash closes at 4:30-5p, just when families are returning from their excursions and want to relax at the hotel and play outdoor games w the family. The store has the balls and equipment to play-security will not even get them for you upon request!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly spacious and affordable

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Over 1000 square feet with laundry facilities and decent location if you want to be close to Kona. Easy access to food and was really surprised just how nice the condo was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: We had a unit in the "residential area" and it was very quiet and nice, had a communal "quiet pool" and hot tub. Easy, short access from parking.
Cons: Update the bedroom TVs (4:3 squares, really?) and up size the flat panel ones (to 32" to 40") in the living rooms.
Location: There's a shopping plaza with a Long's Drug Store, movie theater, Post Office, etc. just around the corner.
While there might be less expensive places to stay in Kona (but way, way MORE expensive ones as well,) the Kona Coast Resort seems to offer a lot of bang for the bucks you will spend to stay there. Booking on Expedia? DO NOT get alarmed or distracted by reviewers on other sites complaining about the charge for using the AC. The AC units (2 wall units cool the entire apartment) do require a special power key to activate, presumably a separate power supply for timeshare owner billing. We booked on Expedia and ran our ACs with no problems or extra fees and they cooled the place nicely. The Kona Coast Resort is ultimately a timeshare community in which they make vacant apartments available for short term stays, nightly rates, on travel/hotel booking sites like Expedia. It's an interesting business model....one which appears to work very well....at least for us, for 4 nights. Units are not simply hotel rooms....they are small, 1 bedroom apartments. The grounds and complex are very nicely maintained. Our unit had a washer and dryer (and they even provided 2 pouches of detergent,) a full kitchen, a living room and dining room in addition to the bedroom and large bathroom (no tub.) If you plan on staying here, definitely rent a car, parking is included and readily available. I have a serious aversion to ANYTHING timeshare related, have zero patience or interest in sales presentations, and had no problems whatsoever with the Kona Coast Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast Qld Aust

Great base for island exploration

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location & amenities
Cons: Car parking was an issue if you arrived late as there was no allocation for each apartment.
Location: Very central....within 20 minutes from Kona airport & harbour where a lot of water activities are based & a short walk to the shops.
Had a 2 night stay in a 1 Bedroom apartment which was fantastic.very clean & spacious with a full kitchen and a washing machine & dryer.We overlooked the golf course so it was very quiet, you could hear the birds & the ocean in the distance. Very central location, we found it very easy to travel around by rental car. Would definitely stay here again.